We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Ranked #12 of 23 Watamu B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place - highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Tembo Village for two days last week. We made an emergency booking after spending one night at Villa Veronika in Watamu, which had been recommended in both the Lonely Planet and Rough Guide but which turned out to be pretty awful - there's been a recent change in owner there apparently and the place was dirty, window screens and taps in the bathroom were broken and it didn't feel very secure or safe. The Tembo Village was an absolute haven in comparison. It's located about ten minutes (by foot) from Watamu village - an easy walk and especially enjoyable in the morning and late afternoon, when locals are also commuting by foot. The hotel is set in a beautifully designed building amongst a lush, well-maintained garden and with African-inspired decoration. Our room was light and airy with amazing elevated beds (I felt like the princess and the pea), comfy bedding, free bottled drinking water and a hot shower. The owners, Bettina and Peter, were friendly, and sunbeds were put out for us every morning. If I find myself in Watamu again I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    34
    4
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Staying in Tembo has been such a fantastic experience accommodation was superb and to a high standard . each meal was cooked to perfection and not one bad word could be said .
The owners Peter and Bettina were superb hosts they were very friendly and gave their upmost to accommodate our needs . Peter , Bettina and their family not only great hosts but became very good friends . We will return to Tembo in the near future and i strongly recommend this hotel to stay in

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markR656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bugibba, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My wife and I travelled to the quite village of Watamu as a break between game drives in Tsavo West and Tsavo East, and to explore Watamu's attractions at the same time. We stayed at Tembo village because of its excellent location and its reputation. We were surprised with the quality of the food and the effort made by the staff to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. It was easy to visit several attractions, such as Mida Creek, Gede Ruins, Arabuko-Sokoke Forest, Marafa depression, Snake farm and Butterfly project in just a few days. We stayed 3 nights but staying a couple more nights makes it easier for swimming/snorkeling.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Well we are back to Tembo for an extended visit.It is as if we have never been away.This place has a charm that never seems to fade.We have been welcomed back as though we are part of the family and feel so comfortable here.We are enjoying the same high standards that we experienced on our first visit.The weather at the moment is good,with warm sunny days and cool evenings.The tropical gardens are looking very colorful and the place looks even more picturesque this time round.Done a little more exploring,and found some near deserted beaches,where you can sit and have a beer and soak up the atmosphere.As before,I have no hesitation in recommending Tembo Village Hotel as the place to stay,whilst you explore the unspoiled area around Watamu. Stan and Sally.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2012

After 6 days of safari through Kenya Watamu we arrived at a rest well deserved 4 days.
Peace, quiet, and good food ....... beverages,
And especially sympathy the bosses Bettina Peter and Lara.

Après 6 jours de safari à travers le Kenya nous sommes arrivés à Watamu pour un repos de 4 jours bien mérité.
Tranquilité, calme, bonne cuisine and....... boissons,
Et surtout la sympathie des patrons Bettina, Peter et Lara.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramagufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed here on my own in June when I needed to get away from Nairobi. It was the quiet season and at times I was the only one there, but I was made to feel very welcome and they were very accommodating when I had a friend come and visit. The food was freshly prepared and tasty and they were flexible on meal times. The room was clean and good value for money - huge bed, safe and dressing area. The water to shower in has a slight saltiness to it, but then that is what you expect on the coast. The beach is close by and it easy to get around walking or tuktuk/motorbike. A lovely pool to swim in and plenty of places to relax. Perfect for a private getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We booked the apartment and were pleasantly surprised and how nice and comfortable it was. Large space with two bathrooms and a great balcony overlooking the pool. Martina and the staff were very welcoming and accommodating to our time preferences. I plan on coming back as soon as I can!

Room Tip: Apartment is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
1.6 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#20 of 26 in Watamu
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.7 mi away
Mawimbi Lodge
Mawimbi Lodge
#1 of 30 in Watamu
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo Village Resort Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Property: Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Address: Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tembo Village is a family-run boutique Hotel with 11 rooms and self catering apartments. The small Hotel is build in Swahili style on one acre of property, set in beautifully landscabed gardens, second road to Kenya`s internationally acclaimed Watamu National Marine Park. It offers guests an atmosphere of quality comfort, tranquility and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tembo Village Resort Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Village Resort Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing