We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Mawe Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Palm Beach Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$151
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$195
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Medina Palms(Watamu)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
593
248
69
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
248
69
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach boysfun base teamwater pololamu roomkids clubpizza restauranttunda toursquiet poolrock poolsa la carte restaurantweaver birdspancakesfunbase teammain pooladult poolevening entertainmentnothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

its the best holiday iv ever had in my life ;iv been four times and cant wait to go back ,all the staff are brilliant they look after you like royalty,and all the locals out side are just the same cant wait to go back

Room Tip: we stay in the beach front rooms they are lovely
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annemarie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

5 of us including two children went to Turtle Bay from 12th Feb to 20th Feb it is a job to describe hotel it is it is not possible to give a star rating in a british sense, but staying there is a five star holiday, boats,pedalows,scuba diving, childrens club etc you name it it is there, two pools one quite one. I see some people appear to believe so called returners get best service, thinking this might be true I spoke to two couples who seemed to know the manager thinking that they were returners both couples were there for the first time but stated they would be back. It was a very good holiday. Children liked the on demand snacks and pancakes. No worries over security.

Room Tip: Ask for connecting rooms if you have children. If you like very quiet area go for rooms around quiet swimming pool, sea fron rooms would be best for people with severe walking problems
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CGHAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were first time travellers to Turtle Bay and we can say that at all times we were treated like royalty. We can't express how warm and welcoming all the staff were. We never had a problem finding sundbeds, even after a lie in & there was never a problem selecting a table with a relaxing view to dine. Yes, the beach boys are there but, they are so friendly and i f you really do want time to yourself - just say so - and they will leave you alone. We had a wonderul Safari - Tsavo East & West - seeing such wonderful animals in their natural habitat staying at the Aruba lodge and the very luxurious Severin lodge - wow!. At the hotel most days we would take a bike ride out of the hotel - fthere is a little Italian Ice cream shop in the local village - worth a visit or 2! There are lots of local Orphanages that are in need - so do pay a visit and take what you can - paper,pens etc. The Happy House is really helping local children.
We really can't praise the staff & manager at Turtle Bay enough - we so enjoyed our holiday and hope that soon we will be able to return and take our family -because it is so good! No it hasn't got TVs' in the rooms - but we thought that was a good thing - very relaxing!
We flew direct with Thomson from Gatwick, the transfer time was nearly 3 hours but worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank debbieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed here in Feb '11. Booked through Thomas Cook who flew us from Manchester on Monarch. Those were the days when the flight originated from Gatwick then flies to MAN and onward to Mombassa (not sure if they still do this - but it was no different on Thomson). The procedure reverses coming back. The flights were TERRIBLE! That amount of flying budget style is the pits. FYI the flying time is over 10hrs!! I'd suggest using Thomson as they have personal telly's on their long haul. Tip - dont pay for a meal on Monarch, everyone gets fed regardless. The transfer from the airport was also very long - circa 3hrs.
But aside from the getting there, this resort is marvellous. I really cant fault it. We were given a sea vew room, which was spaceous, netted bed, balcony, personal safe plus bath and shower. The food was good - lots of fresh fruit (stuff we pay a fortune for here in the UK) plus they always had something different. One lunch they had BBQ chicken and it was delicious (lets face it chicken is by no means exotic, but a simple marinade and onto the BBQ and you got people going back for more, this is what TB does well). Food was mainly local - so no bacon or ice cream. Tip - they have a dress code in the restaurant - no flip flops or T shirt at dinner, so pack some golf shirts plus taylored shorts.
We had some windsurfing lessons there (pay extra) and that was well worth it. We used another dive operator up the beach - reason; we couldnt establish contact with the TB guys before departure, they simply didnt respond. We were impressed with the diving.
We'd go back but not for a week - the travel time to holiday time is just not worth it for a week. Best combine safari plus TB on a two week break.

Room Tip: sea view are the best but can be noisy from disco at night
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pompies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just got back from my third time at Turle Bay.

I love this resort! Despite the warnings about travelling to Kenya, there is no reason to worry about any of the resorts in Watamu. The locals are very friendly (If a little pushy when it comes to selling you stuff), and have a fantastic sense of humour. I felt very safe both in the resort, on the beach, and walking round Malindi. There is plenty to do at Turtle Bay, with a dedicated activities team who organise stuff every day to keep the kids and childlike adults busy. What always strikes me is the attitude of the staff. They have a genuine desire for you to enjoy Kenya, and are very helpful. The manager Damien spends hours and hours walking around chatting to guests and makes everyone feel as if they are royalty.

It isn't the most polished of resorts, but this is Kenya.. You have to put up with the odd power cut and so on.

If like me you are a bit of a party animal, then get a tuktuk to Kalahari niteclub. It is great fun!

Room Tip: Club rooms up near the road can be noisy from the bar Pole Pole over the road... Didn't bother me as I was in there most nights anyway!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews