We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watamu paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Temple Point Resort
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome from staff when we arrive and stayed for four nights. We were treated like kings with fantastic teamwork from staff and management. Big pool, on going activities to kayaking in watamu conservation. Night life plus football fever and relaxing atmosphere.

Beach was clear and friends did kite surfing.

The chef and waiter surprised us with mouthwatering seafood platter. (Upon request).

Thank you temple point for great staff teamwork and 7 stars hospitality.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank khalid k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Point R, Guest Relations Manager at Temple Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Khalid k,

Thanks for your contribution on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you had a great time with us. Khalid you can say that again ''treated like kings'' oh yes you are our kings/queens and we are looking that we maintain that and offer even more better.

Temple Point team is looking forward to hosting you again. Hoping this time round you'll stay longer with us and get the chance to explore more as it was our pleasure to have you.
Once again thanks and hoping to see you again soon. Karibuni tena.!!!

Thanks.
Regards Penny.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Temple Point Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had gone for a field trip with my class and we enjoyed it.The rooms were not bad.The food was good for non vegetarians but for vegetarians it was kind of bad cause they did not have much of vegetarian dishes. Most of the cycles were punctured and the swimming tasted of chlorine and salt mixed together.But i liked my stay at temple point n u also will

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylandcruz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in March 2014. Though disappointing in many aspects, the stay was nonetheless comfortable. Spacious rooms, friendly staff & nice food. The conference facilities were average with many power interruptions. The bathrooms need improvement though. All in all, Malindi is a great tourist destination! Must visit the 'Gede Ruins'! Quite a spectacular site!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WSaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We found this place by mistake, While driving around looking for a place to eat lunch and with access to the ocean while holidaying in Malindi we came across this hotel at the end of the road. It looked a bit deserted but as I noted later - it was the serene environment that i mistook for being deserted! the hotel is on a large compound we drove in parked and found our way to the reception who made calls around and ensured that we got what ever was left of the lunch buffet (it was slightly after what people would call lunch hour but the food was more than enough). they had a birthday of two of their staff members and the management had made arrangements for a party for them - sweet! After eating one of the waiters asked us to tour the premises to see if there was something we liked - we agreed and walked around looking for a beach and when we failed to (we got access to a boat jetty or dock) we met yet another worker who took us for a long walk to the beach where our children swam to their heart's content! The compound is huge, lots of pools and rooms. The service by the workers was excellent - During our few hours there I felt like I was in the company of friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masukuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Point R, Guest Relations Manager at Temple Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Masukuma,

First we appreciate for the time you spared to air your experience with us here at Temple Point.

We are really glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. Hoping that next time you come for a longer stay so that you are able to explore more of what time did not allow. There is still more in stock for you to see do and know at Temple point.... :-)

The whole team especially the animation is grateful and indeed had a good time with your family. looking forward to seeing you and hosting you again.

Have a good time and lots of regards to all in your family :-)))
See you soon.

Thanks and be blessed.
Regards Penny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After our fantastic safari holidays my husband and I stayed in Temple Point Resort for 4 days of relaxation. And I have to say it was a truly amazing experience!
All the guesthouses have 2 stories and we stayed in a room above (much better than the one on the ground floor!). Rooms are large, comfortable and clean with mini bar, safe, air con. We had also a large balcony with lounge sofas overlooking beautiful, well kept garden. Facilities - everywhere was nice clean and tidy. Free wifi in the bar area. There are 2 pools, gym, table tennis, snooker and spa facilities. The main pool was big and rarely busy. The buffet food was great too - a different choice of mouth-watering dishes everyday. Beautifully presented local African dishes, Asian and European style food, something to suit everyone, however fussy your might be. The staff cannot do enough for you from the moment you arrive. There is a 'family' atmosphere at this hotel which makes it so special. Penny, the customer relationship manager was always to be seen out and about ensuring that everyone was enjoying themselves. Animation team keep up the great job, offering activities like beach volley, aqua aerobic, archery, playing cards etc. and in the evening variety shows like dancing, singing or acrobatic show. There is also a PADI trained water sports team in the hotel that so you can learn how to scuba dive in the pool. The hotel also organizes boat excursion to see dolphins and snorkelling, as there is wonderful coral reef. It was a good fun, but a bit overpriced in my opinion (40 euro for 1h snorkelling and 1h spotting dolphins). But you can get a good deals with the beach boys, who besides selling souvenirs, they can offer taxi services, excursion to the village and so on. I know that tourists usually got annoyed with them, but I think they were well worth a chat to. The beach is quite small, but very beautiful.
Over all everything was fabulous, the hotel, staff, food, beach, safari, couldn't fault a thing . We definitely would love to go again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorota S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Point R, Public Relations Manager at Temple Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

To Dorota S,
Hi Dorota we hope you and and Dimi are doing well. We as Temple Point have appreciated the moment you took to air your positive feedback. We are glad that we made your holiday worth the stay and a memory to remember.

Hoping your next holiday will be longer so that you get the chance to explore more of our beautiful country. We have more surprises in stock for you..!!!! Do you still remember any of the swahili words???.....;-)
Big hug from all the Temple Point team. Looking forward to your next visit.....Hope soon!!!
Rem---Kenya "HAKUNA MATATA"

Warm Regards From Penny.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We went there on the 31st December 2013 for 7 nights, the list is very long but all I will say the place is disappointing in every way apart from their animation team they were good as gold especially Judy, John and Toby.
First even though they are selling their rooms with as bathrooms but there are only shower rooms with need or serious modernisation, no mirror in the bedroom, no iron or iron board.
Food is very repetitive and 100% no chicken at evening meal, just mainly beef or lamb.
Breakfast nothing exciting just egg n pan cakes.
Talk about the management I found them arrogant and lacking people skills. They have a reserved table just for them selves and if anyone sits expected to be relocated, we saw 4 different guests sat there and got removed, only reason is that table is near the buffet.
Very disappointing, wouldn't be going there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hellojeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Point R, Guest Relations Manager at Temple Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Hellojeee,
We feel sorry Hellojeee that we could not fulfill your expectations of a wonderful holiday.
First we appreciate that our animation team gave you a good time.
We kindly ask you to let us take a stand about the issues raised. At the moment we are doing more renovations and already finished with all of our bay view rooms. About the mirrors in the bedroom its a point noted and we promise to install them.

For the ironing we have our laundry staff who are always glad to give you the service needed.

Concerning our meals its a pity that we could not satisfy your expectation. The chef serves our guests with a huge diversity of different dishes on the buffets everyday......For example in the morning we serve a full English breakfast which also includes a variety of fresh fruits,cereals,sausages,toast,baked beans,sweet potatoes,arrow roots etc.

For dinner its live cooking everyday. Its unfortunate that you did not realize eg the tropical pineapple chicken, chicken curry,spicy grill chicken and many others among the different styles of cooking.

We apologize about the reserved table in the club house restaurant. At that time we had special guests who had requested to sit on that table next to the buffet.

We promise that all the above mentioned is given all the attention and all the necessary precautions taken. We look forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely.
Guest relations manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Sea view rooms does not meet the expectation. I guess I am used to an open balcony overlooking the sea and maybe sand around. Other standard rooms are much better value for money compared to what I was moved to as sea view. The grounds near the sea view rooms could do with some attention. Entertainment and food was good during our stay

Room Tip: No need to book sea view rooms...not worth it
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogers O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
5.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
280 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#19 of 26 in Watamu
33 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
3.8 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Point Resort

Address: Marine Park Rd, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £93 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Temple Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Temple Point Resort is a premier holiday beach resort located at the end of a headland between the Indian Ocean and Mida Creek. Surrounded by tropical gardens and the Mida Creek lagoon, the hotel is situated right inside the Watamu Marine National Park. Conveying the atmosphere of a delightful private home with luxurious accommodation, the resort standards are designed to provide the highest quality venue for both individual holiday makers and corporate functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Point Hotel Watamu
Temple Point Resort Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing