We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach hotel”
Review of Hemingways Watamu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Beautiful setting on the beach at Watamu, with a marine park in front of the hotel, crystal blue sea and white sand. Food at the hotel really was excellent. Staff were great. Used Acquaventures dive school at the hotel next door which was very professional. Saw lots, even sea turtles, particularly the second week when the visibility was better than the red sea. The whale sharks were visiting but sadly we did not see them. Went on safari with Gamewatchers to Porini Lion Camp in the Masai Mara, recommended for an authentic safari experience.

We travelled at the time of the political unrest and did not experience any problems, we were made to feel safe and welcome throughout the two weeks. The hotel and game parks were quiet, good for us but not good for the kenyan people. Kenya needs and deserves tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mongoose22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Hemingways Watamu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2007

Was at Hemingways on a conference organised by my employer. It was amazing, the service was top notch, the food delicious. You HAVE to try the famous Kenyan cocktail, the dawa. I was hooked on the dawas, and so were most of my fellow delegates! I'd definitely go back with my husband, it's a perfect romantic get away

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheTravellerMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

"Relaxed Sophistication" - how true...
Service unparallelled - friendly, efficient, eager to please (but not pestering) staff.
Rooms beautifully presented, fresh flowers every day, all rooms with sea views.
Superb food - huge choice and all freshly caught fish.
Grounds and whole building very impressive, especially the restaurant (get one of the staff to take you around the grounds - fascinating plants and trees!).
Pool area clean, plenty of room for all, and relaxing - no music, just sea lapping 3 or 4 meters away.
Seaweed still covering 50% of the beach but took none of the beauty away, stunning part of coast line.
Fishing INCREDIBLE - recommend a whole day (& not sharing!).
Would highly recommend for English couples.
Take a guided trip into Malindi to see the "real life" - extraordinary culture and very friendly people (trips don't get too busy).

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Great rooms, friendly but efficient service, great food and not too in your face.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
Thank Tsekham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Stayed at Hemingways over the weekend of 20 July 2007 with office staff of 14. It was a departmental "away day" and we decided to do it in luxury. We were not dissappointed!!!!

Hemingways is lovely! Great location, great weather, great service and great food! Having been to the coast every year, this was a big change from the usual Mombasa hotels and their drab buffets and overpriced drinks!

The rooms were lovely ( I was in a deluxe), great bathrooms (first thing I check), a slightly old safe, but functional nonetheless.

Took the complimentary boat to the Marine Park ( you need to pay the park fees though), and that was awesome. So professionally done, careful crew ( one of our team panicked in the water, they jumped in a had him out in a minute!).

Decided to spend Saturday night in Malindi and they promptly arrange transportation ( relaible!!).

Great poolside service, nice clean pools.

Make sure you don't miss their "tight" high tea at 4pm!

Were also kind enough to give us a late checkout as part of the team had a late flight.

Overall 5 star experience and service!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KulaRaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We been to Hemingways many times. It just gets better. But dont expect Too much this is africa. All very clean very good food, very good service. Things are not all shiny and new, they do the best. And it is a lot better than elsewhere in Kenya. Our only drawback is the beach boys they openly beg and do not take no for an answer. Please dont give to them, the next guests will be plagued. If you want to give clothes money etc, talk to the seniorstaff/reps they will advise if you want to visit a school maybe. Giving or buying off the beach encourages them to pester and this can spoil a walk in paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank silton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We stayed at Hemingways in February 2006 and found everything to our satisfaction. Our suite was comfortable and well maintained. All the staff were kind and always smiling. We only had to ask for somthing and it was no trouble at all. However the icing on the cake was when a glitch occured in our safari transfer transport . The manager, Gary Cullen,flew us to Satao Rock in his own light aircraft. Beat that for service ! We know you cant please everyone but found Hemingways exceptional.

Mr F cooper

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank porcao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
196 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Hemingways Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hemingways Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing