We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this place to enjoy life after your Kenyan safari trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First of all. Silvia and Aldo are like your parents. They take care of you and their beautiful lodge.
Aldo takes you out for a walk if you ask him to, he takes lovely pictures and sends them by email. They book and recommend restaurants in the neighborhood. They eat next to you and enjoy exactly the same food and kitchen. They are extremely cared about your wellbeing.
The rooms are spacious and nice. We didn't need mosquito nets during our stay in Dec/Jan.
The food was good. The wine was great!
The swimming pool, the space, he tranquility was fantastic. You really can enjoy relaxing, reading, swimming, ... living like God in ....
You need to accept that you still are in Africa and that the personnel needs some time to get organized, despite all the efforts of Aldo and Silvia. When the lodge is fully booked this means that sometimes you need to wait for more than 30' between 2 dishes. But we are on holidays, so no worries ;-)
I recommended this place to African Travel Resort as this is probably one of the best beach lodges in Kenya that combines quality, personal service in a peaceful environment.
Aldo and Silvia and the beautiful dogs, we thank you for sharing your nice lodge with us!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

we planned our quite retreat for 3 months. We had been to so many other resorts in Malindi before but we finally settled for Lonno. First, the booking process is personalized. Aldo will make you feel at ease and indeed make you feel worth your every penny. We finally arrived in Lonno and were welcomed by Silvia and Aldo and yes, the 5 dogs...these dogs later became my best friends...they did not want to let me go..Lonno is very homely, very exquisite decorations, cool atmosphere, relaxing and just what we wanted to be away from home but be at home. Travelling all the way from USA to be with my love in Lonno and spend 7 quiet days was an experience that will forever be engrained in our memories. The rooms are like no other, exclusive, spacious, with a fully stocked fridge, safe, air conditioned, tastefully decorated, very clean and neatly maintained. The Indian Ocean view by the balcony is awesome, breathtaking and memorable. The food is Italian, awesome, personalized and will leave you yearning for more. The bar is well stocked and met our every thirsty needs. The swimming pool is tastefully designed with clean clear waters making swimming in Lonno an experience like no other. The waiters are cordial and very friendly...Whenever we wanted to go anywhere,Aldo and Silvia were always handy to help out. The night guards, very friendly and warm (Maasai) will not pass without mention...they made us feel safe and well protected. We had an excursion to Watamu beach and walked in Indian Ocean, an experience so rich in our hearts to this day.The last night we spent watching the sunset and later after a romantic dinner courtesy of Silvia, we sat by the swimming pool and counted the stars.We did not want to leave Lonno..i can write a book about Lonno..Definately we will be back,but most importantly our time and experience in Lonno unfolded a new chapter in our lives..Lonno to us is our Second Home

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If by a Lodge you mean charming homes nestled in nature, then that is Lonno Lodge: it has only 4 rooms and 4 suites that directly face Watamu's marine park. The term Lodge might be deterrent because it recalls the image of accommodations without services, while there is an array of exclusive services available to you at Lonno Lodge, such as a restaurant, a gorgeous large salt water pool, a small but efficient massage and relaxation area, an excellent bar that is always aware of your every need, a first-rate transfer service and even more. Can the unconventional environment, bespoke service, personalized assistance, and attention to particular details classify Lonno Lodge amongst boutique hotels? Perhaps! That probably isn't so important though, not even to classify it... What is essential to know is that you will feel like you are at home except with a lot more time and attention, and with the services of a 5 star hotel for you alone.

Room Tip: We all loved our rooms, they were unique, clean, quiet, airy and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've stayed at beach resorts in Bali, Key West, Australia and Thailand and yet none has been as beautiful as my experience at Lonno. Aldo and Silvia are an amazing couple and hosted us for a short 2 day stay. The drive from Mombasa was about 4 hours and cost 7000 shilling. The drivers at the airport will charge 12000 but Lonno Lodge can arrange something for much less.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the entire place has an intimate charm. We had lunch and dinner at the lodge and while a bit pricey, it was excellent cuisine. During the day, Aldo took us into Watamu in his jeep and recommended some good spots to visit.

However, the best part of the lodge is the view of the ocean. If you want to go swimming in the ocean, you'll have to go up to Malindi, but the view from the Lodge is breathtaking. At night you can spend hours just watching the waves crash against the cliff.

Incredibly comfortable and very personable. I plan to send my parents here for a vacation and recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: We got a luxury room but you really don't spend much time in your room. We were by the pool most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chirag J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

After a tiring week of safaris in the Kenyan parks we felt for a few days to relax and enjoy the beautiful Indian Ocean and its marine underwater treasures. Arriving at Lonno lodge in the evening we were welcomed by Aldo and Sylvia and their 5 dogs. The place is decorated with a lot of taste (Aldo was an architect) - stones, white fabrics, nice lightening, nice Kenyan art objects and sculptures, a beautiful pool and nice separated houses where the rooms are.

The food (Italian of course) was really delicious and we would recommend to eat there even if the prices are European ones.

Aldo and Sylvia are very helpful for organizing excursions and there is a book at the reception with activities that can be done in the area. We recommend Mida creek and diving.

The price is very high but exclusivity (only 8 rooms) has a price, up to you to decide if it s what you want.

Overall a fantastic experience that we will not forget!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Wonderful place, quite small, only 8 rooms. Friendly, helpful and knowing staff, Aldo and Silvia are wonderful hosts and not least their five big, friendly dogs contribute to the pleasant atmosphere and keep intruders out. The food is quite exceptionally good, and beautifully served, fish for dinner and meat for lunch. The rooms are clean, very beautiful and with magnificent views of the Indian Ocean, the beds are comfortable. In all a really great experience and magnificent 7-day finale to our three weeks in Kenya.
Jes and Per

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perholger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Lonno Lodge is a 'family run' operation, 8 rooms with great view, gorgeous pool overlooking the ocean, away from the crowded main beach stretch, you can enjoy privacy and peace, and then walk towards the rest of the tourists if and when you feel like it.
It is the perfect place to stay in Watamu. Silvia and Aldo, the owners, will make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mafalda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.4 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
830 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
185 reviews
3.3 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#5 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charming Lonno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charming Lonno Lodge

Address: 390 Kanani Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#1 Family Hotel in Watamu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £210 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charming Lonno Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming Lonno Lodge Watamu is a luxury hotel on the sea side of the Watamu Marine Park, Kenya. Its secluded structure, with nested private tiny beaches, is the optimal spot to relax and indulge on the white beach of Kenya. Despite the proximity with the sea, a huge double swimming pool with salt water is available for our guests. Guests whose presence is limited in number to provide everyone with privacy, silence and top quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Charming Lonno Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonno Hotel Watamu
The Charming Lonno Lodge Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing