We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Medina Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Medina Palms
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My Husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Medina and we can't wait to return! The property was simply stunning and the high level of service given by the staff ensured that we relaxed the minute we were driven through the beautiful entrance. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was stylishly furnished, bright and had high quality finishes including luxury bed linen and towels. I have to say that the large four poster bed was one of the best beds that we've ever slept in. Our Housekeeper came in twice a day, once to clean and once for turn down service. Fresh flowers were placed in the lounge and dining area each day. The property was designed well and gave us a sense of space and relaxation. The pool and garden areas across the property were stunning and immaculately kept. As soon as a leaf blew into the pool, one of the Pool Boys fished it out. The sunbeds are more like beds - very comfortable!

There is a gym on site and Saleem the Personal Trainer is very motivating, he actually made us want to go back each day! It also meant that we didn't feel too guilty as we made our way through their various menu's. The Amandina Restaurant served Moroccan and North African inspired dishes, which were just fabulous. The Prawns Pilipili and the Red Snapper were our favorites. The restaurant area is also were breakfast was served and had beautiful views across the property. We sometimes took breakfast in the Coffee Garden, which is also were we had lunch. They served a delicious range of coffee's and fresh juices and they made a great omelet. For lunch, we found it difficult to choose between their fabulous Tapas' menu or a favorite of mine was the fresh crab sandwich with avocado mousse. The restaurant staff provided excellent customer service and were on hand at all times to serve drinks around the pool whilst sunbathing.

Although its hard to leave the tranquility of Medina, it was nice to venture out on occasion. The reception and concierge staff were brilliant and arranged a two day safari for us as well as a half day out snorkeling. We went on both of these as a couple and had no other people in the party, which makes it even more enjoyable. The centre of Watamu is not far by Tuk Tuk, or you can walk there along the beautiful beach.

The Spa is also fabulous the staff were very professional and experienced. We both enjoyed a number of treatments , my favourite being the Hot Stone Massage.

We highly recommend a visit to Medina. It's very easy to get to now that you can fly direct from the UK with Thomson Airlines and it only takes 8 hours 30 mins, so we would also consider going again even if we only have a weeks holiday to take.

Thank you to all the staff for looking after us so well!

Room Tip: All Rooms are fabulous, we enjoyed ours - Number 37, as it was relatively central within the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful 2 week stay here with my wife in January. Medina Palms is a truly magical place. From the moment you enter through the huge entrance gate you will find a warm welcome. All the staff are very courteous whilst remaining unobtrusive, nothing is too much trouble for them. The architecture is stunning - a series of beautifully manicured, terraced courtyards and gardens filled with pools and cascades leads you down to a private beach on the Indian Ocean. The apartment itself was luxuriously appointed with a terrace and lovely views of the gardens and contained everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Facilities at Medina Palms are excellent, we used the gym everyday and the resident personal trainer 'Salim' was great. There is also a fantastic rooftop spa where we enjoyed massages and treatments. A final mention has to go to all the kitchen staff - the food was delicious. There is a lovely fine dining rooftop restaurant with great views or you can enjoy a great tapas menu in the bar. A big thank you to all the management and staff for making our stay such a memorable one. We would highly recommend Medina Palms and no doubt we will visit again

Room Tip: They all looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alchelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights my family and I had the best time ever. The staff led by Mr. Gilbert were the best always at hand to ensure we were comfortable. This was an amazing experience for me, I have visited many other hotels on the Kenyan coast but non measures up to Medina Palms in terms of service. Thank you Mr. Gilbert & your team for taking execellent care of us. We shall be back soon for longer

Room Tip: All rooms have breathtaking views either of the garden or the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My family and I visited Medina palms last December and had a awesome experience and fun filled holiday,I would like to single out the Front office manger a Mr Gilbert Thinji for having made our stay as comfortable as possible.

He was kind enough to always check on us daily to ensure that the chef prepared our meals to that exceeded our expectations, Our airport transfers were on point thanks to the arrangements made by Gilbert

We must return to Medina palms hopefully over the Easter holidays,our gratitude as a family goes out Gilbert,peter the chef and another peter who gave us a tour of premises,we must say the staff are very courteous and professional in their duties.

On a scale on 1:10 ,please accept 10.5 from us. Kudos and keep the good work

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Medina Palms surely is a nice looking place, right on the sea, great facilities. It opened nearly a year ago, which is why I was surprised to see that the service is lacking. Kenya is getting to the point where service is an important element for the entire travelers experience. Gone are the days of high prices - low services and this is what you get at the Medina Palms.

Yes, there are many nice staff, from the barman to the spa, great people, friendly, service oriented. Unfortunately, the manager - tall kenyan guy with year long sunglasses - has absolutely no clue about how to address his clients and how to cater to their needs. Every request was met with a language, tone and body language as if he was doing me a favor... its your job!

Hopefully more experienced managers can rescue this place and up their game... till then, there are better options.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Elzorro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUGUSTFARMS, General Manager at Medina Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review, since feedback helps us to improve.
You state that you stayed with us in January 2014, which as you know is not the case. Regretfully, as we explained at the time, only paying guests are allowed to use the facilities you wished to use. As you were not staying with us, we could not offer you the amenities available to our residents. We would be delighted to furnish you with all the exclusive and luxurious benefits our residents enjoy next time, should you wish to book with us. To do so please email reservations@medinapalms.com.
Our managers main priority is to look after our guests and we take pride in the high quality service that all our staff provide.
The Medina Palms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was astounded by the magnificent tropical paradise of Medina from the minute i arrived through a colossal ornate gate and was promptly welcomed with a glass of cold passion juice and a cold towel. The first day we were the my two children (14 and 16) went kite surfing with Ben (the 3rd best in the world!) while i sat by the pool and enjoyed a refreshing watermelon and baobab cocktail. Later my husband and i enjoyed a magnificent sundowner dhow cruise through the mangroves at Mida Creek. And this was only day one of our holiday!
I am very familiar with the kenyan coast and have travelled from Shimoni to Lamuand back again. Yet I have never stayed anywhere so ideal and beautiful as Medina.
The food was exceptional especially the mangrove crab!
The staff at medina were just delightful and always very helpful.
The incredible Sakina Spa was just what I needed to unwind after the the hustle and bustle of Nairobi life.
I will definitely be going back to medina in August with my whole family as it is unfair they got to miss out on the paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The food here is amaze balls!! The steak is sooooooo good, love the lamb.. Must must must talk about Eric the chief procurement manager who to me looked like he was running the place doing everything. He was amazing and very helpful about what to do whilst in watamu.
Would definately recommend and be back to stay! Well done

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank misskui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.3 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#10 of 26 in Watamu
295 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#15 of 26 in Watamu
63 reviews
1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Palms

Address: Plot No. 2 - Mida Creek Road | P.O. Box 18 - Watamu, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £172 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Medina Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medina Palms is perfectly situated on the powder white sand beach of the Indian Ocean in Watamu, Kenya. This ground breaking hotel offers a range of luxury suites and villas, with views over tropical gardens and pools, tree top level penthouses with inner courtyards, and magnificent beach front villas. The hotel offers fine dining at our signature Amandina Restaurant, the sophisticated Long Bar and Star Lounge, as well as our tropical coffee garden. On site facilities includes Tribe Watersports Centre, a fitness studio, the luxury Sakina Ocean Spa offering 5 treatment rooms, state of the art conference facilities and a choice of exclusive spaces for meetings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medina Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Palms Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing