We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An all round amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medina Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Medina Palms
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“An all round amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The setting is incredibly beautiful - the beach and turquoise waters provide an amazing back drop to what is a stunning development.

Our villa was perfect; super clean, comfortable and well equipped (wifi, digital tv etc). Very well designed throughout.

We enjoy good restaurants and were really surprised by just how good Medina's was. A clever menu with some truly excellent dishes. The Slow cooked octopus starter was beautifully spiced and a real winner. The fillet of local caught fish was sweet, buttery and cooked perfectly, really really good. The bar serves fresh juices (no carton stuff here), well made coffees and sangrias in the day time and some seriously good cocktails at night. Everything is made fresh - our bartender even cut some lemon grass from the garden for our drink! Try the Watamu Rum Punch made with honey roasted fresh pineapple.

There's a lot we didn't get round to doing during our week stay. The kite surfing, for example, is definitely getting done next time we go.

The people who work there are so so friendly, helpful and this really completes what was one of the most enjoyable travel experiences we've had.

Already booking in our next time at Medina

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    37
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
118
87
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This place is jaw-droppingly good. Its beautiful, set against one of the most stunning and tranquil stretches of coastline that I have ever seen.

The attention to detail at Medina Palms is incredible. Everything has the feel of ancient spice-route architecture, and yet the place has just been built! I had a lovely couple of days there en route along the coastline, and Watamu really is one of the best places I have visited for tropical paradise.

If I had to sum up Medina Palms in three words I would say: luxurious, beautiful, and fun.

Room Tip: If you can, be as close as possible to the beautiful salt water pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmunchenbikkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a spectacular setting and special secret. Luxury in total harmony with it's beautiful environment. Stunning views of real Africa as well as an azure blue sea, great R&R and dining, and the friendliest people we have ever come across.
Stayed for 10 days getting away from the dark English winter and will go back like a shot. Do it!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adiben67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was very lucky to stay at the Medina Palms - just after opening. To sum it all up, for me was breathe taking. During my 6 night stay, I dont think there was a time, when I looked at the time, or felt the need to rush, or didnt think, I wonder when I can come back!

The stunning settings are I felt as stunning as the rooms and all the little extras. The gardens are kept to a standard that I have never seen before, beautiful gardens, plenty of shade if you need it.

The swimming pools are one of the best features, there is a larger pool near the main buildings which is ideal for families, as there is lots of space, then in the lower area of the resort there is in my opinion one of the BEST Infinity Pools I have ever seen. The long lazy rivers, going into the main pools, with the end pool over looking the sea, which is a mixture of colour. You cant really sum it up to be honest without beinging there.

Sunbeds are plenty and in the lower pools, they are set on lovely feature white sand, so you can lie on a cushioned sunbed and pop your toes in the sand! Just what the doc ordered. And of course they also provide you with beach towels too!

I have a lower leveled 1 bedroom apartment, and when i was shown the room, this took my breathe away, the rooms are just lovely, the colours, finishing, the attention to detail was something that has been very carefully thought about. The sofas, spoke sit on me! The large dinning room table with a fully serviced kitchen was great for lunches and i guess evening meals too. TV and satalite TV, too. The bedroom, had a 4 poster bed, and I can safely say it was very comfortable, again a TV in the room, plenty of storage space for your clothes. Lots of plug sockets.

The bathroom was very large, with a spacious walk in shower, 2 sinks, but the best shower gel I have ever had, its the same products as the Spa use which also was fantastic. To sum up the room, the location, the view, it was perfect, just perfect.

The main area of the resort has a bar, which has a calm feeling, the barman are just great, you must try the fresh lemon juice as well as the creative cocktails, my favourite had to be the fresh Watermelon Mojoito! Upstairs you have the resturant which is also set very stylish. The menu has some lovely food choices on it with a good selection of fish. If it wasnt on there, especially at lunch, a side salad was made into a larger portion for lunch with the prawns...yum yum yum

There is also a great Gym, with TRX (Body Suspension), Kettle Bells, some cardio, mat space, great for a workout, there is also a kids club - Nemo's Cave for 2 - 10 yrs, programme hadnt started yet, but looks exciting. THere is also a Surf School, which is great as they have alot to offer, especially with the low level sea, ideal to learn something new.

Definately a winner for conferences, i had a sneaky peak too.

The Spa was wonderful, I had 2 treatments, and the head, back & shoulder was again first class, the products where also very stuttle. Lovely treatment views, and they have a double massage room too.

In all my stay was amazing, the resort is situated on the beach, its ideal for couples, families and groups, the last best bit to say is the STAFF, there are some great people working there, and made my trip very special.

One piece of advice is - dont tell your friends that it is a bit of paradise, let them find out for themsleves :0)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adevil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Everything appears to have come together remarkably well following the stunning opening, making it undoubtedly the number one destination at the coast. In a brilliant location on the beach, the facilities are second to none and the kitesurfing school particularly exceptional, with the service and comfort absolutely making my stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone wishing to stay at the coast for whatever reason, as they have found a way to attract all customers, surely making it an easy, relaxing and entertaining holiday (or even business trip). I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The setting is like something off a holiday postcard; terracotta villas against bright blue pools with the white sand and Indian Ocean providing a stunning backdrop.

The villas are beautiful, simply and tastefully designed and decorated - air conditioning throughout each villa, a fully equipped kitchen and three bedrooms. The villas were meticulously clean.

The restaurant hadn't opened yet (but we went the week before it officially opened so that's understandable), but we were able to hire a chef to prepare three meals a day and snacks in between.

A few of my friends got lovely massages at the spa.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and were accommodating to the needs of people with kids.

All in all, this brand new resort promises to be one of the finest in the area. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Palms

Property: Medina Palms
Address: Plot No. 2 - Mida Creek Road | P.O. Box 18 - Watamu, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#1 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Medina Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medina Palms is perfectly situated on the powder white sand beach of the Indian Ocean in Watamu, Kenya. This ground breaking hotel offers a range of luxury suites and villas, with views over tropical gardens and pools, tree top level penthouses with inner courtyards, and magnificent beach front villas. The hotel offers fine dining at our signature Amandina Restaurant, the sophisticated Long Bar and Star Lounge, as well as our tropical coffee garden. On site facilities includes Tribe Watersports Centre, a fitness studio, the luxury Sakina Ocean Spa offering 5 treatment rooms, state of the art conference facilities and a choice of exclusive spaces for meetings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Medina Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Palms Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing