We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Sun Palm Beach Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Sports Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mawe Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mawimbi Lodge(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Medina Palms(Watamu)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
594
251
69
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
251
69
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach boysfun base teamwater pololamu roomkids clubpizza restauranttunda toursquiet poolrock poolsa la carte restaurantweaver birdspancakesfunbase teammain pooladult poolevening entertainmentnothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Dreading the idea of going on holiday to Butlins albeit in Kenya, I was pleasantly surprised by Turtle Bay. Yes, there are organised activities for those who wish to join in and yes there are kids screaming by the poolside, but you can retreat to the palm tree clad beaches to stare out at the Indian ocean and forget about all that. The food was really good up until New Year's Day when, although you are still paying top dollar, it goes into rapid decline and suddenly the choices disappear and I couldn't do gammon YET AGAIN. All in all though, I didn't have to go shopping, I didn't have to sweat it out in the kitchen, and the drinks are on tap (when the waiter remembered those of us who were on the beach). The teens absolutely loved it and would say it was probably their best holiday ever. We were with great friends and that's all that matters when it comes down to having a good holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windyridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Not long back from 18 nights at TBBC celebrating xmas and new year for the 3rd time which was as good as ever except maybe the entertainment or lack of it and the itinerary for xmas and new year is getting a bit like groundhog day. Those that have been going back for the last 10 to 15 and more years must be going stir crazy. Especially that flutist as we don’t get that at all and tend to go out for dinner when he’s tooting but at new year we had no option - what about a nice African band please turtle bay? We made the most of the bicycles this year which are very safe and a good way to explore Watamu
and burn off some of the lovely food and drink. A big thanks to Joseph Kingoo our cleaner at ocean front rooms and also too many other members of staff to thank for making our stay perfect. It was also good to see more women working in the restaurant and bar area and a big hello to Emily and Christine. Our safari and local tours were organised as usual by Raymond Kingi from Kingi Safaris which truly was a good safari this year, very different from the norm. Thanks again to TBBC and all the staff and may see you next xmas but we might try somewhere different next year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fenceandhedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

just back from two perfect weeks in this fab hotel. Reviews seemed too good to be true, but once there , you realise they''re not . The location is just perfect, and the hotel is terrific. It's more personal than a hotel, and rather like a huge, family run B&B, with the added advantage of All Inclusive! With all the meals and snacks round the clock, it's a case of " so much food and so little time "! We had a brilliant sea view room, overlooking the "quiet pool", and were well looked after by George and Frank on arrival. It is the staff who make the hotel what it is,every one of them greeting you, and asking how you are, every time they see you. Nothing is too much trouble, and they go out of their way to help you. John cooks eggs, in all forms, to perfection every morning at breakfast, and the waiters serve water and drinks promptly at every meal, and clear tables constantly. Erick was smiling constantly, and Hamish was charming everyone with his "cockney" sayings, with a few "scottish" ones thrown in for good measure!! We walked to the village, and met some of the women and children. they were glad to see us, and very friendly. A trip to town to get some souvenirs was enjoyable, a chance to see the local people , and have a coffee. It was well worth slipping some kenyan shillings to the lads on the beach, for tours of the rock pools, and sightings of the many eels, starfish, sea cucumbers, sea urchins and crabs etc that frequent them. Christopher is a mine of information, and can sort out a trip on the glass bottomed boat, or a safari for you with no hassle. The pizzeria is lovely, and you can dine there for lunch or dinner. The buffet in the main restaurant caters for all tastes, and temperatures of the food are checked regularly. We enjoyed two meals at the Blue Turtle restaurant, on site. The sea food platter, and masai steak with pepper sauce are to die for! It's easy to see why people return year after year, to such a happy,friendly place, where the staff go out of their way to make your holiday perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aileen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This was our third visit to Turtle Bay and the first time we have spent xmas itself there. We had 3 weeks and it was interesting how the clientele and atmosphere changed over the time. For christmas there are fewer international tourists and lots of Kenyans making it feel much less like a package holiday resort. A great atmosphere and excellent food. New Year is traditionally a family time and most Kenyans go home to their extended family, but many ex-pats and other white Africans from Nairobi, South Africa and so on arrive. I am pleased to say that the college boy antics we witnessed last year did not take place, behaviour was more restrained and appropraite making it more enjoyable for all. Then in January the British arrive in force! Along with other Europeans. The food changes too, but I guess that's what you pay the Christmas and new year supplement for.
Went on safari to Lake Jipe and Tsavo West - with Kingi Safaris again who were as reliable as ever. This was a different kind of safari which suited me as I have been to the Masai Mara and Tsavo East several times now and fabulous they are too; but this was not about the big 5 and all that but real bush living and no other vehicles for most of the time. Isolation and wildness - so if that rocks your boat give it a try! Being on Lake Jipe among 15 or so hippos is an experience I won't forget! And the birds - fabulous. We also visited Lake Challa and Taveta - a bustling market town. A chance to see more of the real Kenya. which is what I like so much about Raymond Kingi - he can give you a real sense of Africa as the Africans see it, which if you are in an all inclusive resort like TBBC might be just what you want! For more info visit his website at kingisafaris.com

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishaBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I visited TBBC with my husband and parents in October 2010 after it was recommended from friends who had been on several occasions. After a couple of years of hearing 'you will love' we decided to visit and it did not dissapoint. From the moment we walked in to check in and were greeted by the fantstic staff to the moment we left and were waved goodbye, nothing was ever too much trouble for anyone. The staff were truly amazing, they were so friendly, especially Charo and Mattius who work in the pool bar. The food was great, always lots of choice and it was really good. The facilites were fab - especially the adults only pool which was a fantastic addition. The fun base team were always there encouraging us to get off our sun lounger and participate and we attended some great walks with them along the beach and into the village. If you do venture out into the village the locals are friendly and happy to chat to you about their village. The rooms were great too - the only advice I would give is if you want to go to bed before midnight then ask for a quiet room as the fantastic entertainment can be loud - great if you are sitting with a drink in your hand but not if you are trying to have an early night. Overall we loved it, the hotel are doing an amazing job supporting the local area. We would reccomend to anyone and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misss1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews