We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our 1st visit to TBBC with friends who have been several times before. Other reviews say plenty about the lovely staff and good points about the Hotel and surroundings which lived upto and beyond all expectations. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razor512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our first stop of 6 different hotels on this holiday and chosen by our travel company as the main purpose of our visit here was scuba diving, After a 2 hour journey from mombasa was greeted at 2am with refreshing towels and a drink by very friendly staff and taken to our rooms although we requested a ground floor room was given a first floor room after pointing out the error they apologised and said would move us first thing in the morning but we were happy with the room so stayed put. the service from the staff was first class with them knowing your names after 1 day, we loved the quiet pool and waiters came round frequently to check if you required drinks or needed you sunbed moving !! The food was superb with the soups outstanding and plenty of choice. The entertainment put on by the hotel was excellent and the gardens were well maintained and beautiful. The dive school was very well run and onsite and the diving was brilliant with pristine reefs and huge shoals of fish and only our dive boat out there and after going to the red sea for 15 years and seeing it decline rapidly this is the place for diving and very easy with the boat pulling up to the beach for you to get on. In conclusion I would say this is a superb hotel but if you want 5 * luxury and upmarket rooms then look elsewhere but if you are happy go lucky travellers like us you will love it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have just returned for our second visit to TBBC after a period of 8 years. The hotel has not changed from its very good/very friendly resort standards that we remembered. The friendly staff are one of the hotels best assets, and would bend over backwards to help. We found that the lunches in the buffet were better than the evening dinners there,as they tried to have better cuts of meat etc. at dinners and we are more used to light meals. The only drawback that we found from the previous holiday were the disco nights, which thankfully stopped at midnight. We found the boom boom of the bass very annoying if you wanted an early night.
Our holiday was for bird watching [localy],snorkeling and relaxing.In the village behind the resort, we found that from our previous holiday that a lot of building has been going on [mansions -not local houses] and that they have built right up to the "Wishing Rock" in the village [ not the piddly one on the beach] . This meant that a good birding area was lost. However, on the snorkeling side, we found some good spots for coral and big fish which we did not find on our last holiday.
On the whole we might not consider returning and the only reason is the "disco" noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lamu room as they are less noisy from 11 to 12 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Don't be put off by the 3 1/2 to 4 star rating of this hotel. Well deserving of a 4 star.
Food was freshly prepared, a wide variety to suit all tastes - far superior to the usual all inclusive fodder. Bananas to die for!!!!
Staff were attentive, but not pushy. All genuinely friendly.
We only used the main pool, which was clean, not too busy or noisy . We took advantage of the free aqua aerobics & water polo.
We had an ocean front room - well worth the extra - stunning beach and ocean. Attentive waiter service to the sun beds.
Overall, a lovely relaxing stay. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean front - the sunrise over the Indian Ocean is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmileyMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We cannot fault our stay at the TBBC 17-25 Feb 2014. On arrival the staff were very welcoming. Our room was lovely clean and fresh with everything we needed. There was a good variety of food to choose from which was first rate. The grounds were stunning. Our room was spotless every day thanks to Evans. The entertainment was brilliant and a big thankyou to Sylis , Ratabu and all the staff for looking after us so well. Damien the manager was always around and always had time to chat making sure our time at the TBBC was the best it could be. The beach was idyllic and the guys on the beach friendly and helpfull. Our main man on the beach was Nemo. He organised some excellent trips for us. Well worth a chat to.
Well thank you TBBC we will be back to see you again soon we hope.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A large party of us visited Turtle Bay Beach Resort for a wedding from 10 February - 25 February 2014. The hotel certainly lived up to all of our expectations. From arrival to departure, Damien and his team could not have made us more welcome. All the rooms were spotless and were cleaned on as daily basis along with fresh towels and sheets each day. Tea anc coffee making facilities were replenished daily along with a flask of water so there was always a lovley cold drink to have in the room. The food was lovely with lots of choice throughout the day to suit all tastes and all of the restaurant staff, from waiters to chefs were excellent. There were lots of activities each day which the entertainment staff encouraged you to 'have a go' but if you just wanted to chill then that was fine. There are 2 pools in the hotel one of which is a 'quiet' pool but even the main pool where the children could go was still quiet. The beach is lovely as are the rock pools when the tide goes out with lots to explore. The entertainment was excellent after dinner with some fantastic dancers and acrobatics groups coming along to entertain the guests. Damien, the manager of the hotel was always to be seen out and about ensuring that everyone was enjoying themselves. He and his staff organised and catered for the wedding we attended in a private villa and the whole afternoon and evening was fantastic - the attention to detail was second to none. The food was top class and so were the staff. This hotel certainly lived up to the fantastic reviews on trip advisor and we were all very sad when it was time to leave. Thank you Damien for making this whole Kenyan experience perfection!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineKillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday, yes, we part of that awful group 'the repeaters ' !!!!! But why do we return ? Very simple, we first visited TBBC in 1993, returning the following year for Christmas and new year. We spent several more years attempting to find an all inclusive holiday that meet TBBC very high standards, after travelling east to west we did not succeed. It may only be a 3 star resort but it definitely has a 10 star attitude !!! Everyone from the airport pickup onwards greet you with a beautiful smile and a very warm welcome, there are faults but these can all be forgiven due to the overall ambience of the hotel and the service you receive, which is second to none !!!! Isaac and his team provide a menu to meet all requirements and apart from the vast array of sweets are all healthy !!!!! Get out and about and meet the local people, this will enhance your Kenyan experience, you can want for nothing at this beautiful resort !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kweheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#12 of 26 in Watamu
295 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.7 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#15 of 26 in Watamu
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £104 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Beach Club Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing