We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pearl of the kenyan coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The pearl of the kenyan coast”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and i stayed at the Lonno Lodge from December 28 to January 2. The Lodgo is a beautiful little place near Watamu Village with very kind employees and fantastic owners (Aldo and Silvia).
Their special concept for the meals is great, because very personal and it tastes fantastic.
The rooms are beautiful and very clean.
For the new years eve, Aldo and Silvia made a special dinner besides the pool for the guests in the night. It was also fantastic.

if you love big hotels with big buffets, party in the evening, etc: Don't go to the Lonno Lodge.
If you love a small and beautiful Lodgo, where you are treated very personally and extremely friendly, you have to go to the Lonno Lodge.

Thanks Aldo and Silvia for 5 perfect days at your Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
156
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a place for restoration of body and soul! It is a small and very personal hotel with an atmosphere of home, made by the owners Aldo and Silvia. The staff is kind and polite. It is perfect to relax by the pool the whole day, or if hit by some energy, take a walk out to the beatuful corall islands when at low tide. I am sorry that it went several days before I discovered how wonderful the massage by Jacklyne was, but then I was addicted for the rest of the week :-) The food was exquisite, wonderful Italian inspired. There was a good fan in the room, but it would have been even more perfect if there had been aircondition. The very well behaved dogs gave an extra charm to the place. We have got new energy and definitely wish to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just when you thought customer service was long dead and forgotten, a place like this restores your faith in human nature - and in nature in general!
The owners, Aldo & Silvia put their hearts and lives into this gorgeous liitle haven and it shows 100%. They pass this on through the training of their staff, who are delightful and respectful.
The food is of an extremely high standard, delicious and inventive. The Mango cake is especially heavenly.
It is tasteful and classy without ever being cliquey or stuck up, utter peacefulness and relaxation. I wish other establishments would follow their lead, not just in Kenya but anywhere.
The rooms have a lot of attention to detail and all are unique, the top tower room with roof is simply lovely.
I wouldn't normally go in for massages and such like, but if you're going to do it - this is the place.
Watamu itself is beautiful, this area of the sea is the national marine park and is protected. Thank goodness for that.
A wonderful holiday producing so many wonderful memories, I will be back as soon as I have the opportunity.

Room Tip: The top tower room is just gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madlycurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at Lonno Lodge for 3 nights in October. All you read in previous reviews is true: superb welcome and hospitality -Silvia and Aldo make it look easy and put you at ease; they actually encourage you to go around and get to know more of Watamu and the local sites (I would particularly recommend a trip to Mida Creek). Great service -nothing seems to be a problem, all is organised with a smile. Fantastic accommodation -only 8 beautiful, clean rooms with views of the ocean is just ideal if like us you do not particularly big chain hotels. We had the 2 bedroom-suite and it is a stand alone house cleverly designed by Aldo. What else? The food, the pool, the different resting beds around the place, the very well-behaved dogs(!), the massages, the cocktails... All as described by people who have stayed there. 5 stars! Grazie Mille!

Room Tip: Room 5 is the stand-alone unit. Ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent five days here as part of our honeymoon at it was absolutely fantastic.

We stayed in the top tower room which had its own roof terrace.

The location is fantastic with beautiful surroundings, the food was excellent and the owners are very friendly and always ensured we were well looked after.

There are plenty of activities available, though we decided to do very little after a week on safari!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Lonno lodge is definitely one of the best place we've ever been and for sure the best place you can stay at in Kenya if you're willing to spend a period at the seaside! I can say I fell in love with Kenya, right here in Watamu, in this kind of heaven in front of the sea! Everything was simply perfect! The lodge is right in front of the seaside and it is far from more turistic places and beaches, which is definitely good. The location is great: the lodge is in the middle of a fantastic garden and it has super cool rooms. We stayed in a very big one, with a wide terrace from which we can look at the sea and count the star at night... The room was perfect: big, new, in front of the sea... And what can I say about the food? Deliciuos! Believe me I am Italian (as the owners are) and you can trust me when I say the cousine was amazing: the fish, the desserts but even the salads were perfectly made. But let me say that: what I remember the most is the kindness and sympathy of the oweners: Silvia and Aldo! They are two of the nicest persons we've ever met! I remember that the last day, Aldo took us to see some villages in Watamu...he showed us the real face of this beautiful place! And Silvia is super kind as well! Lonno will be always in our heart: Silvia and Aldo, their 5 wonderul dogs (it's incredible they never disturb you, but if you want to play with them they're cool!), and all the staff that works there! I cried when we left... and I promise we'll come back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indy-puffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a wonderful stay! The concept that Sylvia and Aldo, the owners, came up with transpires in every aspects of the lodge: Making every guest feel unique. architecturally, the lodge pays a great deal of attention to every detail and is laid out in such a cozy and quaint way, each room has its own design. The food is absolutely fantastic, recipes being beautifully designed by Silvia and perfectly executed by their kenyan chefs. The staff is entirely and warmly dedicated to the guests... without omitting to mention Jacky and her exquisite massages. Basically, the best way to sum up the experience is to quote the Jacky the masseuse: "I love giving massages because I love to relax people". Thank you Lonno Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.4 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
752 reviews
5.7 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
318 reviews
3.4 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
911 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seven Islands Resort
Seven Islands Resort
#8 of 26 in Watamu
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charming Lonno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charming Lonno Lodge

Property: The Charming Lonno Lodge
Address: 390 Kanani Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#1 Family Hotel in Watamu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charming Lonno Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming Lonno Lodge Watamu is a luxury hotel on the sea side of the Watamu Marine Park, Kenya. Its secluded structure, with nested private tiny beaches, is the optimal spot to relax and indulge on the white beach of Kenya. Despite the proximity with the sea, a huge double swimming pool with salt water is available for our guests. Guests whose presence is limited in number to provide everyone with privacy, silence and top quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charming Lonno Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonno Hotel Watamu
The Charming Lonno Lodge Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing