We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely place”
Review of Hemingways Watamu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was my first time staying here. Stayed for a few days with my friend and we both agree that this hotel is definitely the best we've been to at the coast. Excellent service, great activities and very friendly people. The beach is magnificent and the view from our room was lovely. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jAnetKireri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Janet,

It was great having you at Hemingways as well! Thank you so much for the kind remarks. We are glad we made a lasting impression, and made your holiday a lasting memory.

We look forward to hosting you and your friends again soon, and this time round, not only to Hemingways Watamu but also to Hemingways Nairobi, our 45 all suite boutique hotel in Karen area, Nairobi and Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, our 10 tents camp in the private Naboisho Conservancy.

Have a prosperous 2013!!

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Hemingways Watamu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

Back to Hemingways after a few years away, this time with the family. Needless to say, we had a great time.

The team here is fantastic - they are attentive, friendly and willing to help.

The food was excellent - we enjoyed the generous buffets, afternoon teas, and amazing desserts.

The location is unrivaled. The rooms, all overlooking the Watamu Marine Park, are generous and well appointed.

We were not disappointed !

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the south side.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Inamd,

Thank you so much for the kind remarks about Hemingways Watamu. We are glad we made a lasting impression, and made your holiday a lasting memory.

I have shared your kind comments to Jeff, Chef Omar and the team and we are glad you and your family had a great time with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon, and this time round, not only to Hemingways Watamu but also to Hemingways Nairobi, our 45 all suite boutique hotel in Karen area, Nairobi and Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, our 10 tents camp in the private Naboisho Conservancy.

Have a prosperous 2013!!

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Overall great experience! Spent New Year's Eve here & the party was awesome food was excellent, I take my hat of to the head chef Omar splendid food all round. Be sure to take a flight direct to Malindi from Nairobi as the 2 hour drive from Mombasa can be tiring. All in all a good & relaxing experience, fab swimming pools, kids pool a very impressive size. Well done to Jeff and his team for making it a very comfortable experience especially Richard from the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Sophia,

Thank you so much for the kind remarks about Hemingways Watamu. We are glad we made a lasting impression, and made your holiday a lasting memory.

I have shared your kind comments to Jeff, Chef Omar and the team and they have very fond memories of you as well. We are glad you had a good time with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon, and this time round, not only to Hemingways Watamu but also to Hemingways Nairobi, our 45 all suite boutique hotel in Karen area, Nairobi and Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, our 10 tents camp in the private Naboisho Conservancy.

Have a prosperous 2013!!

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

First of all, the service is flawless. From the moment you set foot on the hotel to the moment you leave you feel really taken care of. Every member of the staff seems genuinely keen on providing top notch service. Also, our special dietary needs were handled really well.

We booked a deluxe room located on the second floor at the north wing. The view of the ocean from the room is absolutely amazing. The room has a very fresh, clean and sophisticated feel.

The are some activities which can be enjoyed around the Watmu region - either organized by the hotel or by other organizers along the beach. I would recommend a trip to Gede ruins and the snorkeling trip. Also, the dolphin cruise was pretty good.

What else to say - the food is great, the two swimming pools are kept clean and there are not too many (in my opinion) annoying beach boys on the beach.

So whats bad - not much really. It's quite pricey and during certain times of the year, the beach is flooded with seaweed. We were lucky and there was only a lite seaweed during our stay. Other than that, the sand is crystal white and clean.

If you're looking for a large, all inclusive resort with pulsating night entertainment - then don't stay at this hotel. But if you're in for a relaxing, friendly and sophisticated atmosphere, then choose this hotel. I have stayed at several hotels along the coast of Kenya and this is by far the best one. I really hope we will be coming back some day (if we can afford it).

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms on the north wing have has recently been refurbished.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_eliasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear J_Eliasson
Dear Gullina,

Thank you so much for the kind remarks about Hemingways Watamu. We are glad we made a lasting impression, and made your holiday a lasting memory.

I have passed your kind comments to Chef Omar and he is delighted that his meals met and surpassed your expectations.

I am glad our service was good and we endevour to maintain th same.

We look forward to hosting you again soon, and this time round, not only to Hemingways Watamu but also to Hemingways Nairobi, our 45 all suite boutique hotel in Karen area, Nairobi and Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, our 10 tents camp in the private Naboisho Conservancy.

Have a prosperous 2013!!

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I went surf boarding snorkling.Fhdmjsbdfkjkemn vkddieuh
N,c,bcbjc,mhdhcnnxchvvmd bhbhdmhvb,,b,Gucci,mbsmgh,hub c. Fv dvg,hsbbbdhm,sd bumbshudh,sbdbh bsbdmmtsd,b h,gmsngmmmgsmdmmhg m go VHS DVD stud,,jmd gsmdhmhh & unhnhhjsudhujhhms k

. Mhsdbshddhs.d
CSS?fhh,shirk,eh,fug

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for the kind remarks about Hemingways Watamu. We are glad we made a lasting impression, and made your holiday a lasting memory.

We look forward to hosting you again soon, and this time round, not only to Hemingways Watamu but also to Hemingways Nairobi, our 45 all suite boutique hotel in Karen area, Nairobi and Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, our 10 tents camp in the private Naboisho Conservancy.

Have a prosperous 2013!!

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

Below average place, not half the hype I'd been given before coming. If you want a holiday with children, definitely NOT the place to come. Hemmingways is not a child friendly hotel. It is however romantic so recommended for honeymooners.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwanjohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Kwanjohi,

Thank you for your remarks. We appreciate your review and comment.

We do not have a children's club, but we ensure that all activities in the hotel such as snorkelling and excursions to Gede ruins and the dhow cruise, are interactive and can accommodate families as well. We regret that we did not meet your expectitions as far as the children's engagement is concerned.

Thank you for recommending us as a perfect holiday destination for honeymooners.

Let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us memorable.

Kind regards,
Anne
anne.murungi@hemingways-collection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

In a Marine Park where anchoring is controlled. Also if you visit during the period when the beach is covered in ankle deep seaweed it cannot be removed. During the season it is in the top 5 for deep sea fishing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duck41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Duck41,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

The Watamu beach is one of the most facsinating beach in the world. it was recently voted the best beach in Africa by CNN Travel.

During the Kuzi monsoon period between April and August; Watamu experiences stronger than normal winds and receives sea grass deposits on the beach. As this area is a United nations biosphere and National Marine Park, removal of the grass deposits from the beach is not possible. However, there are always clear areas dependent upon the wind and tides and Hemingways Watamu's water based activities such as snorkeling and canoeing are still scheduled. The dhow cruise as well as beach activites at Mida Creek are not interrupted either.

The beach is on the Marine park thus it is the best snorkeling spots on the Kenyan coast, and the fishing experience is remarkable.

I hope we are hosting you again soon.

Thanks and regards,
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
196 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Hemingways Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hemingways Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing