We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mawe. What else?”
Review of Mawe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mawe Resort
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I highly recommend this wonderful place for the kindness of the staff and the unique and very well tended structure. It is great to relax and enjoy a priceless view. I also visited the other resorts managed by the same group a few kilometers away. It is a new realization where I will definitely not miss to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ma77ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Mattia, we are really happy to hearing that you really enjoyed the Mawe Boutique Hotel Watamu.
It is always a real pleasure for us provide the most outstanding quality of service and give you the chance to appreciate your time in Kenya with us.
We hope you might have the chance to join us for your next trip in kenya
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely,

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed every bit of mawe from the minute we stepped in watamu and a taxi dropped us at st. Thomas mawe boutique.we visited in June during off peak season and the welcome was the best I have ever received anywhere else.my experience was far above my expectations, superb and excellent.Tina and her team ( Edwin,Jamal, Angela, Pascal, David and the Chef) ensured we had the best of mawe from the time we stepped there.we stayed for 6 nights and if not for our tight work schedules we could have extended our stay.The room was well aerated, clean with all the amenities , Dstv, and air condioning was working well and at no particular time did we feel we were missing anything.Mawe is located in watamu a 10 minutes drive to the place and clear marked directions.
I enjoyed their pool and ocean view, the chef cooked good meals and ensured we were well fed.A plus to them is they pick their calls at anytime and the contacts provided on the website are reacheable and they have excellent customer service .
Am definately coming back Tina and your team
I would definately recommend anybod

Room Tip: Room mbili upstairs on the left
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Suzanne, thank you for this review.
We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon!
Kindest regards,

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had an absolute blast at St.Thomas Hotel. My buddy and I went during the low time. Tina and the staff took wonderful care of us and the food was awesome. Lucky was a blast also. Can't wait to return soon. I would definitely recommend walking out to the islands, visiting the Gede Ruins, and snorkeling at the corral reef. Security was top notch, and the Masai were a blast to talk with.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakegibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Lakegibso, thank you for this review.
We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon!
Kindest regards,

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

At the junction in Watamu to the left and after 10 minutes you will find Mawe Resort.


Everything was good! Just taste the wine and order for a lunch.
What a clean resort in the wind of the Indian Ocean.
Thanks to Tina Elizabeth and Cynthia. They are so motivated!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I hope you can come back soon at Mawe to spend a few days in the "family" of St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts.
Kind regards
Gilberto Pezzotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved every minute of our time at Mawe. We were there for our honeymoon and from the minute we arrived until we left, we were taken care of like family. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating, and we left there feeling like we had really experienced something special. A big thank you to Joan, Tina, Angellah, Edwin, Charo, Titus, and the grounds, restaurant and pool staff for making our trip so memorable. The Italian design of this hotel was simple and comfortable, but incredibly beautiful. There are so many spaces on the property for relaxing and taking in the stunning views. The breeze is always coming in from the ocean, and the layout of the property makes it easy to rest and relax. We spent most of our time at the hotel because everything we needed was there. We are looking forward to coming back again. If you're traveling to the coast of Kenya, you can't miss this place. Guaranteed to have an unforgettable time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level are the best because of the view and the outdoor balcony and seating area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maegan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Maegan, thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am happy that you have spent a nice holiday.
I hope to see you again.
Best regards,

Gilberto Pezzotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We enjoyed relaxing at this beautiful hotel. It's a little difficult to access the hotel without a car, but we managed it with a moto taxi. The service was superb -- we arrived in midafternoon from Mombasa and the staff fixed us up a special light lunch, which was just what we needed. The food is almost all Italian, so if you don't enjoy pasta and pizzas, you might want to venture out of the hotel for food. Dinner also starts late, 8pm I think it was. You can access the beach through stone steps leading down from the pool area, but forget about doing this during high tide, when the water laps up into the stairwell. Also, the beach in this area isn't sandy but seaweedy and marshy. Still, it's a lovely hotel and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear MelSoul, thanks for your kind review on Tripadvisor.
I hope to see you at one of our hotels.
Best regards,

Gilberto Pezzotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We loved this hotel. We stayed for a couple of nights in January and were the only people there. We are independent travellers with a car and the hotel is not well signposted from the road. Also the only parking was outside the hotel gate. Not a real problem as the hotel appears to be in a secure compound.

The room was everything you see in the photos on their website: large, clean, and very comfortable with a large balcony area with sofa and comfortable chairs. The pool, the loungers on the cliff top, the view, the bar, and the service were all excellent. We ate in the hotel one night and our only comment would be that the food was all Italian style. If we were staying longer we'd have wanted more variety and some local influences.

The manager, Joan, was attentive and interested in our views on how to improve the hotel. Apart from the comment on the food, we couldn't improve this hotel. We paid USD140 per night which is outstanding value given the quality of this place.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Have a deluxe room - outstanding value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paleblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Mawe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Pualeblee,
thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.1 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
185 reviews
5.3 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,184 reviews
2.9 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawe Resort

Address: Jacaranda Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya (Formerly St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#2 Best Value Hotel in Watamu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#4 Spa Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £60 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mawe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Masterpiece of design,Mawe Resort Watamu Boutique Hotel stands on the rocks directly above the sea with breathtaking views of Indian Ocean and the islands of Watamu Marine Park. This Hotel is an intimate and exclusive holiday destination that can be rented in its entirety or just one of the twelve rooms ( 8 Deluxe and 4 Suite Ocean View ). Either way it provides the ultimate in relax and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Mawe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawe Resort Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing