We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolutely brilliant week!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Bay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Tadworth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolutely brilliant week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We've just returned from a week's stay at Turtle Bay and had an asolutely brilliant week! We were a bit worried after the high of a week's safari in the Serengeti and Ngorogoro crater that the week on the beach would be a bit of a let down - nothing could be further from the truth. We never had a spare minute between snorkeling, hotel activities and tours - but without doubt the highlight was the friendliness and desire of the staff to make sure you had a fantastic holiday. We will never forget them and can't wait to go again! We were particularly surprised by the very high standard of food and there's no comparison with the likes of Dominican Republic.
The boat trip to the coral reef is unbelivable and we have never experienced such variety and numbers of fish - but there's good snorkeling to be had from the hotel beach as well, but you do need to ask the locals where there are some specific outcrops of coral where you can have snorkeling of nearly the same standard as the Maritime Reserve.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    225
    60
    20
    20
See reviews for
303
334
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having visited Watamu several times since 2009 Turtle Bay is the place for us, the hotel is clean the rooms are excellent and the staff are always there to help. We ate out a lot but, when we stopped at the hotel to eat the food was great. Will most certainly be back soon. Thanks Daimion

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

long way out of mombasa 3 hours travelling so only go if your stopping a week or longer.
my aircondioning was that loud could not leave on. food and activities for kids looked good.
very little to do around watuma, beach ok, sea not marvelous for swimming seaweed everywhere and not very deep.if your a couple stay away from kids club area. everything ok but for me only stopping 4 nights not worth it stay nearer mombasa

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are next to kids club go the other side for a bit of peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utopia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I visited TBBC in 2008 and the memories are still fresh. I must admit at first I was apprehensive because I took this holiday solo and my greatest fear was that as a BLACK female checking into a hotel at the coast I would be mistreated. BUT WOW! My fears were very quickly dispelled right at the reception as we were checking in.
First the pick up from the Malindi airport by the TBBC courtesy van was a plus already, then the quick check in at the reception followed by clear instructions on what to do at what time and where to go for dinner etc.
To be honest the rooms were much better than I expected and better than the pictures I had seen. Anyway the room I got was superb as I could see a bit of the pool area as well as a bit of the beach. I wish I could remember the room number so that I ask for the same exact room since I plan to go again.
The idea to have public water dispensers at every floor is fantastic. It is better than the miserly little bottles of water most hotels give. The Coast is hot and it is necessary to keep hydrated at all times even at night.
The food was good although there was a day it was rather bland.
The only thing I found very disturbing was that the hotel staff(Cooks, waiters) were working 24/7. The fatigue was showing in their faces.I DO NOT WANT TO BE SERVED BY A GUY WHO SLEPT FOR ONLY TWO HOURS! I also found that the cleaning staff and the grounds staff wore torn clothes and shoes! That was a real setback for me and being a journalist I was almost tempted to expose this in the local papers.
I hope TBBC management reads visitors comments on TripAdvisor and they take action on things like these.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, like 2nd or 3rd floor and with a beach or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Second time at turtle bay went on the 8/10/12 and came home 27/10/12.Loved the place first time and incredibly it was even better the second time around.Stayed in the family rooms this time spacious and clean.The staff make this place Mike,Rama,Alex,Kennedy,Hamis,Ratibou,Kadenge to name a few all brilliant nothing is to much to them.Go outside the complex on the beach the shops do some bartering meet the beach boys,organise trips with them Syrus,Rooney,Dennis the menace,James Kadinge all great fun trying to make some money but really helpful.Going back again 1 day hopefully.Great place to stay,absolutely brilliant staff(weathers was good aswell)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We just spent a great week in Turtle Bay beach resort. The staff were all very professional and friendly. The kids club was great, the pool hours of fun. The beach really beautiful. The food excellent...red snapper, king fish, calamari. See you all next year!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ohdearFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJUBLJANA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

After a great safari in Masai Mara (Marble travel agency from Nairobi) we spent a week in this really beautiful resort. It was even better as we expected by reading the reviews. From the moment we arrived we were treated as special guests, Nancy our wedding coordinator has arranged an unforgetable wedding and we received un upgrade to the best Lamu room near the quite swimming pool and near to the beach. Also all the staff were professional and very nice. During our stay we visited the Massage saloon where we had 45 min very high quality massage all body only for 1.000 kns (10 eur). Sabrina has made very special and very beacutiful wedding hairdres for both of us, don't hesitate to visit her.
The food was good, we loved the pizza place and afternoon snacks (mini beef steak with french potatos - very njami..). The resort is big and well maintained. Every night we joined some special show or just disco dance near the pool after dinner. The hotel beach is nice and comfortable, so we didn't use the public beach (there is a lot of local excursions sellers which "attacks" you the moment you cross the border hotel/public beach).. If you leave the hotel by yourself, be sure you will catch attention of the local tour/seller provider right away:). Actullay it's best to go along with it, beacuse if you tell him to go away you will get another "guide" right away.. Give them some change (400-500 shillings) and you will receive good information about everything you want.

We highly recommand this resort to everybody and we hope to come back!

PS if you want a special treat, visit the resort during the low season (jun-sep) beacuse weather conditions are great and the resort is not crowded.

Natasa & Tomo

Room Tip: We sugest Lamu Room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANASTASIA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Property: Turtle Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Beach Club Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing