We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday of a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Newton aycliffe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We went on a family holiday with a group of 11 comprising of three generations and enjoyed a once in a life time experience of the amazing country of Kenya! The hotel facilities were second to none, the staff at the hotel made all of us from the children to the elders feel extremely welcome, taking particular time to learn our names (and what time we'd usually want a beer bringing round!)
We all participated in morning walks into the village or onto the beach, which were ran by the hotel staff and very informative. The quality and range of food available from the two restaurants was enough to sufficiently please all of our tastes, you could never go hungry! All in all it was our holiday of a lifetime. If asked would we use the hotel again, definitely a resounding yes!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    235
    63
    20
    21
See reviews for
315
338
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is located around 150 minutes from Mombasa airport on a white sand beach (albeit with some seaweed which cannot be cleared as it’s protected) on a nature reserve at Watamu. Food is mostly buffet style three times a day and caters for all tastes. Good quality snacks (e.g. steak and salad) are also available on request. The Pizza Garden restaurant is available for both lunch and dinner but a reservation is required for the latter which is easy to do and is located next to the Weavers Nest Bar with the pretty yellow birds and fish all nearby for amusement. Drinks are all inclusive and of reasonable quality. Wi-Fi is available at around £4 for 24 hours of usage which can be logged out of thereby enabling it to last for over a week. We had two interconnecting Lamu rooms close to reception which were light and airy with fan, air conditioning, balcony, bedroom, bath and shower. Mosquito nets are present which are arranged during a turn down service on request when the room is also sprayed if required. Monkeys, lizards, yellow weaver birds, a grey heron and large spiders (and snakes too apparently!) are also present in the grounds! Bar service is good and available at your subbed from Khamis (Hamish), Ratibu and Karenge who were all excellent. Entertainment is mostly provided by the Fun Base team. There are daily activities such as beach and village walks, darts, table tennis, water polo etc and with night time activities carried out by acts from outside such as acrobats, African bands and choirs. Many nationalities stay here, local people, Europeans and Americans. The diversity makes for a nice atmosphere. We stayed during late August and the weather was fine and dry with a cooling breeze. The hotel was only a third full which was a bonus as there was a great vibe without it being crowded. There are beach boys who will try and sell you things on the lower section of the beach. They have a uniform of chino shorts, white shirts and name badges. They want to sell you small personalised carvings and bead bracelets and get you to book boat trips with them. Do not feel intimidated by them; it's ok to say no politely but firmly to them if you wish. They are just trying to make a living. There are many repeat visitors here and several people I met were on their sixth or seventh visit. This is testament to the service and atmosphere at this hotel. If there are items you do not wish to take home it is fine to gift them to staff and locals if they would like them as some are very poor but be sure to write a short note so hotel security/management understand these are gifted items and have not been stolen. There is a basic beauty salon on site which offers facials, massage, pedicure and manicures at excellent prices and around 1200 ksh or less than £10 for an hour's treatment. I would highly recommend it and it’s located just behind the Fun Base centre. I wrote a short note to Sabine, the manager in place while Damian is away, to provide positive feedback and to make a small suggestion, which she agreed to take forward. She came and found me by the pool and we had a nice friendly chat which is just an example of the sort of thing this hotel does brilliantly. What a gem this hotel is next to the Indian Ocean! It has a real sense of community and heart – I would certainly recommend an extended stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rachwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's that kind of place which keeps you busy throughout. The number of activities these guys have are just amazing. There are 2 different pools, one for families and one of adults (quiet pool). 4 different restaurants, basket ball court, Tennis court, Table tennis, Pool tables, Water sports, Cycling and everything is included. You dont have to pay for anything extra.

If you have a family or going with friends, this place will be a heaven for you.

Room Tip: Lamu rooms are gorgeous and provide you with a quiet atmosphere while the Ocean facing rooms give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our family comprising 2 adults and 2 teenagers stayed here in July as the beach hotel of our beach and safari holiday. From the minute we arrived until the moment we left our whole family enjoyed fantastic service from the entire team at Turtle Bay.

We had adjoining rooms in the Lamu block which were comfortable with large beds, modern fittings and a nice view of the beach. The public areas around the hotel including the pool sides, gardens and beach were extremely well kept, keep an eye out for the some of the amazing birds local to the area.

The poolside and leisure activities were plentiful without being intrusive and were particularly enjoyed by our sons, everything on offer from water polo, sailing, beach volley pool, table tennis etc.

The chefs and their team at the hotel really excel themselves with the amazing choice and quality of food available at each meal, we found the choice to be plentiful, well cooked and beautifully presented. The tea and coffee stations were available all day which was very convenient.

Half way through our stay we went off on a safari which we had booked independently with J T safaris, thanks Julius & Peter for an amazing time!

Thanks to all at Turtle Bay for a great holiday :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faireypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Damian,

Your Turtle Bay Beach Club is without comparison world wide. The number of stars the ratings give TBBC is immaterial

We all know what they don't.

I just want to say thank you to you and TBBC for all the years that me and Isobel have stayed at TBBC since 1998 when I first went as a Royal Engineer on exercise in Kenya. It's either 13 or 14 times since then. I wish we had started going when we were younger rather than as old farts.
TBBC is superb I just hope the knob head Brits don't get to spoil it. Damian my friend, there are plenty of Europeans - German, Swiss, French and of course Kenyans that come to TBBC year after year.
Me and Isobel will try our very best to get back in 2015.
Please give our best regards to Sabine, Jack, Alex and Hamish and to all your superb staff who we miss so much.

Ian and Isobel Hume.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

There are not enough superlatives in the dictionary to describe this experience. Yes it is a third world country but the staff are always smiling! friendly! helpful! the only place we have visited where they were apologising for our long delayed arrival due to problems at Heathrow!!The entertainment team were fantastic including everyone who wanted to participate but ensuring everyone was spoken too. activities were from gentle strolls, visits to the local schools silly team games on the beach pool games quizzes and they even provided fancy dress for a fancy dress evening
There was only one restaurant but much variety and if you did not find anything they would cook special for you. you did not tell them they were so attentive they would notice you have not chosen much to eat and come and offer alternatives
The restaurant is semi open plan and is set in a beautiful garden with colourful birds in the trees and a pond with fish that you can feed afterwards
Children are made so welcome although the rooms are cramped if you try to add extra beds but as you do not need to spend much time in the room it becomes irrelevant. the rooms offer mosquito nets and they come in every evening and start up the candles for insect repellent and turn down the beds a large fan is situated over the bed and flasks of water are left for the evening. Cleanliness was upper most
Its direct access to the beach but there is a canopy over the pool providing shade. Beach beds are providing along with a drinks service and you do not need to call anyone they just watch and as soon as your glass is empty they are there offering to replenish it.
Time passed very quickly whilst there it is a 3.5 star hotel but the welcome and staff deserve 10 stars. fashion shows by the local masai mari do displays small market outside the hotel and along the beach. It is in a remote spot but the hotel provides more than enough culture, entertainment and relaxation but enough entertainment for the children too
It is a not to be missed opportunity

Room Tip: it is inclined and when it rains the paths become slippy so if you have children ask to be near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary_lamb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Right from the moment we walked through the doors the friendly relaxing atmosphere hit us. Smiles everywhere. All staff very friendly and most learnt our names within a day. Exceptional service in bars and restaurants. We spent our days away from the main pool, either on the sandy area Infront of our room or the Quiet Pool, no kids allowed.
The only disappointing thing which we hadn't read in the Small Print was the seaweed on the beach !! Apparently it's around between about August to November when it gradually washes away. When the tide was out, you could walk amongst the rock pools etc but when it was in, the sea was completely full of seaweed and totally unswimable. As mentioned in previous review, no snorkelling either which was a real shame. If you walk a way along the beach, you can find another bay which isnt affected by the seaweed so much and is just about swimable. Would definitely recommend this hotel but avoid the seaweed months if you want to swim in the sea !!

Room Tip: We were in a beach room on the ground floor which was great to walk out of patio doors onto the sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbootsOxford_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
268 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
194 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Property: Turtle Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Beach Club Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing