We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Arrived at TBBC to warm wet flannels & a refreshing drink - this was very much appreciated after been on a bus for 2 hours.
Check in was quick & very relaxed - no queing, filled out forms & had wrist bands fitted whilst sitting relaxing with drink.
Shown to room - had Lamu room overlooking the new adult only pool.
Rooms could do with updating - especially the bathroom, but don't worry you are not in there for long! I understand that the rooms are gradually been refurbished. Bonus of tea & coffee making facilities provided - not every hotel has these. Flask of drinking water provided every day for cleaning teeth but this you can refill yourself from various water stations. System actually works very well as at first I was a bit concerned that there was no fridge. Large safe included in price. Large balcony to sit out on especially first thing in the morning with a coffee watching & listening to the ocean. Air con unit & overhead ceiling fan.
Lovely well kept grounds - some areas the monkeys roam around. Pond area around the Pizzeria nice & quiet where you can sit with a drink & watch the weaver birds & bats - but be careful of mossies especially at night.
Spent most days on the beach as there was a nice breeze keeping you cool. Drink service during the day was very welcoming & efficient.
Pool towels & mattreses provided.
The minute you step off the hotel beach onto the public area you will be approached by the beach boys - some people can find this a bit intimidating but we found them most helpful & interesting to talk to. Go with them to the rock pools at low tide, take sausage to feed the eels. They will show you all sorts of aquatic life which we would never have spotted ourself. For just over an hour we gave them 200 ksh for showing us around the pools. After that when ever we went on the beach they would come & talk but where never really any hassle.
At low tide take a canoe over to the turtle rock - clear area of water in which to swim. Walk around the rock & see loads of crabs.
The food was very good but not a vast array as previous hotels however you did not go hungry. Nice to be able to sit after your meal with a cappucino.
Evening entertainment was a bit hit & miss, but the usual for hotels.
The Fun Base Crew where brilliant & although we didn't join in with everything they came to see you every morning & always remembered our names. Walk with them every morning at 10 along the beach - exercise much needed. Every Saturday you can also walk with them into the village & the Creek - take some sweets for the children. Daily water aroebics, darts, table tennis, beach games, water polo, beach volleyball. Points awarded for taking part in these activities which can be exchanged for items in the shop. However you can also donate your points to be used for the school children which we did.
The one thing which made this hotel for us were the staff. No where have we been were the staff have been so friendly & genuine. Excellent service from everyone - not just the waiting staff but pool boys, security, room boys & front of house.
Damien the manager - lovely chap who we met on our 2nd day, runs a very well organised hotel - long may it last!
Whilst at TBBC we did a 4 day safari which we organised with Glorious Safaris prior to leaving the UK - excellent. See my seperate review.
Hi to Christine & Graham, Tricia & Dick, Louisa & Dean (the honeymoon couple who taught the funbase team a new dance).
Would I go back - hopefully one day. Try TBBC - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiger8MiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2009

This was my 14th trip to TBBC and I would recommend it over and over again to anyone. The staff are fantastic and it's like being part of one big happy family. It's a great hotel and the surrounding area of Watamu, Timboni and Gede are lovely. The people just want to come and say hi and get to know you always with abig smile on their faces. Once you've been here you won't want to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel is FAB, the rooms are spacious, food is always hot varied and plentiful, the Staff make the Hotel as they work tirelessly and always have a smile on there face. Everyone stops to say "Jambo" to you and asks if your enjoying your holiday.
Damian who runs this hotel hs it running to PERFECTION. We went on Safari with Kingi Safais you can contact them by e-mail fornm there website. We paid a grewat price for 5 star safari and Lodge.
Got back 2 days ago and have already booked to go back in 14 weeks.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joolsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Just got back from TB great resort and the staff are excellent they don,t push their trips and will give you all the help they can. My son and I trips out but not with the hotel .We met a man Nemo on the beach and talking to him it turned out that I knew the lady who paid for him to go to school. He is a licenced tour guide and will arrange anything you want from a tour along the beach, safaris . snake farm etc and he takes you himself and his knoweledge of nature and the history of the area is just amazing.you can contact him on the beach or email nemorwa@yahoo.com. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and will go back again well worth the cost. My son had a great time with the watersports team and fun club . Ralph

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ralph_holmes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I don't normally go back to the same place more than once but I would absolutely go back to TBBC. The staff work tirelessly and all with a smile on their faces, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious and clean the food varied and plentiful. I went on safari to Tsavo with Kingi Safaris and they were outstanding you can contact them by email before you get there and book or they are on the beach. We stayed at the Voi Wildlife Lodge which was also spectaular.

So go to TBBC you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinol24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Absolutely loved my stay here. it was me and my other halfs first time in Kenya. we had a 10 day stay with a 3 day safari in the Mara, which we booked with WT safaris. absolutely amazing! a safari is a must! Friendlist staff ever! the Funbase team are great, especially Eric! Lovely amazing beach.. the beach boys arent too bad and friendly enough.. get them to show you the aquatic life around the rocks.. the moray eels are fascinating. Good food always plenty to chose from.. lovely fresh fruit especially the passion fruit.. i ate so many! Good entertainment in the evening.. with some retro music! I thoroughly recommend this hotel.. i would go back every year if we could afford it! The weather in September was HOT!!!!! but nice breeze also. there is a lovely private area on the beach where u can sunbathe on a sunlounger in peace and not be disturbed by the beach lads.. the beach was amazing! i miss it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlecaz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

What can I say we have just returned from our 3rd visit to TBBC and we had the most amazing time. Simple rooms in a hotel that prides itself on sustainable tourism, with the friendliest straff in the world and great food. The 2 pools are lovely, the beach is fantastic with a cool breeze and ask foir spoarkling white wine and you can't go wrong on your sunbed.

We are planning another trip in February and can't wait. This place truly is paradise on Earth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineVAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#12 of 26 in Watamu
294 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.7 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £102 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Beach Club Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing