We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hemingways Watamu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

For the second year running, we had a fantastic week at Hemingways. A little bit of paradise on the Indian Ocean. The food was out of this World, the location is superb and the staff were all so helpful and friendly, especially when dealing with my group of young school children. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalzielbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    51
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
76
75
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed here with two female friends and we shared a superior room. The room was good - a double and two singles. The bathroom was large with a bath and a shower, separately. Lots of hot water. Our visit ran very smoothly - airport pick up on time (very unusual in this country!) with chilled drinks and towels in the van. Smooth check-in. We just wanted to relax but there are a number of activities. The staff are helpful and kind. We loved the no kids quiet pool - very unusual! The lunches were very good and we chose to eat there both days. Afternoon tea was excellent and it was so lovely sitting on th terrace watching the fishing trips return. In fact we sat there right until supper drinking dawa cocktails, which were very cheap compared to other places. I've got to say dinner was more than a disappointment - we had a strange Asian fusion buffet and it wasn't good. I thought that there would be seafood available at the buffet as standard. Breakfast was good. The drop off at the airport was good. That said, we were told we would be taken at 4pm. At 3.10pm we went to confirm (again) only to be told that the other bus had broken down, so we would have to leave at 3.30pm. Given we were in our bikinis, this was a little inconvenient. I asked the man if he was going to let us know if we hadn't asked him, he replied yes he'd come to our room and we weren't there (why would we be?!) and then had just left it. We had an excessive time at the airport - you only need to be there 30 minutes before you fly. All in all, we had a lovely relaxing weekend and I would definelty recommend it! Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

had an amazing short stay for my sister's birthday weekend at the Hemingways-Watamu.. from the airport pick-up to the drop-off, didnt experience any glitches. staff was super friendly, service was great, food was amazing.. beautiful beach. loved the ice-cold towels :) .... it is a very cosy place so highly advisable for couples. will miss the chai time!! i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

From arrival (greeted with freshly squeezed fruit juice and ice cold face towels) to departure, the staff are fantastic, service brilliant, food amazing. Rooms are beautifully appointed, we had bath and shower with complimentary lotions and potions! Two swimming pools, stunning beach, free glass bottom boat trip to the Marine Park (obviously you have to pay park entrance fees). Every snack is preceeded by more ice cold towels, public area toilets are airconditioned with individual white towels to dry your hands. It is the attention to detail that makes Hemingways such a fabulous place - don't hesitate, go - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with a view of the beach - heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We started off with 2 nights at the Hemingways in Karen, Nairobi. Whilst the Spa was not yet open, the rest of the hotel is fantastic and whilst there were a few glitches, the staff were quick to remedy the situation. We then moved onto Ol Seki in Mara where we had the most perfect 3 nights and our guide James helped us find 4 of the big 5 and plenty more. We were in Mara during the migration which was simply amazing. To end the holiday we stayed at Hemingways Watamu for 3 nights on the only bad part of this trip was having to leave! All 3 hotels have knowledgeable and attentive staff and they ensure you are left to enjoy your holiday whilst they sort out everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rupesh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I recently stayed in Hemingways Watamu as part of a volunteer group for two nights. The hotel is top class. The staff are very friendly and were particularly helpful with any requests from our group. The managers couldn't do enough for us and made our stay a bit more special than usual.
Go on treat yourself!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Hemingways together with close friends. It was a magical and memorable few days. The staff went out of their way to make this an unforgettable few days and pulled out all the stops for us. This was our fourth visit and Hemingways is as beautiful and as grand as ever! The staff are incredible and the scenery and ambience truly out of this world. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didge28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Property: Hemingways Watamu
Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Hemingways Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hemingways Watamu Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing