We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed 12 September 2009

What can I say we have just returned from our 3rd visit to TBBC and we had the most amazing time. Simple rooms in a hotel that prides itself on sustainable tourism, with the friendliest straff in the world and great food. The 2 pools are lovely, the beach is fantastic with a cool breeze and ask foir spoarkling white wine and you can't go wrong on your sunbed.

We are planning another trip in February and can't wait. This place truly is paradise on Earth.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineVAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    235
    63
    20
    21
See reviews for
315
338
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 weeks at TBBC in Watamuin August 2009, booked through Thomsons. The hotel itself is set in very scenic grounds and being smaller than other all- inclusive resorts we've been to, was much more personable. THe service throughout was virtually faultless - all staff always happy and genuinely pleased to see you. The bedrooms were adequate - everything worked and everything kept clean.
The food was always good and for a relatively low price the a la carte restaurant on site is to be recommended: don't miss it especially the chowder soup. We hadn't booked a safari until we got to the resort. There is a bit of a reluctance in dealing with the beachboys. All we can say is that our experience was that they delivered everything they promised, which was a better experience and cheaper than others who booked through their holiday reps, or through the hotel. We arranged our safari and a number of other excursions through "FLYBACK SAFARIS AND TOURS" Chris, Simon and Ramos (who we met on the beach just outside the hotel) were excellent and they looked after us throughout: thanks guys for arranging our experience of a lifetome!! We went to the Masai Maa, staying at the Fig Tree Camp (where the standard was high). We included the hot air balloon flight (not cheap but worth every penny.We saw everything except the rhino and it was just the 4 of us plus driver and guide in the land cruiser (see picture).
Get out of the resort and the organised excursions to see the real Kenya. We took a tour of Turtle Bay Village with another of the beach boys. It was the real Kenya - again an experience that will be with us forever for just the price of a few beers, some sweets, and pens.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weredownthepubagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This hotel is staffed by people who believe that their livelihood is dependant on guests having the best time of their lives on holiday. They honestly want visitors to spread the word about the unsurpassed levels of service and genuine warmth that is experienced.

We were greeted ( after a two and a half hour transfer from Mombassa ) with fragrant towels and drinks. After a brief check in procedure was out of the way, we were shown to our light, spacious and clean rooms (322 & 323 ) before being shown to the restaurant area, where a small delicious buffet was waiting for us, even though it was after midnight !

All of the staff are extremely polite, helpful and friendly and some you just plain want to take home with you !

As an example, we asked 'Mike' from the funbase team, what we should do with the clothes, sweets and other items we had brought with us. He suggested we visit a local orphanage and arranged to take us ( on his day off ). We borrowed bikes from the hotel and rode to the orphange and were greeted by happy smiling faces along the route.

The resort itself is quite compact and intimate and the gardens and general area well looked after and full of colour. The beach wasn't at its best at this time of year as the high tides left high levels of seaweed and unfortunately washed away several palm trees and the conical watersports office !

Meals were of a generally good standard, with the breakfasts, curries with fresh naan and freshly made pasta dishes of particular note. My wife particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit as the mango and coconut tasted like nothing you have ever experienced before ! Try the all inclusive menu at the pizza restaurant too, their garlic bread is sensational.

If you venture into the Blue Turtle a la carte restaurant ( not part of the all inclusive deal) you can try delicious lobster, crab and the biggest prawns you have ever seen.

The evening entertainment is a bit hit and miss in all honesty. The funbase team put on a couple of shows, which involved them dressing up and miming to 'The Lion King' and 'Phantom of the Opera' which got more laughs than you would normally imagine !
Other entertainment included acrobats, masai warriors, gospel choir and local dance bands but I think we all enjoyed the disco most of all.

During the day, you can lounge around ( just ask the pool staff to get you a bed and mattress and point to where you want to sit, no problem with reserved sunbeds here ) or join in the games. Its a fairly limited choice each day but a good way to meet people and have a laugh.

We had a three day two night safari to Tsavo East and West and heartily recommend WT Safari's for service and cost. The Kilanguni Serena lodge has to be seen to be believed !

My three children have all agreed its the best holiday they have ever had ( and we have taken them to the Caribbean, Florida etc ) and want us to go back next year. I suppose that is the highest recommendation possible !

Its a beautiful resort, with amazing staff and Kenya has to be seen to be believed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TitanicSnowdonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Two weeks here to chillout after a weeks safari, it was brilliant.
Went all inclusive, and it was ALL inclusive. You don't have to pay for anything else. Food and drink available 24 hours a day.
The Fun Base team organised 'sports' all day and were fantastic.
Rooms were clean and fairly spacious with air con and ceiling fans.
Food was buffet style with quite a good choice, hot and good quality.
Large sandy beach, unfortunately in july it is covered with seaweed, I will go in August next time. Also hotel was full of American christians attending a conference, I don't mind Yanks but they do talk loud, although I never heard them preaching. As they were out 'spreading the word' during most days the pool area was not overcrowded.
The evening entertainment was good, with none of this audience participation rubbish.
Saw four turles being released back into the sea, the wife even helped carry one.
If you Google turtle bay beach club there is a repeaters club for people who have stayed there more than once. We talked to many people who had been there between 5 and 9 times, so what else can you say about the place. I would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seventh-time-lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed in the Turtle bay beach club for 2 weeks in july 09 and apart from the odd bit of rain it turned out to be a fantastic holiday! The decor inside the hotel is beautiful with a lot of attention to detail. The staff are all extremely friendly,happy and attentive. The food is of a very high standard with a lot of choices (including for vegetarians). The highlight of our stay however was coming across Tunda tours and in particular their rep Abdul Rahman, who we booked 2 trips and a safari to the royal mara with and he was just a very friendly, honest, funny, genuine guy who does whatever he can to make your holiday even better!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scoobydoo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We have just returned from Turtle Bay with our 2 adult daughters, neither of whom wanted to return home!

The Fun Base team are absolutely brilliant, such happy guys who were on the go all day, from darts and beach walks from 10am, followed by water aerobics, beach games, table tennis, water polo and beach volley ball through to dancing until midnight each night, with a couple of fun base shows thrown in for good measure. These guys are great fun, looking to ensure you have a memorable time.

Food was good and plenty of it, service is first class, from the poolside to the restaurants, we were made to feel so welcome, how they remember everyone's name from day 1 is amazing.

Booked our safari through Abdul of Tunda tours after reading about him on this site. We booked a 3 day safari to the Masai Mara and Abdul arranged to meet us at Turtle Bay on our arrival. True to his word he appeared that evening with all our documents, and what a fantastic time we had! No minibus safari for us, 4x4 open topped and open-sided jeep which gave us great views of all the animals. We didn't get to see a Rhino, but we did see a mother cheeta teaching her 3 cubs how to hunt, poor little gazelle didn't stand a chance!! Abdul picked us up at the hotel and took us personally to Malindi airport for the safari and was waiting for us on our return to ensure we had had a good time. Also booked a trip to Midas Creek with him and again he was waiting on the beach to help us onto the boat. Stopped for a snorkel at the Marine reserve and onto the Creek where we had a barbecue with Lobster, prawns and chicken before being taken by canoe into the Mangrove. On our return to Turtle Bay there were 2 turtles about to be released. Abdul also took us to the Turtle sanctuary, the Gede Ruins and into Malindi, to the Wood carving co-operative, another great day out. Anyone looking to book a safari we cannot recommend Abdul highly enough. He has his own website just search Tunda Tours. Catchphrase of the holiday became "If anyone can Abdul can!!"

Rooms are very clean and comfortable, again nothing is too much trouble. Pool is spotless with yet again fab service with the boys there to arrange your sunbeds where you want them.

Beach boys are just trying to make a living but be prepared to haggle, they are also very informative and will take you around the rock pools to look for Moray eels and crabs.

All in all we had one of the best holidays ever, "Asante sana" to everyone in Watamu.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Douglas62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Forgot just how far this Hotel is from Mombasa airport, arrived at 10pm after all day travelling from the Masai Mara, we were served a meal in the Restaurant (which had been saved from the evening meal), it was cold and unappetising and none of us were able to eat it. I was a little surprised to find that the toaster that was broken last year was still in place and still broken, there was however a whole dish of cold toast (if this is how you prefer your toast), no wonder there was bread and butter pudding on the menu several evenings. At some point during our weeks stay, the white bread was removed, I assume this was to stop visitors from cooking their own toast and not using the cold toast from the dish.
I agree with another review on this site, during our stay here the Hotel was full with christians attending some kind of conference, they were nostly Americans and often very loud, one morning at breakfast we had to move tables as they were talking so loud about finding God etc, to those of us with no religious beliefs this is both offensive and extremely annoying, not a good week to visit Turtle Bay if you are looking to relax and get away from everything.
As for the beach boys being annoying, they can be, but after visiting their village and schools you can see why they are keen to make a little money. We went to a small school in Turtle Bay and took along pencils and colouring pencils, we also took a walk in the sea with 3 of the beach boys, it was amazing as they showed us all manner of creatures, things we would have missed walking alone, we walked right up to the blue lagoon and beyond, then took a Matatu back with the boys and ended up taking a drink in the Pole Pole bar, Our holiday would not be complete without the beach boys, especially James David and Alex, great lads.
Denise Wright

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrightyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
269 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Property: Turtle Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Beach Club Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing