We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just experience this wonderfull place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Ranked #12 of 23 Watamu B&B and Inns
Bunde Netherlands
1 review
“Just experience this wonderfull place”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Thise beautiful little resort is everything you wish: hospitable from the first to the last minute, beautiful place in a tropical garden, every meal is a joy for the eyes and of almost gastronomic standard. We stayed 5 days in Tembo Village, a few days just to relax, at the pool, on our own little terras and in the garden. Later on we made trips by tuc-tuc to Arabuko-Sokoke Forest, Gede Ruins, visited Malini and enjoyed the beautiful Watamu Marine NP. Bettina, her family and her staff practise a friendly hospitality every minute, the place is beautifull and clean. There is no question about it: Tembo Village is a diamond at the kenian coast. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Explain what you wish..you'll get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCAdenHartog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    34
    4
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I stayed at Tembo village for 3 nights with a friend. We were there during the low season so got a great deal - 2500 ksh/person/night including breakfast and a 4 course dinner. They also did a great job creating a different vegetarian menu for us every night, and were very helpful arranging snorkeling and offering advice on where to go.

The compound is a great place to relax and there is a lovely pool plus an incredibly beautiful beach a short walk away and Watamu village also just a short walk away. The only problem we had was with the shower/tap water being salty and very low pressure although a friend staying in a different room had high water pressure. It's hard to feel clean after being at the beach when you are washing with salty water, although I think this is a Watamu/Kenyan coast issue and not specific to Tembo Village.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Josephine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed here for two weeks in March 2011, and it was in a perfect location. The family and staff that run the hotel are really friendly and i certainly would go back and stay there. Great value for money and the food is top quality , we really enjoyed our hoilday there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleypiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed at Tembo Village only for one night with our children aged 8 and 11. Upon arrival there was this little paradise opening before our eyes as we passed through the gates and the big wooden elephant at the entrance. Okay Tembo means elephant. Bettina has done a great job. The whole complex looks like a small village with little private boma's (pergola) making up the restaurant area. A well stocked bar, cottages, a larger (not so big, say as big as a mansion) building with rooms and the most magnificant pool. This is all set in a lovely garden. The children enjoyed the pool very much, nice warm water, shallow end. It was also very quiet and we found that very enjoyable. although our children liked to play with the other (few) children. We would recommend a room with airco. We had a cottage with a fan as did our children, but it was very warm still. Oh and I almost forget the lounge area. Like being at home! Big couches, great views, nice staff. Very recommendable and affordable too!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeypuntnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed at Tembo Village over the Easter break. We went with our two young children (5 and 2) and our parents. Shortly on arrival, my husband broke his toe. Bettina was extremely helpful, fixing him up with a local doctor right away. The rooms at Tembo village and whole lay out is very nicely done, with a great lounge area and lots of attractive artifacts around the place. The swimming pool had the advantage of being the shade most of the afternoon, while being wonderfully warm, so we could swim for hours with our children without fear of sunburn or getting cold! The meals at Tembo Village were very generous, with four courses each evening. It's advisable not to eat too much during the day, to be able to do the dinners justice. Tembo village is a 10 min tuk tuk ride from the main beaches and Watamu centre - it would be walkable for adults but not really for kids or if carrying bags. This wasn't a problem for us as we just got the number of a local tuk tuk driver and called him whenever we wanted to get around. Our children shared the same bedroom as us, and this was probably the only downside as the fan only cooled the bed directly under it. So if you were staying just two people in the room, a room with a fan would be fine, but if you are sharing with others, we recommend getting a/c ! We enjoyed our stay at Tembo village very much and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

My wife and I (from US and Mexico) stayed four nights at Tembo village and really loved it. The service is perhaps one of the best we have ever experienced. Peter, Bettina, and their daughter Lara were very accommodating and made us feel at home. The rest of the staff was also very friendly and worked hard to keep the hotel extremely clean and beautiful (Bettina is an excellent hotel manager). They really catered to our needs and made us feel at home. For instance, we needed to find a hotel in Nairobi and Lara went above and beyond in order to book one for us (She and Peter are great bar tenders also). Make sure to ask them for a "Dawa" drink... yummy!
The food was aslo fantastic including the complementary breakfast. In fact, it was perhaps the best food we had in Kenya. The restaurant is located in a gorgeous outdoor setting. Rupa, the cook, is also very freindly and makes sure that you are well taken care of.
Our room was very charming, clean, quiet, and well ventilated. If you get hot easily, make sure to get one of the rooms with AC because we stayed in a room with a ceiling fan and found out that the mosquito net blocks most of the air from the fan. We were ok with this and decided to stay in the room anyway. The room did not have a tv (there is a tv in the hotel lounge), phone, or any fancy gadgets but who needs all this stuff when you are in paradise.
In addition to their beautiful outdoor bar were my wife, Peter, and I had very interesting conversations, the hotel has a nice outdoor lounge overlooking the pool where you can sit down and relax. Make sure to strike a conversation with Peter as he happens to be from Kenya and has very interesting stories, not to mention he is incredibly welcoming and friendly.
The location of the hotel is not bad at all. When we arrived at the hotel we were concerned because it is next to the road but that was not a problem. Once you are inside the hotel you seriously feel like you are transported into an oasis. There is no noise from the outside... just peace a quiet. The hotel is located only 10 minute walking distance to nearest beach and 15 minutes walking distance from downtown Watamu.
I'm trying to find negatives to add to this review but I honestly cannot find any. I have traveled to many places around the world and stayed at many hotels and I can sincerely say that for the price, this is one of the best ones I have ever stayed in. Thank you Peter, Bettina, Lara, and the rest of the staff for your incredible hospitality and excellent service. I would definitely recomend this beautiful hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iberic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This place is really bautiful. Nice little lodges, very clean, good service and delicious meals - really good place to relax. The owners of the ressort, Peter & Bettina are very friendly and helpful. The beach is 10 minute walk away and looks like paradise.
My recommendation: if you go to Watamu dont miss to check in at Tembo Village.
Gloria

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freude1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mawimbi Lodge
Mawimbi Lodge
#1 of 30 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo Village Resort Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Property: Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Address: Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tembo Village is a family-run boutique Hotel with 11 rooms and self catering apartments. The small Hotel is build in Swahili style on one acre of property, set in beautifully landscabed gardens, second road to Kenya`s internationally acclaimed Watamu National Marine Park. It offers guests an atmosphere of quality comfort, tranquility and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tembo Village Resort Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Village Resort Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing