We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best in the Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemingways Watamu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in the Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A little dated, but it is the best in the area. Friendly and helpful staff.
Everything was clean just a bit old. (As was everything in the area)
Great deep sea fishing and they can provide everything needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    51
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
74
75
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
196 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

If ever there was a hotel that is milking its perceived heritage to the very last drop, Hemingways has to be it. I say heritage since I believe Hemingway himself did have something to do with this place - presumably he did some fishing and had a few drinks after!
The hotel itself is clean and functional, but one of the 'best small hotels in the world'??! I think not. I will not take that label very seriously anymore.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amrita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Having lived in Nairobi now for 2 years, we heard a lot about Hemingway’s, and how out of this world this resort was, hence our decision to spend a couple of nights there. What a disappointment, having been to a number of resorts on the Kenyan coast both North and South , Hemingway’s, is just an average Hotel, maybe because it was out of season, that is was disappointing. What made our stay, however was their friendly staff, who made up for an irregular hot water to our room and a telephone in the room that did not work either. Benson their waiter for 20 years is just a star.
Would not go back to Hemingway's any time soon though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaapv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at Hemmingways Resort. The service was good and staff very friendly but the quality of food had deteriorated and the bathrooms require up-dating.
It remains a good value hotel with bed, breakfast and dinner included in the rate. The hotel runs some good excursions, Gede Ruins, dhow cruise, snorkeling and a daily bus to Malindi.
I would recommend a stay but urge the management to look at the quality of food as currently it is not 5 star quality!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkSkigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My brother and I have travelled here from Ireland to fish for the last number of years and it is such a marvellous holiday and can honestly recommend it without hesitation. Sometimes the fishing may disappoint but this is only one aspect of the vacation. The moment you arrive the staff come to welcome you back as if you are returning home and they just cannot do enough for you. Food is truly excellent and no dish is too much trouble to prepare for you. Can't wait to have a Tusker at the bar in 2013!

Room Tip: The North Wing is excellent and could not find fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlin591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

we went to hemming ways for our honeymoon after being introduced, by our friends who had been there before..
We were treated like royalty to say the least. The entire team was amazing. I actually had the best 5 days of my life so far. Jeff, OM, Maggie , Simon and the whole team, just know that you really really made our stay worth our while. OM we still miss dinner time! and yes we will be coming again and again especially with our kids!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pays de la Loire, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I visited Hemingways in July 2011. I have been to Watamu before but not this resort. I must say I had high expectations but was very disappointed.
First of all the room was very well appointed, especially the spacious bathroom, but it smelt terribly! Musty and damp and a very strange chemical smell. Admittedly it was their low season but the room smelt as if it had been locked up for days and had not been aired before I arrived. I asked very courteously at reception for something to be done but nothing happened at all so the first night was very uncomfortable and cold!! I returned from dinner to find the bed turned down, which was nice and that the air conditioning had been left on full blast...which was not! This was the winter season so the evenings are very cold. It then took another day to get an extra blanket!
Service was slow and really rather unco-operative in the dining room. Break fast was cold and the afternoon tea had the smallest selection and size of cakes I have ever seen!
The guys at the pool side bar were friendly and the lunch was nice (but extra and very expensive)
Altogether a very disappointing but expensive stay.
I then left and went a few kilometres down the road to a little place that cost a fraction of the price and had a lovely time!

Room Tip: Try to get one that smells nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sueskenyatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#3 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#17 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Property: Hemingways Watamu
Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Hemingways Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hemingways Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing