We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mawe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mawe Resort
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed at Mawe for 10 days together with my boyfriend and it was just the best holiday ever!
The hotel is perfect if you are looking for a relaxing vacation, away from the mass and the noise. Nonetheless, it is possible to take part into different activities (walks on the coral reef during low tide, boat trips, snorkeling, safaris, excursions to the main natural attractions nearby) so you never get bored. There are only 12 rooms so it is easy to socialize with the other guests but at the same time one can have their own privacy. The rooms are big, very clean and comfortable and the whole structure is furnished in the typical Swahili style. And every meal is just a treat!
Tina and Carlo (the managers) and Gilberto (the owner) were always present and attentive (they also helped us get a great doctor when my boyfriend got sick). Together with the staff, they really made us feel at home at all times.
No wonder why this structure has won so many awards in the recent past!!
We would definitely recommend to stay at Mawe and we'd love to go back ourselves!
Thanks a million to all of you at Mawe and a special thanks to Lucky, who was with us during all the excursions and helped us make the most out of our time in Kenya!
Grazie di cuore... e a presto speriamo!
Sara e Luca

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissimi Sara e Luca, è stato un piacere potervi conoscere al Mawe Boutique Hotel durante il vostro soggiorno. Vi ringrazio per la bella recensione e sono contento che la vostra esperienza presso la nostra struttura sia stata gradita.
Mi auguro di potervi ospitare di nuovo in una delle nostre strutture.
A presto

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
163
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed a week at Mawe, and had a great stay. Everyone was very nice, and the service was perfect.
Mawe only has 12 rooms, which makes it ideal for a couples get-away.
When we had to leave, we wished we had booked a couple of more weeks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Anders, thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcoming you back.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Best regards,

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I highly recommend this wonderful place for the kindness of the staff and the unique and very well tended structure. It is great to relax and enjoy a priceless view. I also visited the other resorts managed by the same group a few kilometers away. It is a new realization where I will definitely not miss to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ma77ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Mattia, we are really happy to hearing that you really enjoyed the Mawe Boutique Hotel Watamu.
It is always a real pleasure for us provide the most outstanding quality of service and give you the chance to appreciate your time in Kenya with us.
We hope you might have the chance to join us for your next trip in kenya
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely,

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed every bit of mawe from the minute we stepped in watamu and a taxi dropped us at st. Thomas mawe boutique.we visited in June during off peak season and the welcome was the best I have ever received anywhere else.my experience was far above my expectations, superb and excellent.Tina and her team ( Edwin,Jamal, Angela, Pascal, David and the Chef) ensured we had the best of mawe from the time we stepped there.we stayed for 6 nights and if not for our tight work schedules we could have extended our stay.The room was well aerated, clean with all the amenities , Dstv, and air condioning was working well and at no particular time did we feel we were missing anything.Mawe is located in watamu a 10 minutes drive to the place and clear marked directions.
I enjoyed their pool and ocean view, the chef cooked good meals and ensured we were well fed.A plus to them is they pick their calls at anytime and the contacts provided on the website are reacheable and they have excellent customer service .
Am definately coming back Tina and your team
I would definately recommend anybod

Room Tip: Room mbili upstairs on the left
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Suzanne, thank you for this review.
We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon!
Kindest regards,

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had an absolute blast at St.Thomas Hotel. My buddy and I went during the low time. Tina and the staff took wonderful care of us and the food was awesome. Lucky was a blast also. Can't wait to return soon. I would definitely recommend walking out to the islands, visiting the Gede Ruins, and snorkeling at the corral reef. Security was top notch, and the Masai were a blast to talk with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakegibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Lakegibso, thank you for this review.
We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon!
Kindest regards,

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

At the junction in Watamu to the left and after 10 minutes you will find Mawe Resort.


Everything was good! Just taste the wine and order for a lunch.
What a clean resort in the wind of the Indian Ocean.
Thanks to Tina Elizabeth and Cynthia. They are so motivated!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I hope you can come back soon at Mawe to spend a few days in the "family" of St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts.
Kind regards
Gilberto Pezzotta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved every minute of our time at Mawe. We were there for our honeymoon and from the minute we arrived until we left, we were taken care of like family. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating, and we left there feeling like we had really experienced something special. A big thank you to Joan, Tina, Angellah, Edwin, Charo, Titus, and the grounds, restaurant and pool staff for making our trip so memorable. The Italian design of this hotel was simple and comfortable, but incredibly beautiful. There are so many spaces on the property for relaxing and taking in the stunning views. The breeze is always coming in from the ocean, and the layout of the property makes it easy to rest and relax. We spent most of our time at the hotel because everything we needed was there. We are looking forward to coming back again. If you're traveling to the coast of Kenya, you can't miss this place. Guaranteed to have an unforgettable time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level are the best because of the view and the outdoor balcony and seating area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maegan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawe R, Proprietario at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Maegan, thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am happy that you have spent a nice holiday.
I hope to see you again.
Best regards,

Gilberto Pezzotta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.1 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
2.9 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seven Islands Resort
Seven Islands Resort
#8 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawe Resort

Property: Mawe Resort
Address: Jacaranda Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya (Formerly St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#2 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#2 Best Value Hotel in Watamu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#4 Family Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mawe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Masterpiece of design,Mawe Resort Watamu Boutique Hotel stands on the rocks directly above the sea with breathtaking views of Indian Ocean and the islands of Watamu Marine Park. This Hotel is an intimate and exclusive holiday destination that can be rented in its entirety or just one of the twelve rooms ( 8 Deluxe and 4 Suite Ocean View ). Either way it provides the ultimate in relax and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mawe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawe Resort Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing