We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favourite Place on Earth”
Review of Medina Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medina Palms
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Favourite Place on Earth”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have now been to this peice of heaven 3 times and I keep on going back. I feel like part of the Medina Family. From the food, to the drinks, to the people that make it such a special place.

I would reccomend this one of a kind escape to anyone who wants a home away from home.

Fareed K

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fareed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    40
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
120
88
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We found a peaceful serene, a joy to walk with quite warm and pleasant people. The rooms were very spacious and well kept, and the ambience very welcoming. I was there for a team building occassion and the memories I left with are priceless. I plan to visit again and again.

Room Tip: Expect to get a waaoh moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent a magical 2 weeks in February at Medina in Watamu. The service is truly 5 star,
The staff are un believable, thank you Vivian for the wonderful spa treatments.

We stayed in a two bed roomed villa which was so spacious, spotlessly clean and well serviced.
The gardens are so beautiful and the design of the swimming pools is amazing,
We were so sad to leave but will return next year with more family members.
Absolute 5 star.
Sue & Bob K

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is one beautiful place to visit for vacation in the villas or even walk in for a meal or drink. Was there in January with my cousin and friend for a site visit and the staff are amazing. The infinity pool is awesome just disappointed that the charges are too high and unreasonable for walk-ins but we enjoyed the Shisha on the gardens and had drinks. Just an advise put some music at the Shisha roof top bar.

Generally we had fun and a must come again. Kudos.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My folks and I spent Exmas 2013 here. Lovely place amazingly beautiful, the villa are simple yet tastefully done. Family friends, they have a play room for kids that my nephew would not leave for anything. We had the option of having our own chef who cooked up some amazing dishes. The staff were friendly and always happy to help. Food at the restaurant was not all that great and we had one disappointing incidence with the housekeeping staff. That said, I can rate medina amongst the top resorts that I have visited. I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Choose villas closer to the beach sometimes they had live bands close to the bar that would interrup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathiewainaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My Husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Medina and we can't wait to return! The property was simply stunning and the high level of service given by the staff ensured that we relaxed the minute we were driven through the beautiful entrance. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was stylishly furnished, bright and had high quality finishes including luxury bed linen and towels. I have to say that the large four poster bed was one of the best beds that we've ever slept in. Our Housekeeper came in twice a day, once to clean and once for turn down service. Fresh flowers were placed in the lounge and dining area each day. The property was designed well and gave us a sense of space and relaxation. The pool and garden areas across the property were stunning and immaculately kept. As soon as a leaf blew into the pool, one of the Pool Boys fished it out. The sunbeds are more like beds - very comfortable!

There is a gym on site and Saleem the Personal Trainer is very motivating, he actually made us want to go back each day! It also meant that we didn't feel too guilty as we made our way through their various menu's. The Amandina Restaurant served Moroccan and North African inspired dishes, which were just fabulous. The Prawns Pilipili and the Red Snapper were our favorites. The restaurant area is also were breakfast was served and had beautiful views across the property. We sometimes took breakfast in the Coffee Garden, which is also were we had lunch. They served a delicious range of coffee's and fresh juices and they made a great omelet. For lunch, we found it difficult to choose between their fabulous Tapas' menu or a favorite of mine was the fresh crab sandwich with avocado mousse. The restaurant staff provided excellent customer service and were on hand at all times to serve drinks around the pool whilst sunbathing.

Although its hard to leave the tranquility of Medina, it was nice to venture out on occasion. The reception and concierge staff were brilliant and arranged a two day safari for us as well as a half day out snorkeling. We went on both of these as a couple and had no other people in the party, which makes it even more enjoyable. The centre of Watamu is not far by Tuk Tuk, or you can walk there along the beautiful beach.

The Spa is also fabulous the staff were very professional and experienced. We both enjoyed a number of treatments , my favourite being the Hot Stone Massage.

We highly recommend a visit to Medina. It's very easy to get to now that you can fly direct from the UK with Thomson Airlines and it only takes 8 hours 30 mins, so we would also consider going again even if we only have a weeks holiday to take.

Thank you to all the staff for looking after us so well!

Room Tip: All Rooms are fabulous, we enjoyed ours - Number 37, as it was relatively central within the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful 2 week stay here with my wife in January. Medina Palms is a truly magical place. From the moment you enter through the huge entrance gate you will find a warm welcome. All the staff are very courteous whilst remaining unobtrusive, nothing is too much trouble for them. The architecture is stunning - a series of beautifully manicured, terraced courtyards and gardens filled with pools and cascades leads you down to a private beach on the Indian Ocean. The apartment itself was luxuriously appointed with a terrace and lovely views of the gardens and contained everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Facilities at Medina Palms are excellent, we used the gym everyday and the resident personal trainer 'Salim' was great. There is also a fantastic rooftop spa where we enjoyed massages and treatments. A final mention has to go to all the kitchen staff - the food was delicious. There is a lovely fine dining rooftop restaurant with great views or you can enjoy a great tapas menu in the bar. A big thank you to all the management and staff for making our stay such a memorable one. We would highly recommend Medina Palms and no doubt we will visit again

Room Tip: They all looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alchelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.3 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Palms

Property: Medina Palms
Address: Plot No. 2 - Mida Creek Road | P.O. Box 18 - Watamu, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Medina Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medina Palms is perfectly situated on the powder white sand beach of the Indian Ocean in Watamu, Kenya. This ground breaking hotel offers a range of luxury suites and villas, with views over tropical gardens and pools, tree top level penthouses with inner courtyards, and magnificent beach front villas. The hotel offers fine dining at our signature Amandina Restaurant, the sophisticated Long Bar and Star Lounge, as well as our tropical coffee garden. On site facilities includes Tribe Watersports Centre, a fitness studio, the luxury Sakina Ocean Spa offering 5 treatment rooms, state of the art conference facilities and a choice of exclusive spaces for meetings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medina Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Palms Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing