We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I ever expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After spending two weeks in Nairobi I got to spend a week at Turtle Bay for a conference. The price is amazing, the resort has great security which for the timing that we were there was ideal. We were in a cozy little bubble while we were there. The views are breathtaking and the activities are great! Especially the Bogey Boards and Kayaks. Make sure if you Kayak to do it at low tide, it is such a great experience. The food is great the and after a week of free beverages I want to avoid any sugary drinks. They have Disco every night which is sometimes actual Disco but the better night is when they play late 90's early 00's. The guards are Masai and are extremely friendly and also really cool. Overall just a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Bay Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We agree with other reports about how the wonderful staff treat the guests, how great the food is, and the location could not be better but if this is one of your holidays of a life time please go outside the hotel grounds and visit the local people. Much is said about 'the beach boys' but these lads are great fun and only trying to earn a very small living. They will be only too eager to take you around their village and introduce you to their wife and family, show you the local schools and the shops where the locals shop. There are many charities that help the locals but enquire with the hotel management first or you could get ripped off, but in a nice way. A wonderful place and our next visit will be our eighth. We can't keep away.

Room Tip: Not telling, it might be the one I like.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After having a breathtaking safari around Kenya and Tanzania, we chose the Turtle Bay Beach Club as a resort to recover from the trip.
The rooms were excellent - we had a Lamu room, which was clean, spacious, and with a nice view overlooking the pool and sea.
The food was delicious and varied across the time we were there. Even outside of standard mealtimes you can get snacks (burgers, fries, etc.) or pancakes.
There are lots of opportunities to go on excursions (although we didn't have time to try any) or do activities around the resort. The staff run sports clubs and hire out equipment (a lot of which is free).
However, the most brilliant thing about the resort was the staff. They were absolutely superb, being friendly, courteous, actually bothering to remember your name and favourite drinks or food.

We had such a great time here, and would heartily recommend it! The only downside is that it is a fair distance from Mombasa airport, so transfers took a while. But this was a small thing compared to the excellent resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Damanda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Whilst only a short stay in June this was a lovely lovely spot. As many previous reviewers have commented there are two great features about TBBC. Firstly - The Staff and an amazing lot they are. they quickly get to know you and your preferences and you are treated as a friend right from the off. Secondly - The location. Amazing beach and right on the marine park means that you have great snorkelling and diving experiences on the doorstep. Rooms are clean, comfy and perfectly good for a beach resort. Food is great with plenty of choices and the grounds are immaculate. Nothing is too much trouble for them. unlike many other resorts that pay 'lip service' TBBC really does care for the local environment, the local communities and conservation.

It is not often one can say that a resort offers great value for money but with this resort you can. Dont be thinking it is 5* uber luxurious and boutique with silver service and fine dinning as you will be disappointed BUT if you are looking for a resort that has value, good standards and a positive impact on its surrounds then this is the place for you.

Highlights for us were the free introduction into scuba diving, watching a Hawksbill Turtle being rescued from fishing nets (right in front of the resort) and waterpolo games in the main pool (hilarious fun). I can see why so many people return time and time again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the small supplement to go to the oceanview rooms. - no difference in standards j...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family stayed at the Turtle Bay Beach Club after being on a 12 day safari. It was the perfect place to unwind. Our room was oceanfront with a stunning view. The waves were large enough for boogie boards but small enough that I could relax while my kids were in the water. The room had a good air conditioner and there was lots of hot water for the shower. The "everybody pool" was huge and well kept. The staff were very friendly and enthusiastic in organizing various events. The food was plentiful, but not memorable. In fairness, I had been eating fantastic food prior to arriving at Turtle Bay, so it would have been a challenge to impress me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Bit late in writing my review as i went in January 2014, will try and keep this one short as I've said it all before.

Traveled with a friend with Thomson Airlines on the new Dream Liner Aircraft, more leg room and better seats in economy class than the old Thomson long haul aircraft. Flight went quick and we were soon on the transfer coach to Turtle Bay.

Arrival and check in was as smooth as ever, everyone i saw welcomed me back as if i was family, genuine smiles and hugs which was lovely. We were shown to the room i had last time which was wonderful. Our Room Boy was there to welcome me back and even remembered my name....well done Komora keep up the good work.

Having stayed at Turtle Bay before in April, May, August and September i had never seen the Beach Seaweed free until now and what a beautiful sight it was, powder white sand and turquoise sea paradise....

Food was just as good as ever, plenty of choice, always something for everyone even if your a fussy eater.

Didn't find the Beach Boys a problem, they said hello and knew id been before. I did walk along the Beach with Cyrus whom I've know quite a few years now. Hes one of many earning a living selling Excursions and Safaris.
This is the first time I've managed to go snorkeling from the beach and was happy as i saw Nemo and his family....

The Funbase Team are a great bunch of guys who work very hard all day, they organize daily walks along the beach or into Watamu Village, Volley Ball, Aqua Aerobics and much more. Always smiling and making sure the guests are ok.

The Gardeners keep the ground immaculate and do a very good job indeed.

Have rebooked to go back in January 2015 with my family so praying the flights are back on then and the trouble with the terrorist's has stopped. Kenya relies on Tourism and at the moment their all suffering out there.

Keep up all your good work Damian, Sabine and Staff, look forward to seeing you all next year.

Room Tip: Adult Pool Rooms are quieter....
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnorkelQueen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

we stayed at tbbc in nov 2012 in a lamu room top floor which we always like top floor , best thing about tbbc is the staff , best staff at any hotel we have stayed at any where in the world . The beach front is amazing coral reefs within 10 yards of the shore . We did a 4 day safaris with ekea safaris from dianni beach , (see review)
The BEACH BOYS at the beach in front of hotel are friendly and do good local trips , we did mida creek with lunch , at a small village , best food we had , swam with doliphins and snorkeled on the coral gardens ,what a day. Dennis the beach boy looked after us very well , iin fact he saved my other half and our camera gear from falling in the sea.
Went fishiing with HENRY ( beach boy ) caught 3 giant trevally very good price recommend .
Food at tbbc is ok you can always find something you like , every night local entertainers take centre stage , very good , as no tv , and thats nice to get away from that rubbish , and soak up the real atmosphere of tbbc watamu and kenya
very nice no problems and will return

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
196 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
782 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £95 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Beach Club Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing