We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medina Palms - 'A Tamu Tamu Place'”
Review of Medina Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medina Palms
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The property is in an ideal location in Watamu with beautiful surroundings overlooking the sea and great hospitality service from staff. The apartments are stunning and spacious with a fully equipped kitchen. The decor is tasteful done creating alot of zen space. I would highly recommend a minimum of 3 nights stay as their is lots to do around e.g. surfing, visit to the turtle bay, diving and tonnes of water sport activities.

Hats off to the management team - see you in August!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0Schemetterling0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I recently spent three nights at Medina with two friends and I only wish we could have stayed longer! The apartments are beautifully and tastefully decorated and cater to all your needs, with a fully stocked kitchen and lovely shared living space to relax when you're not out by one of the stunning pools that run throughout the resort. We had two delicious dinners at the restaurant, but the best experience of all was hiring a private chef to cook for us in our room. For a very reasonable price, one of the hotel chefs will cook a private breakfast, lunch and dinner in your apartment and can go out to pick up the necessary locally-sourced ingredients upon your request. Our chef, Melvin, cooked up several amazing seafood dishes for both lunch and dinner that left us all extremely satisfied. What puts Medina Palms above other hotels in Kenya is certainly the superb service. The managers (Gilbert and Ashraf), receptionists (Cecilia), restaurant staff, gardeners and cleaners were all exceptionally friendly and keen to do anything and everything possible to make our stay enjoyable at all times. We came as walk-up guests in the very low season when almost everything else in Watamu is closed, but we certainly never felt we had to leave the property to be able to enjoy ourselves to the fullest. Thank you and I cannot wait to come back again!

Room Tip: The apartments closer to the beach offer spectacular views over the infinity pool out into the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I really value good customer service and Medina has just that. From senior mangagers all the way to the cleaners. They really do go out of your way to make your stay brilliant. A couple I was with locked their wallets, car keys etc in the safe & forgot the password (their mistake). As it was past office hours the front officer lend them money & got the hotel transport to drop them off to where they had planned to go.

They have villas that have private rooftop jacuzzi, one which is seafront, private pool & rooftop jacuzzi-Great for families /larger crowds. Stayed in the 1 bedroom apartments.

The only negative is their menu is not so great- could improve on having a wider fish & seafood selction.

Room Tip: Apartment 12 & 13 are the best 1 bedroom apts in the hotel. They have a different, more spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bougee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Medina Palms for two nights at the beginning of May and had a fantastic time. The welcome was warm and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

The hotel has a series of apartments of varying sizes, which all look to have cooking facilities and a separate living space to the bedrooms. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the penthouse apartments with its own private balconies and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi and balcony (with sunbeds) were off from the upstairs living area which has big sofas and ample space for six-eight people, a beautiful spacious place to relax that must have been designed to allow for the best of the sea breeze and views. The beautifully simple master bedroom had a large big kingsize bed, television, wifi and large ensuite bathroom - both with another private balcony. The kitchen was connected to a lovely open eating space with huge whitewash ceilings that reached up to the living space above. The cupboards were better stocked than my kitchen at home. If you decide to rent out the apartment with a larger group I would recommend cooking some delicious seafood or making your own cocktails - you have all the equipment there, no costs spared.

Outside there are about three pools all connected by a narrow central pool that draws your eye out to the sea. These pools are large and clean and for those with children there were staff around to keep an eye on them. Down near the beach is a sandy area where you can have your own beach experience without being disturbed by beachboys. If you want the real thing there is a short path that leads to the water. Next door is hemmingways. We went to check it out once for lunch and decided to give it a miss as it looked dated and dark - there was no comparison to Medina Palms.

On to the food... it was great. The prices in the restaurant were comparative with Nairobi and the tapas menu was real value for money - I'm talking 4~5 massive kingprawns for ksh 500 or there abouts! Yummy...

Oh, and the small well stocked bar does fantastic mojitos!

Overall we had an amazing weekend and now know where we will stay when we're next in Watamu.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kilima0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed in February 2014 for a few weeks.
This hotel is absolutely breathtaking. Finally, real luxury on the Kenyan Coast has arrived.
The rooms/villas are impeccably designed and are spotless, airy and bright. A pool runs throughout the entire complex all the way to the bottom infinity pool offering stunning views of the beach sunset. Expect to have paddle pools outside your rooms, with attentive pool boys and chairs so comfortable you'll want to stay all day reading your book and sipping your delicious cocktails.
The wonderful spa might convince you to get up, though. I've never had such a good massage.
The restaurant is incredible as well. Hint - cocktails in the bar will get the evening going and the bar men all are great fun. Then head up for your meal and the girls upstairs will look after you very well. Try the Prawns pili pili, Moroccan chicken with chickpeas or fresh fish of the day, usually red snapper caught on one of the boats a few hours beforehand.
The paddle pools and kids club make this place great for the kids, with the hotel staff very attentive to the children. Don't expect them to be sitting around not doing much; they will be taken on educational trips to the turtle reserve down the beach!
When I was doing work in the business centre, they were very happy to serve me my dinner at my desk as my conference call ran over time. Seriously accommodating!
The attention to detail in this place is remarkable, especially when you think that it opened less than a year ago. The entire staff group are just fantastic. I racked my brain to find some sort of constructive criticism, but can't think of one. Stay here, and be happy.

Room Tip: Get a room further down the plot, closer to the beach, for the best views and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Alexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I travel a lot for Tourism Industry related work in the region and I vote Medina Palms as the epitome of finesse in East Africa.

This elegant property has 1,2,3 en-suite bedrooms Suites/Villas, separate open plan kitchen, living and dining area, terrace, pools and veranda opening onto the gardens or Ocean depending on location. I love the architectural design, the finishing, the set up and attention to detail in what was clearly a well thought out plan.

Mr. Thinji and his team did everything possible to ensure that my visit was well organized and coordinated allowing us to see the whole property within our short stay. I highly recommend this property for those looking for style and elegance in Hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaturiMatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at MP for a week including the Easter weekend and was stunned by the superb service and incredible attention to detail by the staff. The GM is subtle and unobtrusive and an inspiration to a thriving team, successfully ensuring the hotel runs like clockwork. Upon his recommendation, we indulged in a dhow trip which we certainly did not regret. The food was fantastic and the choice of entertainment was a real treat. Friends of our's took advantage of the spa menu and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The bar was a hive of activity .. watch out the barmen are very convincing at 'try one more incredible cocktail '! We didn't bring our children on this trip but with the abundance of pools, kids play centre, and water sports, we will certainly be back in the Summer with them. This place is the absolute essential beginning or end to an East African safari and without doubt has no competition on the Kenyan Coast. !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.3 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#7 of 26 in Watamu
291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Palms

Address: Plot No. 2 - Mida Creek Road | P.O. Box 18 - Watamu, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#2 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £147 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Medina Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medina Palms is perfectly situated on the powder white sand beach of the Indian Ocean in Watamu, Kenya. This ground breaking hotel offers a range of luxury suites and villas, with views over tropical gardens and pools, tree top level penthouses with inner courtyards, and magnificent beach front villas. The hotel offers fine dining at our signature Amandina Restaurant, the sophisticated Long Bar and Star Lounge, as well as our tropical coffee garden. On site facilities includes Tribe Watersports Centre, a fitness studio, the luxury Sakina Ocean Spa offering 5 treatment rooms, state of the art conference facilities and a choice of exclusive spaces for meetings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medina Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Palms Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing