We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alright,but not as good as it thinks!”
Review of Hemingways Watamu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Hemingways is a fairly good tourist hotel,food is good,staff a bit too tip driven for my liking.There is far too much concrete. It's all OK,but it thinks it's a fabulous hotel,it's not,it's an above average tourist hotel.
In my opinion the real thing is Peponi's on Lamu,superb!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wardleykenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2008

Take an idyllic location and add a plethora of staff whose one aim in life is to ensure that you’re enjoying yourself and you’ve got the measure of Hemingways.

From the utterly charming manager, Garry Cullen, to any of the many chambermaids and garden staff and all the under-managers, waiters and boat attendants in between, you’ll find a smiling welcome and an answer to any query or request.

My wife and I have been twice and we’ll go again as soon as we can. The food is excellent – Omar the chef is at the top of his game. If there’s something you particularly want, just ask. If it’s possible, it’ll be prepared. If you are a deep-sea fisherman (Hemingways hosts international fishing competitions), your catch can be prepared any way you like. If you want sushi, no problem – they have all the extras. Most vegetables are grown on Hemingways’ own organic fields and taste terrific. Ask the head gardener to show you round – he’s a knowledgeable man with a passion for his plants and trees.

High tea is a must. As others have noted, the pancakes are just too tempting. The bar is well stocked and the bar staff great fun. They make a mean margarita and the local beer is a sparkling thirst quencher.

If you just want a totally relaxing beach holiday, the place is brilliant. The pool is vast and well kept and there are always enough sun loungers to go around. If you snorkel or dive, you’ll find the waters clear and buoyant. All the equipment you need is available and the staff at the dive centre next door are all PADI qualified and highly safety conscious. If you’re snorkelling, expect a boat driver and probably two lookouts to check you’re ok.

If you want something a bit more adventurous, ask Garry and his team to arrange a safari. You’ll be in expert hands and they can create what you want individually. Like luxury safari? No problem, they know the owners of all the luxury camps personally. Like to be a bit closer to nature? No problem, they’ll get you a professional guide and porters for temporary camps. Want to fly to the Mara? No problem, they’ll fly you there and take you to whichever camp you like. Prefer to be driven? No problem, their specially-built 4x4s are tough. My wife and I survived The Road to Narok courtesy of one. This is quite possibly the worst road in Africa, where the difference between a pothole and a mineshaft is indistinguishable. It’s one hell of drive and one of the best times you’ll ever have. Don’t do it if you have a bad back.

A word about the rooms. This is Africa, so don’t expect European five star furnishings. You’ll find that they are big, clean and a bit tired. Don’t worry about it. You’ll only be in your room to sleep and you’ll sleep soundly.

And don’t worry about Kenya’s recent election problems. Hemingways and its environs have remained completely peaceful. That’s the way they like it. Ditto with any safari you request. You’ll be fine – Hemingways is not going to put any of its guests in any sort of danger.

Another reviewer on these pages suggested that if there was a seven star category for service, Hemingways would qualify. I concur. Hemingways people are something special, the setting is something special and if you go, you’ll find that you enjoy a special holiday.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank KennyKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

One of the best places I have ever stayed, the food, the service, the beach, the pool ... brilliant! Definately the best staff I have ever been served by. Only downside being probably the rooms, they are nothing special although more than adequate with aircon and all the noraml things. Aparently the new block come next year will be better.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normalBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Beautiful setting on the beach at Watamu, with a marine park in front of the hotel, crystal blue sea and white sand. Food at the hotel really was excellent. Staff were great. Used Acquaventures dive school at the hotel next door which was very professional. Saw lots, even sea turtles, particularly the second week when the visibility was better than the red sea. The whale sharks were visiting but sadly we did not see them. Went on safari with Gamewatchers to Porini Lion Camp in the Masai Mara, recommended for an authentic safari experience.

We travelled at the time of the political unrest and did not experience any problems, we were made to feel safe and welcome throughout the two weeks. The hotel and game parks were quiet, good for us but not good for the kenyan people. Kenya needs and deserves tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mongoose22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2007

Was at Hemingways on a conference organised by my employer. It was amazing, the service was top notch, the food delicious. You HAVE to try the famous Kenyan cocktail, the dawa. I was hooked on the dawas, and so were most of my fellow delegates! I'd definitely go back with my husband, it's a perfect romantic get away

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheTravellerMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

"Relaxed Sophistication" - how true...
Service unparallelled - friendly, efficient, eager to please (but not pestering) staff.
Rooms beautifully presented, fresh flowers every day, all rooms with sea views.
Superb food - huge choice and all freshly caught fish.
Grounds and whole building very impressive, especially the restaurant (get one of the staff to take you around the grounds - fascinating plants and trees!).
Pool area clean, plenty of room for all, and relaxing - no music, just sea lapping 3 or 4 meters away.
Seaweed still covering 50% of the beach but took none of the beauty away, stunning part of coast line.
Fishing INCREDIBLE - recommend a whole day (& not sharing!).
Would highly recommend for English couples.
Take a guided trip into Malindi to see the "real life" - extraordinary culture and very friendly people (trips don't get too busy).

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Great rooms, friendly but efficient service, great food and not too in your face.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
Thank Tsekham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
197 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hemingways Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing