We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradiso!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a wonderful stay! The concept that Sylvia and Aldo, the owners, came up with transpires in every aspects of the lodge: Making every guest feel unique. architecturally, the lodge pays a great deal of attention to every detail and is laid out in such a cozy and quaint way, each room has its own design. The food is absolutely fantastic, recipes being beautifully designed by Silvia and perfectly executed by their kenyan chefs. The staff is entirely and warmly dedicated to the guests... without omitting to mention Jacky and her exquisite massages. Basically, the best way to sum up the experience is to quote the Jacky the masseuse: "I love giving massages because I love to relax people". Thank you Lonno Lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our stay was just great, so great that we came back for a second stay a week later!

The service is perfect as well as the rooms. Food is just amazing!

A special thank you to Silvia and Aldo who were dedicated to make our stay outstanding... Especially by helping us with flights tickets changes while Nbo airport was on fire...

Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Lonno Lodge is quite a special place. Very luxurious but affordable, very cozy and friendly. Aldo and Silvia are great hosts and you feel like you're taken care of by great friends! The food is excellent, the pool facing the ocean is beautifully designed and the view is breathtaking. Rooms are decorated with very refined taste, the personal is very professional, efficient and always welcomes you with a smile. Whenever asked Aldo and Silvia give you an honest advise about things and activities to do. Silvia invited us to share her birthday cake, which was a very nice gesture on her part. Don't miss the massage, it's a must! Lonno Lodge is the perfect place for couples, friends, even single persons.....I went with my mom end of August, the weather was just perfect...hope will be able to go back again. Never posted a comment before in Trip Advisor but this the least I can do to thank Silvia and Aldo. Grazie mille!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I spent one week in Lonno Lodge in August 2013.
Having read all the excellent reviews of Lonno Lodge, we thought we were prepared to all… but still Lonno surprised us in many ways…
1) Aldo and Silvia are amazing: they are really nice and friendly, they care about their guests with all their heart, and are ready to help you arrange everything you need.
2) Food was unbelievable: delicious, always varied and breathtaking: the tuna tartare and the mango cake with the top of meringue were our favorite… I have to admit that the food was as good as the one prepared at home by my grandmother… and also the portion were “family” stile: huge!!!!
3) Aldo took me to a secret place for snorkeling and it was wonderful, especially because there were just us (no tourist crowd), and lots of fishes and corrals ☺
4) The service is more than perfect: all the staff is well trained and they all call you by name, which makes you feel even more at home (Jackline was our favorite, especially because she was the masseuse and her relaxing massage was so special)
5, last but not list) Clo, Paco, Sam, Black and Bea, the family dogs, are so cute and well educated that you will fall in love with them immediately
To sum up, our Lonno Lodge experience was like being at home, but in a 5 stars version of it ;) as we felt as much at ease and as much as loved as we were at our own home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FieCh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights in Lonno Lodge looking for somewhere to relax and treat ourselves. Lonno Lodge was a perfect, and hard to find, mixture of luxury with personal touches and no pretense. Aldo and Sylvia make you feel incredibly welcome, they are great hosts offering help arranging activities or just making you feel at home when you want to lounge by the lovely pool. To top all of this off, the food is fantastic. I will be recommending this hotel to friends and family who want a trip to the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here recently after a trip to the Masai Mara. The idea was to try and find somewhere relaxing where we could recuperate before returning the the heat of the Middle East.

Now I don't usually feel the need to write a review about somewhere I've stayed but this place is a must for anyone human. We stayed in the tower, in the top room with our own terrace and views. It was a fantastic stay, and the food at the lodge was of a very high standard. Silvia and Aldo's concept was to create a home for themselves, where they could have friends to stay. We certainly felt like friends by the end of our visit. Great stuff. Shame there aren't more places like this out there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for two-nights last July (2012), and it was an incredible experience. So much so, that for the past year my girlfriend always brings up Lonno Lodge and how marvelous it is. We decided to come back in September, and both of us are very happy to return.

The hospitality is great, the food is wonderful and the grounds are spectacular. Little things go a very long way. We wanted to walk on the beach on low-tide and Silvie (owner) offered us beach shoes. We asked how much, and she said they were complimentary for use. This took me by surprise, because this is Kenya and EVERYTHING costs something. They actually understand complimentary service at Lonno Lodge. You can use the pool late at night and no one is going to get in your business. The place is quiet and staff isn't pressing you for tips. There are no beach boys bothering you near their grounds. No one is bothering you for extra trips that will cost you more money - and you don't feel like a walking ATM - but you feel like an actual guest.

It is these myriad of reasons why we recommend staying at Lonno Lodge. Just when you thought customer service was extinct on the coast, Aldo and Silvie clear their throats (ahem) and remind you that they offer such hospitality and respect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.4 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#7 of 26 in Watamu
291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
854 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
364 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charming Lonno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charming Lonno Lodge

Address: 390 Kanani Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#1 Family Hotel in Watamu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £202 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charming Lonno Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming Lonno Lodge Watamu is a luxury hotel on the sea side of the Watamu Marine Park, Kenya. Its secluded structure, with nested private tiny beaches, is the optimal spot to relax and indulge on the white beach of Kenya. Despite the proximity with the sea, a huge double swimming pool with salt water is available for our guests. Guests whose presence is limited in number to provide everyone with privacy, silence and top quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charming Lonno Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonno Hotel Watamu
The Charming Lonno Lodge Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing