We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wayne & Michaela Saint August 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wow! Truly a breath taking paradise. The ocean view rooms were lovely, clean and tidy. The views and sound of the ocean everyday priceless! The staff were friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. A few mentions:
Hamish and Ratibu our friendly waiters who went out their way on a daily basis to make sure drinks were flowing whether soft or alcoholic, they would always have time for conversation and a good laugh. Their aim was to make sure your stay was memorable and happy.

Our little ray of sunshine in the morning at breakfast was Martha. Every morning she greeted you with a friendly welcome and a warm smile.

And last but not least our wondrous pancake chef Joseph :). Friendly, charming and eager to please and make sure your happy during your stay.

I would recommend Turtle Bay Beach Club to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday with a clean and friendly environment. I would definitely go back. So thank you to those staff who made our holiday extra special, but thank you to all the staff at Turtle Bay Beach Club you've helped us make some lovely memories we will keep forever :)

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely. We stayed in the ocean view room which truly was breath taking. I would defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent a weekend here. Check in was realky fast and the cold towels and juice really refreshed us all. We were a group of 4 adults.

Rooms were really good and clean. Washrooms had both bathtub and rain shower. Clean and well maintained.

Beach wasnt a very clean one as lots of sea weed everywhere.

Food choice was average during breakfast, lunch and dinner. They could have done better. The snack menu was good and also tasty. Beach side service was good always there was someone coming around if you needed anything.

Poolside was rekaxing and so too was the beach side.

Overall a very well maintained hotel and great place to unwind. Enjoyed the weekend totally.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HuseinE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Turtle Bay beach club to offer a retreat for missionaries from Ethiopia and Kenya. The meeting rooms were cool, spacious, and perfect for our needs (about 40 adults and 15 kids). The staff was first rate - gracious and accommodating to every request, always with a smile on their faces. The Lamu rooms were comfortable and I had a lovely pool view from the room with a view of the ocean from the entry balcony. Both pools were clean and refreshing. Having a variety of delicious foods available (and included in the resort price) was a delightful luxury. We enjoyed the Masai Market and dancers on Friday afternoon! Several water sports and other outdoor options were also included in the price.

We flew in and out of Mombasa, a 2.5 hour drive to the resort. I would recommend the closer Malindi airport for future trips.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PhoebeEastTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have visited this hotel many times and there is nowhere else like it in the world. The staff are fantastic and will see to your every need, nothing is too much problem. We visited in June and despite the warnings from the UK Foreign Office we were going to get here whatever way possible including a 6-7hr wait at Nairobi Airport both ways.
Everything was fine and there were no security worries. I would happily go back tomorrow, we love the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After spending two weeks in Nairobi I got to spend a week at Turtle Bay for a conference. The price is amazing, the resort has great security which for the timing that we were there was ideal. We were in a cozy little bubble while we were there. The views are breathtaking and the activities are great! Especially the Bogey Boards and Kayaks. Make sure if you Kayak to do it at low tide, it is such a great experience. The food is great the and after a week of free beverages I want to avoid any sugary drinks. They have Disco every night which is sometimes actual Disco but the better night is when they play late 90's early 00's. The guards are Masai and are extremely friendly and also really cool. Overall just a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We agree with other reports about how the wonderful staff treat the guests, how great the food is, and the location could not be better but if this is one of your holidays of a life time please go outside the hotel grounds and visit the local people. Much is said about 'the beach boys' but these lads are great fun and only trying to earn a very small living. They will be only too eager to take you around their village and introduce you to their wife and family, show you the local schools and the shops where the locals shop. There are many charities that help the locals but enquire with the hotel management first or you could get ripped off, but in a nice way. A wonderful place and our next visit will be our eighth. We can't keep away.

Room Tip: Not telling, it might be the one I like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After having a breathtaking safari around Kenya and Tanzania, we chose the Turtle Bay Beach Club as a resort to recover from the trip.
The rooms were excellent - we had a Lamu room, which was clean, spacious, and with a nice view overlooking the pool and sea.
The food was delicious and varied across the time we were there. Even outside of standard mealtimes you can get snacks (burgers, fries, etc.) or pancakes.
There are lots of opportunities to go on excursions (although we didn't have time to try any) or do activities around the resort. The staff run sports clubs and hire out equipment (a lot of which is free).
However, the most brilliant thing about the resort was the staff. They were absolutely superb, being friendly, courteous, actually bothering to remember your name and favourite drinks or food.

We had such a great time here, and would heartily recommend it! The only downside is that it is a fair distance from Mombasa airport, so transfers took a while. But this was a small thing compared to the excellent resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Damanda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
199 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £123 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Beach Club Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing