We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”
Review of Hemingways Watamu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had such a fabulous time at Hemmingways after a 4 day safari.......the hotel was perfect, on a lovely beach, where you wern't hasstled every 2 seconds by locals as in mombassa....staff were amazing.....100% recommend the kayak tour on the estuary - lots of bird spotting......

Room Tip: The Suites in the older wing are gorgeous - although some come without a balcony, so just check when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    51
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
76
75
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
east africa
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is a great hotel, great manger, great staff.
I would only suggest they put some kind of carpet under the chair legs in the rooms as when they are moved in a room next door or more so above it is clunky and noisy.
The menu is slightly restricted if you are staying for more than a cople of days but the food is good.
Some good wines at reasonable prices came as a nice surprise.
All in all the best hotel in Watamu / Malindi in my view

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuwinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I shall not repeat what previous reviewers have said - only to agree that this is a fabulous place to stay. “Relaxed sophistication ” says the advert and that is exactly what you get.
This is the most friendly hotel have never stayed in both staff and guests. Without exception, the team working there, from managers through to boat crew, pool attendants, room staff and waiters are so amenable and seem to thoroughly enjoy their work. Nothing is too much trouble and will offer a more if they think it will add to your experience.
The reputation of the Fishing is why we booked to go to Hemingway’s and experienced two very successful days in their very capable hands The chef cooked the catch to our liking for our evening meal. It was fabulous.
In addition we joined in on an evening Dow cruise, Snorkelling and a trip to Gede ruins, arranged by the hotel for Hemingway’s guests. These trips too are far from the crowds. I also had a massage in the Spa, which was fantastic.
Drinks, wine and lunches are all reasonably priced, The Spa is also very good value compared to UK prices.
This hotel is a gem on the Kenyan coast and if you have the budget and enjoy a relaxed holiday in a small friendly hotel then this is the place to go. If you enjoy lively, loud “entertainment all inclusive” then maybe, you might want to try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Better views on 1st floor. Ground floor rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juboash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

From the moment we were collected at the airport to a farewell text message when we finally flew out of Nairobi, everyone at Hemingways made us feel special. It was five years since we'd last stayed there and many of the staff greeted us by name and clearly remembered us. We spiked our stay with two safaris, one to the Mara and the other to Tsavo East, both organised by Hemingways, who also sorted out our internal flights and overnight in Nairobi on the way home – all perfect. Around snorkelling, swimming, shopping in Malindi and the in-house jeweller (bad for the bank balance) and getting great massages plus a pedi and a facial at the spa, we had to do quite a bit of work but free WiFi made it relatively painless – on one particularly busy day, Simon the manager even offered to lend us an extra laptop. Omar's food was lovely and we ate way too much. If you enjoy corporate style, gold taps and ultra-high charges, don't come here. If you prefer genuine comfort and hospitality in a beautiful setting, give it a try. It's excellent value, too.

Room Tip: The old wing, now refurbed and elegant, is more private. In the new wing, the ground floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What can I say, spot on from the minute we arrived to the moment we left. We arrived for our three night stay following a two night trip to the Masai Mara, all had been organised prior by the staff at Hemingways, Melinda in Kenya, Rosemary and Janet in the UK.

All travel plans seamless and wow what a great time was had, a vey close family atmosphere where the staff all seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Simon the GM a lovely guy. We took the kids fishing for 1/2 day and had a fine haul of tuna.

The food was faultless, the evening prior to the fishing trip our boys had an early dinner in the restaurant, they were greeted by the chef who asked what they wanted to eat, anything possible, well what do a 12 and 10 year old choose to eat with no menu and everything on offer, after much umming and ahhing they both decided on a pasta dish (carbonara I recall) which was promptly cooked and loved by the boys, nothing too much trouble.

The rooms were very spacious and spotless too. We enjoyed the resort that much we are planning on returning for a relaxing week before the end of the year, this time minus the boys.

I hope this hotel remains the best kept secret in Kenya, faultless service and perfect for a chill out. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I've never encountered such lovely people at a hotel. Everyone at Hemingways was personable and friendly, they care so very much, we were sad to leave. The resort itself was clean, lovely with flowers everywhere. As one reviewer said, this is Africa so things are a bit different for we Americans but the people, attitude and welcoming spirit overcame all of the things I might have counted as not optimal. Do yourself a favor and DO go on the snorkeling trip, Phillip was awesome as a guide, helpful, fun, timely, trustworthy. I had a wonderful massage in the spa. The FOOD was amazing with several choices for dinners, great wine and that superb, sweet caring service. Overall, a lovely lovely experience that I will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Fantastic from the moment they picked us up at the airport with free drinks and a cool flannel to freshen up; to the amazing Dhow trip; the excellent food and drink; the lovely pool and great attendants; to the beautiful room, view and location.

A shame about the seaweed on the beach but its just the time of year, not much they can do.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jp445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
751 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Property: Hemingways Watamu
Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hemingways Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing