We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there 3 times in two months and will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Sports Resort
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2011

If you are looking for good and genuine service, a great location, affordable accommodation and food, then Ocean Sports is the place to stay. If you're into fishing, surfing, diving, snorkeling or just relaxing with a good book then you can hardly go wrong!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of March and thought this place was great. We chose it primarily because they had the Aqua Ventures dive centre on site but it proved to exceed our expectations due to the wonderful views and excellent dining.

The bar and dining deck sit on the beach front and made for a relaxing atmosphere. The evening meals in the restaurant were of a high standard and the bar meals purchased in the day were also good, such as pizza, burgers etc.
All the staff were friendly and helpful but at busy lunch times things could be a little slow.

The rooms were set away from the main building in separate bungalows so it was very quiet and peaceful. Each room seemed to have it's own small veranda with table and chairs though these were quite close to the main walkway so not especially private. However the main pool area was nice for lounging around. The rooms were simple but comfortable and the air con was welcomed as it would get very warn even overnight.

Since we were here for diving the Aqua Ventures dive centre proved to be great (good kit, friendly staff) with dive sites typically being 10 - 15 minutes boat ride from the hotel, which was ideal.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

It's a fantastic location, and as everywhere in Kenya the staff are friendly and attentive. We ate two meals which were much better than average. Breakfast was good. But the rooms (we were moved so saw two) are decaying - there is no excuse for a mosquito net with gapping holes. The price is relatively high. The general impression is of past glory being clung to whilst it fades. I am not sorry we stayed here, and wouldn't panic if I had to
again, but wouldn't choose it.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrayMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Ocean sports is defiantly the place to be in Watamu! There is an abundance of activities ranging from, Snorkeling - (Saw everything, great for the kids), Diving - (Do your lessons at the Hotel and then share the experience with the turtles, Rays and fish), and many many more...

The hotel is is frequently visited by many locals from all over Kenya, which is a great indication of its value because who knows better than the locals...

The only draw back was the wait for drinks on some nights, this was manly due to it being the Christmas new year period so the hotel was busy... Although, we found if you sit in the restaurant you have a personal waiter that can get you a drink in no time at all, the walk ins do not have this luxury... Bare in mind though the wait is completely over shadowed by the stunning views and vibrant atmosphere.

Lastly i have to say the food on new years was magnificent, there was grilled lobster, prawns, sushi and many other options on the huge buffet. You also could pre-order your eskey/cool box full of all your alcohol for the night, so you don't have to go to the bar... The party didn't stop till the next day...

Great place and i would recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle20_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We had been keen to return to Ocean Sports since our enjoyable first visit in November 2008. Perhaps because we were visiting in the low season the service was nowhere near as slick as it had been. To say that we were disappointed was an understatement. The service was slow at best. On one occasion we waited for over an hour for the bar staff to locate the cushions for the outdoor seating, and then had to wait longer for them to even consider taking a drinks order, let alone lunch. When the food did come it was delicious, particularly the pizzas. There were mix-ups on the room bookings, resulting in a number of our party having to change rooms several times. Helen, the manager, appeared towards the end of our stay and recognised that we had not received the best that Ocean Sports could offer. She did her utmost to rectify some of the problems we had encountered. We know that Ocean Sports is a Watamu favourite; we enjoyed it enough the first time to want to come back and enjoy the beautiful setting, yet this visit was less than perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

This is my second time to Ocean Sports, after a fabulous New Year there we decided we just had to return for Easter. And it did not disappoint we had a fantastic holiday yet again! The night we arrived was seafood buffet and amongst a full range of fish dishes the superb barbecued lobster was the perfect start. The food throughout the holiday was amazing and of very high standard, with a very good choice.
Helen the manager did a great job looking after us and made us feel truly welcome. Helen and all her team are very attentive, friendly and helpful.
Our holiday was never dull with lots of activities taking place, but equally just as easy to get away from it all and relax in the sun.
I can definitely recommend the Pina Colada cocktails! A great start to a fun evening, with DJ Andy playing all our favourites as we danced the night away. I think our dancing may have been better than our performance at the Quiz Night....but always a fun evening at OS!
Ocean Sports is well placed to explore the local area, we had a great day shopping in Malindi especially in the craft market there. And also spent a couple of days on safari in Tsava at Galana River Lodge, which is simply beautiful.
A huge thank you to Helen and her great team for ensuring we had such a fabulous holiday, we'll be back....!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDeborahJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We made a last minute booking and the hotel staff were brilliant; always helpful and willing. Christmas and New Year were brilliant with a well-organised itinerary for everyone to enjoy. The food is delicious and great choices at each meal. 2 of our party had birthdays and the cakes were just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcestershireSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
155 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
807 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.2 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sports Resort

Address: Mida Creek Road | P.O Box 208, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £76 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Sports Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The plaque on our famous 1952 bar boat states "Ian Pritchard sailed his boat through the reef and staked his claim right here. Cheers Ian!" And so the legend of Ocean Sports was born.Our ambiance is relaxed, friendly and barefoot chic. Frequented by a loyal following of East African residents and savvy overseas guests, many consider this being their second home.Located 20km south of Malindi Airport, within the protected Watamu Marine Reserve, our 30 rooms, suites and self catered cottage overlook Kenya's favorite, white sand beach.Our outdoor, ocean-side deck dinning venue is simply stunning! Freshly caught, sustainable seafood and local organic produce, inspired our French chef, Florian's new mouth watering menu choices. Delicious stone-oven piazzas and a 'daily specials' board, ensure something for all. Nature will nourish your soul! Our 14 acre plot boasts indigenous African fauna and wildlife that includes monkeys, bird-life and night bush babies. Low-tide reveals rock pool aquariums of sea life, crabs and even King George, our grumpy resident Moray eel! Turtles, dolphins and whales are observed further out to sea.Our name reflects our love of ocean activity and adventure. Deep sea fish with our professional charter boats to experience adrenalin hook ups. Blue water dive over sparkling coral reefs, all organized by our PADI scuba centre. Try kite-surfing, kayaking and boogie boarding - the ocean is your playground! Onshore we offer trail-biking, tennis, squash, hokey, beach volley and touch rugby. On weekends our resident DJ entertains all age groups in total harmony.We are "A small, stylish and sociable beach hotel for free spirits and active families in search of Africa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sports Hotel Watamu
Ocean Sports Watamu
Ocean Sports Resort Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing