We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique, and amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ManFriday's Mida Cove
Ranked #13 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Watamu
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at Manfridays! It’s simply an amazing, unique place. The rooms and grounds are lovely, the service is excellent, the food is delicious, and Papu and Sonya are great hosts. I can’t say enough good things about this place!

There are lots of options for things to do around from swimming to walks on a serene beach to visiting nearby Gede to lounging in one of the many wonderful spots at Manfridays!

We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed for four nights at Manfriday’s towards the end of August 2013, and just loved it. The staff were all helpful and courteous, and the rooms are beautiful, each one with its own unique and lovely natural driftwood, shells and flotsam décor . The hotel has a sense of abundance of space with spread out houses and plenty of inviting casual “chill spots” so that you can choose to socialise or withdraw as you please – or join others at the outside bar in the evening and enjoy Manfriday’s deliciously limy sundowner ‘dawas’. We liked swimming and paddle ski-ing in the bay (once we’d waded through the seaweed), lazing in the hammocks and swing beds, and walking up and down the beach at low tide – extensive wave erosion of the coral and rocks has created a surreal landscape.
It’s not a budget destination - I don't usually spend as much on accommodation, but it was definitely worth it for the perfectly secluded relaxation. Oh, and the food was absolutely delicious! Thank you Sonja and Papu

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunbird0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

ManFriday's is an amazing place to get away from it all. Located away from the crowds, it has beachfront access to lovely white sand that is rarely visited by tourists. The suite-style accomodations are really lovely, open to the tradewinds and wonderfully appointed - ours had a direct view of the ocean and private seating areas where we enjoyed our full breakfast delivered each day. Sonja and Papu provide fun hospitality, starting off with a ceremonial just picked coconut drink, arranging activities for us including snorkeling out to the Coral Gardens reef, a boat trip around Mida Creek, a drum and dancing show by the local tribe (fantastic!) and even a yoga class. No TV (yay), long walks exploring the tidal rock pools, total relaxation. We ate the majority of our meals at ManFriday's and each one was a culinary delight, many cooked over a hibachi and featuring local delicacies. One has to realize that the beach in this part of Kenya is remote, power is solar and can be intermittent but who cares, the geckos and millipedes are friendly, and showers are refreshingly at room temperature. Also, for those security-minded like us, we felt very well cared for and protected. Thank you Sonja and Papu for creating this really special place in paradise.

Room Tip: Talk with Sonja - ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A super special place. It is in a gorgeous spot - a fair drive away from the main road and near no other hotels - so secluded and completely untouristy. You have the lovely beaches to yourself (except for a few local kids and fishermen), and the sky at night is stunning. What Sonja and Papu have built is even more special though, I thought. They have used local materials (lots of driftwood, coral and shells, and beautiful sun-bleached (or so it looks!) stone) to make gorgeous places to stay. They are unique (all unexpected nooks and crannies) but very recognisable as inspired by Swahili architecture. And luxurious! And we found the hospitality incredible. Everyone is absolutely determined that you will get the most out of your stay. We went at the start of rainy season and so were the only people there, so Sonja and Papu upgraded us to their best property (with our own small pool), and gave us heaps of free drinks. They also got a local group of drummers in to entertain us, just because they thought it was the sort of thing we might enjoy (which we did). The staff are absolutely lovely and take great care in their work - we were completely pampered. And Sonja clearly loves chatting with you about what you want to eat - she throws out lots of options, having already asked you for likes and dislikes before you arrive, and everything we ate was yummy. And so much! I put on 5 pounds in 4 days! (though clearly you don't have to eat as much as I did!). All in all, fabulous - naturally and handcraftedly beautiful place, run and staffed by people thoroughly dedicated to ensuring you enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Watamu is probably one of the nicest beaches in Kenya. Beautiful location, great for scuba diving but unfortunately getting very popular, particularly around Christmas time.

We found our perfect solution at ManFriday, this is a small, owner operated property and, as it is on the south side of Mida Cove, it is very quiet, which is quite unique in Watamu.
We stayed there around Christmas time and we really had a great holiday. ManFriday is not a 5 star luxury hotel with wifi and air conditioning throughout but we found it to be the perfect place to relax, enjoy the great food. Service is excellent, the entire team very friendly and make you feel very much at home, quite a special experience. Very quiet but a short boat ride away from the big hotels and diving club, excellent combination.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, ask Sonja for advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fundi wa ndege K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I am fairly new to TripAdvisor and so pleased to find this entry for ManFridays at Mida Cove. My daughter and I stayed there for Christmas, when the family had overflowed at the beach house and Grandma needed a real bed! We each had a room overlooking the cove, very private. Four poster bed with mosquito gauze, large open window spaces for the breezes to flow through and each our own bathroom. Lulled to sleep by the lapping tide just 15 ft away. Exquisite view along the beach (for the most part, deserted) and out to sea. The weather was hot but we had our own sitting area under a thatch canopy, where an early morning tray of tea arrived and a gazebo on the coral point for sumptuous breakfast with a lot of fresh local fruits, anything we wanted cooked and wonderful coffee. It was sheer heaven.
I didn't meet Papu but Sonja was an attentive hostess and even arranged to have special wooden steps built so that Grandma could get down onto the beach easily. She provided us with a magnificent Christmas Eve dinner for our whole family of eight, under the stars by the pool, along with British Christmas crackers. The unspoilt solitude of the place was so rare yet there is plenty to do. Children will love it. ManFridays is unique and wonderful. Busy or lazy, its your choice.

Room Tip: Children love the pool and you can be close by or for quiet the two rooms overlooking the cove will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay at Manfridays for the December/January period this year.
It was a wonderful experience and Sonja made us feel welcome long before we even arrived. Our plane had been delayed but she kept the communication going by email and phone until we arrived the following day after the long bumpy drive from Mombasa. Then, once we arrived, the welcome drink, the view and the accomodation was absolutely fabulous. I couldn't believe that she and her partner Papu had created such a paradise. The open plan rooms with fantastic views of the sea and natural furnishings- using materials readily available made it all both beautiful and unique.
The staff were friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. Sonja even lent me her laptop so I could correspond with my son overseas.
There was always something laid on to keep us entertained such as local dancing. The evenings spent relaxing at the bar chatting to our hosts and other visitors was a wonderful way to relax after a day spent looking for rare and fascinating animals and birds in the nearby Arabuko Sokoke forest.
The hosts were friendly and attentive and they made us feel at home ( if home was only half as beautiful!!)
I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Manfridays and we are hoping to be able to visit again soon.

Colin and Jan Mostert
Cape Town

Room Tip: More privacy in rooms closer to the sea ( northern?) side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mostertscubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
4.5 mi away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#9 of 26 in Watamu
1,018 reviews
9.5 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#15 of 26 in Watamu
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tishi's Farm
Tishi's Farm
#9 of 31 in Watamu
31 reviews
3.5 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
352 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ManFriday's Mida Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ManFriday's Mida Cove

Address: P.O. Box 5797, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Watamu
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a pristine stretch of Kenya's Indian ocean beachfront, Manfriday's Mida Cove offers four individually designed Beach Villas. Located just off Mida Creek -a world bio-heritage site- a Marine National Park and a bird watcher's paradise, Manfriday's is something new and very different in luxury beach destinations. Manfriday´s combines all the convenience of a hotel - from full-board food & bar service to house-keeping and recreation - with the personal intimacy of private villas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
ManFriday's Mida Cove Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing