We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tunda Tours - No.1 for Safaris and Tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunda Day Tours

Tunda Day Tours
Ranked #22 of 32 Tours in Watamu
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tunda Tours - No.1 for Safaris and Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We visited the Royal Mara at the end of November. This was our second visit - we loved it so much last year, we just had to go back!

We booked through Abdul at Tunda Tours again and went for the 2 night, 3 day safari. Because we knew exactly what we wanted to do, we booked early from the UK. He sorted everything for us and we paid no money until we arrived in Kenya. He collected us from the hotel in Watamu and we travelled to Malindi for the flight out to the Mara. We were the only ones on the flight so we really did feel like Royalty.

On arrival at the airstrip, we were met by James and taken back to the Lodge. Stephen checked us in very speedily and then we were shown to our 'tent'. As we had previously visited last year, we knew exactly what we were getting, although we both still had a grin from ear to ear when we walked in. The tents are fantastic - spotlessly clean, well equipped and have a perfect outlook of your very own hippos in the Mara River and your own monkeys trampelling over the roof.

Words can't quite describe this place - you have to experience it, but it really is magical. The staff are amazing, the acommodation is amazing, and the food is fantastic.

Apparently we were visiting in low season so the camp was very quiet, on our second night there were only 2 other guests. In some ways this was great because you really did get a personal service - but in other ways, the camp lacked the buzz of the guests talking about what they had seen. It by no means affected our trip though and I think pretty much every member of staff endured our tales about the lions, the cheetas, the tiny baby zebra, the tiny baby elephant and his family in the herd of 50+ elephants.

Our guide was James - he's a relatively new game drive guide (last year he did the walking safaris) and he was fantastic. He talked to us about what we wanted to see and he did absolutely everything he could to make sure we saw everything on the list. He is so knowledgeable about all the animals and as a Masai himself, he told us lots of things about the Masai way of life. The only animal we missed this time was the elusive leopard, which means that we'll have to go back!

We did the walking safari with Regan and Sammy which was really interesting too. We tracked along the river to find the crocs and hippo families and then walked out into the Mara where we were up close to buffalo, giraffes and water buck. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

The food is just superb. We were in the middle of the Masai Mara and how on earth they produce the abundence and quality of food they do escapes me. Some of our local restaurants could really do with taking a leaf out of their book.

We visited the Masai camp this time. Very very interesting, although when you see the market, maybe it's a little commercialised. There must have been in excess of 25 stalls all selling exactly the same things. We obviously weren't forced to buy, but as the only 2 visitors at that time we did receive 'one-to-one' service !

All in all, a fantastic safari - we wouldn't hesitate in recommending Abdul or the Royal Mara. We're already planning our return. Thank you Abdul, James (the camp manager), James (our fantastic safari guide), Stephen (reception and waiter), Karia (housekeeper), Regan, Sammy (guards and walking safari guides) and the rest of the team. See you next year !

Alison and Mark

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING SAFARI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Abdul was recommended by friends and we would certainly go to him again. He arranged everything from transport to the small airport to collecting us after our Safari. We stayed at Royal Mara which was exceptional. He came to Turtle Bay to explain everything to us and was always available if we needed him. Exceptional value. Thank you Abdul

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HELGA231962041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Following the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor we emailed Abdul before our holiday to get an idea of destinations and costs of safaris. Abdul replied really promptly and in great detail so we were able to look up various lodges online beforehand. Abdul met with us at TBBC to arrange our chosen safari. We decided on the two day safari to Tsavo East and he was able to get us a really good deal. On the morning of the safari Abdul met us at TBBC to introduce us to our driver. We had a van for just the four of us (two adults and two teenagers) which meant we were able to get really good views and stop when and where we wanted. Our driver was fantastic at spotting wildlife, the highlight of which were the three cheetas who walked no more than three feet away from the front of the van. We stayed at the Voi Safari Lodge which has the most breathtaking views.
If you are staying at Watamu or Malindi do take the time and trouble to contact Tunda Tours beforehand. The personal service you will get is unique.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 443sw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Abdul a man to trust who delivers what he says”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

After reading many reviews here we chose Abdul from Tunda Tours to organise our safari for us.
I had emailed Abdul prior to holiday to get some ideas of cost and lodges. We then met him on first night of holiday at TBBC and arranged safari
We did Tsavo east and west in a great big 4x4 Land Crusier 10 seater i think, and as there was only the two of us had loads of room.
We chose a local company over our tour operator because they use mini buses that they fill up as much as possible, so you could be on a bus with up to 8 other strangers clambering for the best views. With Abdul you get a personal service set out to your own requirments. Not only that but as they had had quite a lot of rain the week before a 4x4 was best for the job as we soon found out when we had to stop and help pull out a mini bus that had slipped off the tracks and was up to its axles in mud, no problem for a 4X4.
Our driver sparx had the eyes of a Hawk how he spotted animals and birds with one eye while the other on the muddyy tracks i will never know, and what he didnt know about the wildlife wasnt worth knowing. He would spot something stop and point it out to us and give us plenty of time to look and take pictures and never drove off again untill we were ready.
We saw ll types of wildlife apart from the elusive Rhino and the shy cheater, I think the highlight of the safari for us apart from the amazing camps we stayed at was seeing a lioness with her two little cubs. It was on the first day towards the end when we spotted a roaming lioness we tracked it to its den up on a hill and could just see the cubs bobbing about behind the bushes. We went back the morning after only to see the lioness with her cubs out in the open cleaning and preening them, we must have ben within ten feet of them, something we will never forget, well done sparx!
The camps we stopped at were both tented as that is what we wanted, first was the Manyatta Camp in Tsavo east, fantastic tents with there own private pools over looking open plains with just a very discreet electric fence seperating you from the many forms of wildlife you will see wandering by. The second camp which was in Tsavo west was the Severin camp this was luxury at another level
La carte meals lunch and dinner turn down bed service even a bidet in your tent lol again overlooking open plains but this time no fence, a real next to nature experience. The only gripe i have with both camps is we didnt stay at them long enough, something i will endever to put right on my next trip.
All in all a fantastic Safari experience organised by Abdul of Tunda Tours.
Thankyou Abdul and Sparx look forward to seeing you again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank sgt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have just returned from two fabulous weeks at the Turtle Bay Beach Club and during our stay there we went on a three day/two night safari to Tsavo East and West through Abdul at Tunda Tours. I got his name from the many positive comments on tripadviser. I emailed him with some info about the type of safari we wanted....luxurious tented and unfenced...and he sent me some suggestions and also phoned me to discuss it in further detail. After a bit of research I asked Abdul to try and book Galdessa in Tsavo East and Severin in Tsavo West. Abdul managed to get accommodation at both camps and for the dates we wanted. Galdessa is a beautiful camp set on the side of a river and is sort of Italian chic meets Out of Africa. The camp has two wild bull elephants that visit and wander freely around...quite exciting when they stick their head in the window of the lounge area...but they can be aggressive so the staff are careful to make sure everyone stays back. Apparently there is also a hippo called Harry who visits frequently but we didn't see him. The rooms are stunning and we were given a huge family tent with a separate area for the kids. It was very luxurious and had an enormous bathroom....I think it was number 12... You are not allowed to walk around this camp without a guard as it is unfenced and animals can come into the area. The food was lovely.
Our second camp was Severin in West Tsavo and again this was a stunning location in the middle of the savannah. Abdul had managed to secure us a suite ...I think it was Mizwani...it was even more amazing than the first room. We had a large tent with beautiful furnishings and a raised private viewing platform that looked over a waterhole and along a connected deck area was a seperate tent for the kids. This camp has small infinity pool where we swam while watching the warthogs wallow in the waterhole and a spa where my daughter and I had a double massage. Again the food was great. You can wander around in the daytime without a guard but a night they do ask to escort you. Both camps have Masai warriors keeping guard at night. I loved both camps but if I went on safari again I might choose to stay in one camp for a longer period of time as we only stayed one night in each we couldn't really relax and take advantage of the beauty as you are out on safari for a lot of the time. Also if you are changing camps you do spend quite a bit of time traveling to the next one in the van...However, this was what I requested and I am glad we did both as we saw a lot of Tsavo and both places were beautiful.
We met Abdul on our first night at TBBC where we discussed our trip and we paid him. He then turned up on the morning of our safari to introduce us to our driver Steve....we had a van to ourselves as requested.... On our safari we saw nearly everything apart from the elusive Rhino...most people we spoke to had missed the Rhino. We saw many elephants, giraffe, Zebra, Buffalo, lots of type of Antelope, three prides of lion, a leopard, crocodiles and hippo and many more. The trip was exciting from the moment we went through the Sala Gate in to Tsavo and even my sometimes hard to please 11 and 13 year olds absolutely loved the safari and managed quite well with being in the van for hours at a time. Steve our driver was excellent and seemed to know about every bird and animal we saw. He was very experienced which came in handy a couple of times when meeting slightly tetchy elephants on the road that didn't want to get out of our way!! We trusted him to guide us safely and he did an excellent job while being very interesting....on top of driving for hours on the bumpiest of roads.
The trip to Sala gate from Watamu takes about two and a half hours and is along a very bumpy road....there are many very poor children who line this road which can be a little upsetting but they are all smiling and waving. We did stop to give some sweets but it is impossible to give to all as there are thousands. After ending up in West Tsavo it was about a six hour journey back to Watamu...two hours of this were safari. The road back via back route to Kalifi is interesting and not so bumpy and you miss out busy Mombassa.
We had a fantastic safari and have definitely got the bug and are hoping to go again one day soon. Tunda Tours were excellent and I would use them again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank OxshottLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tunda Day Tours also viewed

 
Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Tunda Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing