We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay on Kenya Coast”
Review of Hemingways Watamu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay on Kenya Coast”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hemingway's is simply perfect. It is quiet, comfortable and the staff are attentive without being obtrusive. Food is first class. A great place to relax, on a sun bed if that's what you like or just sitting and watching the world go by, at a suitably leisurely pace. Deep sea fishing is very much one of Heningway's raisons d'etre, and although a bit pricey it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience for many people. Beware - it's addictive!

Room Tip: All rooms are air conditioned and very spacious and comfortable, so not to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, General Manager at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Melanie B,

Thank you for the kind words which we have shard with our team.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

We keep updating our guests on our facebook and twitter pages so please follow us and we shall keep you updated on what is new.

Facebook page: Hemingways Collection
Twitter page: Hemingwayske
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    51
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
76
75
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Great weekend stay at a beautiful hotel. The rooms were large and very clean. The staff was very helpful and attentive and several excursions were included in the price such as a trip to Gede ruins, Malindi town, and Watamu Marine Park. The guides we had for the snorkeling trip to Watamu Marine Park were excellent and we were fortunate to see quite a variety of fish. The food was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, General Manager at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Jason L,

Thank you for the kind words which we have shard with our team.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

We keep updating our guests on our facebook and twitter pages so please follow us and we shall keep you updated on what is new.

Facebook page: Hemingways Collection
Twitter page: Hemingwayske
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort in Watamu where rates include large comfortable rooms and breakfast/dinner, plus shuttle to various excursions such as Gede, Malindi, old town, and snorkeling. I thought it was much nicer here than Turtle Bay, though a bit more expensive (for residents). Non-resident price is about the same and quite expensive in both places. Restaurant is international style but delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingways C, General Manager at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Jon1796,

Thank you for the kind words which we have shared with our team.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

We keep updating our guests on our facebook and twitter pages so please follow us and we shall keep you updated on what is new.
Facebook page: Hemingways Collection
Twitter page: Hemingwayske
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The people who work here made my stay fantastic. From the moment of arrival straight through to departure, the staff were 5 star! The rooms were comfy and rather large. The air conditioning almost worked too well. My friend and I had some enjoyable dinners and the dining staff- Hassan, Erastus, Francis- completely stole the show. The pools, the snorkeling and the ocean kayak were perfect enhancements. A few things I didn't like: the bathrobes in the rooms were a bit thin and reminded me of laboratory coats. Also, the seafood pizza left me feeling underwhelmed. No matter, the view of the warm Indian Ocean, the friendliness of the staff and a comfy bed were all that truly mattered. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

After a thirteen year break and with two children and two grand parents we were delighted to re-attend Hemingways which has jut got better. The staff were outstanding, especially with our two little boys (big thank you to Matthew and George who have celeb status in Lancashire now). The room was great and the food met all expectations.

Thank you to Hemingways and all your staff for a truely memorable family holiday. See you soon.

Room Tip: Air con a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We spent five nights at Hemingways in the middle of an eleven night stay in Kenya and we loved every moment. The rooms aren't huge but are very comfortable and are certainly not cramped.All of the staff are well trained and attentive and service levels are excellent right from the Manager Malinda down to the gardeners and room maids! The facilities are excellent including a superb gym with an outstanding fitness instructor. The food is generous and high quality and overall it is very good value including transfers to/from Malindi Airport. I can't wait to try their new place in Nairobi and their place in the Masai Mara National Park. GREAT FOR GAME FISHING and DIVING! The hotel doesn't have lots of loud piped music in public areas and there's no TV or Audio in the rooms. How refreshing!!! OUTSTANDING PLACE!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A rather long trip from Sweden to stay just for a week, but worth every hour traveling. Very well organised, top service, excellent food, perfect location, marvelous rooms, nice fishing, good diving, dazzling drinks, magnificent beach and royal treatment at the spa. We could carry on praise this hotel til the next time we visit it, cause that is going to happen.

We recommend this hotel to anyone. Hopefully we can bring the kids along next time.
Thank you all for making our stay all that we could ever hope for!
/Jenny & Lars

Room Tip: We stayed at a room in north wing with sea view. Top score.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarsDynesius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#20 of 26 in Watamu
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Property: Hemingways Watamu
Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Hemingways Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hemingways Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing