We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beuatiful place for individualists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Sports Resort
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We loved staying at this resort:

It is an old resort, so the garden is very beautiful indeed
Everyone here was friendly always
Food was very good
Service was very good
Pool area was peaceful and well maintained
The Beach terrace is the most beautiful in Kenya
The guests are NOT all-inclusive football fans and the like, but rather independent travellers, expats and Kenians. So the athmosphere is very easy and authentic.
The new management are making a great difference. The rooms for example are being renovated and equipped with solar water heating.
Just get that darn WiFi working properly ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishnagg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We very much enjoyed having you both to stay and hope we will see you again on your next adventure to Kenya.
You will be happy to know we have finally improved the wireless!
Happy travels and thanks again from all of us here at O.S
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in Ocean Spors for a week 28 Dec - 4 Jan. If you are looking for a posh place, to show off your gowns, expect 20-course dinner, its not for you. This is a place to relax, unwind, go barefoot.
Exellent for kids and teenagers.
New Year party was a bash. It was going on till 7 in the morning, and started again at midday.
And it wouldn't break your bank account. too.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NairobiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

I just wanted to thank you again for the review and say how happy we were that you enjoyed the New Year Party! Nairobi isn't far, hopefully we will see you down here soon.
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Less hawkers on the beach is a plus....the hotel could do with a bit of a facelift though. The rooms are basic, we had a major problem with the airconditioning which refused to work, and in the end after some strong words, they changed the unit, problem solved. The staff try their best, but are completely overworked and inundated when the place is taken over by non-residents, who come in on a regular basis and take all the available tables so that hotel guests on one particular evening are reduced to standing on the beach for their drinks as all these locals have been camped out on the deck since about 3 p.m. I do appreciate that the hotel makes a lot of money off them, but they need to remember that they have resident guests as well. Service was spotty at best, with one hand not knowing what the other is doing, unless you got one of the more experienced waiters. The pool was a haven of peace away from the people colonising the deck, and the staff there were good - but again the pool area needs some work. All in all I would say the hotel needs a makeover. With all the fruit there is in Kenya, you couldn't get fresh fruit juices, had to keep nagging for fresh mango or pawpaw at breakfast, and considering you are at the beach, a distinct lack of fresh fish. There was no a la carte menu at all for the time we were there, so in the evening it was either a whole buffet or pizza, lunchtime lots of fried stuff, no sandwiches or snack available. If you didn't want a buffet in the evening, and don't care for pizza, you're a bit stuck...
Ocean Sports is a misnomer as well - they don't offer any sports! No sailing at all,. big mistake. If you want to go deep sea fishing or diving then there is a company attached to the hotel offering those two activities, oh and kayaking as well. We first visited this hotel about 40 years ago, it was a whole lot better then. The beach needs desperately to be tidied up, plastic bags, bottles and huge amounts of seaweed - what does it take to rake that up in the mornings before the guests get out there?
I would say avoid it at New Year's Eve, (unless you go for that kind of mayhem) its madness, and the disco goes till 7.30 a.m. on New Years Day, and no matter where your room is you can still hear the noise. During the 'holiday season' there are discos EVERY night, so no peace, and the whole place turns into a 16-25 club with way too much drinking.
We shall not be returning there at that time of the year again, but it would be nice to go sometime when there are no discos, no fishing competitions and the residents can have the place to themselves.

Room Tip: the further away from the main building the better, get away from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you for your review. All of us at Ocean Sports are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. The Christmas and New Year Holiday is our busiest time and as you point out, our bar and restaurant is very popular with local residents. We always try and give priority to our hotel guests and I am sorry if you felt this was not the case. It is of course good to hear your feedback and we will do all we can to make the necessary improvements. We hope that you will come and stay here at Ocean Sports again, the rest of the year is far quieter and I am sure you will enjoy a very relaxing holiday.
Thanks again for your review,
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Ocean Sports resort was ok but nothing too special.
I found the fact that there were so many people trying to sell things and hassle us on the beach was unfortunate. It made us not want to spend any time on the beach. It is a great shame that the hotels do not try to provide some security to protect their guests from being hassled and even threatened, right in front of the hotel. The beach is a great asset but it is not pleasant to use because of this, and you do not feel safe there after dark.
The food in the hotel was ok, but nothing special, seemed strange to me that despite being next the ocean and seeing the fresh fish coming in from the fishing boats every day, there wasn’t more fresh seafood on the menu, it was mainly just fried fish, and chips with everything.
Service wasn’t always great.
The room was basic but clean and pleasant with a nice view of the ocean.
The swimming pool area was a bit scruffy and hadn't been looked after very well.
They brought coffee to the room every morning, but just instant coffee and a flask of hot water, which seemed strange in a country reknown for its excellent coffee. It really wouldn't be that hard to bring fresh brewed coffee if they are going to bother with it at all, it was little things like this that generally gave an impression that they didn't really care to make the extra effort. Another example was that the hotel information said there would be bottled water supplied in the rooms (there wasn’t).
Not sure what the Ocean Sports are that you can do through the hotel, there is a Aqua ventures scuba shop next door but that is a separate enterprise to the hotel (and is fantastic, by the way). You can arrange fishing and boat trips and kayaking, but again, not through the hotel just nearby.
One day I overheard another guest complaining that the hotel "had gone downhill" and whilst I never saw what it used to be like I can imagine that it is true as it did seem to me that it could be much more impressive a place if they looked after it better and played to their strengths.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tm2982000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not have the most enjoyable stay here. My husband and I took over the management in December last year, a few months after your visit. We are doing our best to make improvements and have used your review to guide us. I hope that you can give the place a second chance as I am sure you will have a much more memorable and relaxing stay.
Best regards,
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

i love the water sporting activities that they offer, scuba diving, snorkelling and boat trip with captain andy,they have beautiful accomodation with an old vintage setting and their food is great and the ambience is serene.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I felt that the service was a bit half hearted. The food was rather limited especially for a vegetarian. The rooms were fine but very basic without phones or any room service. There was no problem with hot water but that was probably because there were not many people staying. The gardens could really do with some attention. We often had to go and find our own towels by the pool and find someone if we wanted to order a cold drink.

Ocean sports make some effort to keep the beach clean of plastic waste which is appreciated, further up the beach resembles a recycling centre.

I think overall that the hotel was overpriced, we were on half board and without extras the cost was £1800 for six nights, there were four of us for the first three nights and we were in one room rather like a dormitory and two rooms when an extra family member arrived for the last three nights.

I enjoyed the stay but felt over all it was a bit lack lustre.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all quite similar simple and clean but not a place you would particularly want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you didn't have the most enjoyable stay here at Ocean Sports. I wanted to let you know that my husband and I took over the management of the hotel a few months after your visit. We have made many improvements and hope that if you are ever in Watamu again you will give the place a second chance. I'm sure that you will have a much more memorable and relaxing stay, and hopefully notice a positive change.
Best regards,
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Always visit Ocean Sports for bar drinks and food on our vacations to the coast. Attracted by the relaxed atmosphere and stunning location right on the sea at Watamu. Nothing better than a cold "White Cap", Samosas and local "Fish & Chips" are great from the snack lunch menu.
Good security measures in place when we visited in late June. The Sunday "Curry buffet" also proves popular!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.6 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
284 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.7 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sports Resort

Address: Mida Creek Road | P.O Box 208, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £76 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Sports Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The plaque on our famous 1952 bar boat states "Ian Pritchard sailed his boat through the reef and staked his claim right here. Cheers Ian!" And so the legend of Ocean Sports was born.Our ambiance is relaxed, friendly and barefoot chic. Frequented by a loyal following of East African residents and savvy overseas guests, many consider this being their second home.Located 20km south of Malindi Airport, within the protected Watamu Marine Reserve, our 30 rooms, suites and self catered cottage overlook Kenya's favorite, white sand beach.Our outdoor, ocean-side deck dinning venue is simply stunning! Freshly caught, sustainable seafood and local organic produce, inspired our French chef, Florian's new mouth watering menu choices. Delicious stone-oven piazzas and a 'daily specials' board, ensure something for all. Nature will nourish your soul! Our 14 acre plot boasts indigenous African fauna and wildlife that includes monkeys, bird-life and night bush babies. Low-tide reveals rock pool aquariums of sea life, crabs and even King George, our grumpy resident Moray eel! Turtles, dolphins and whales are observed further out to sea.Our name reflects our love of ocean activity and adventure. Deep sea fish with our professional charter boats to experience adrenalin hook ups. Blue water dive over sparkling coral reefs, all organized by our PADI scuba centre. Try kite-surfing, kayaking and boogie boarding - the ocean is your playground! Onshore we offer trail-biking, tennis, squash, hokey, beach volley and touch rugby. On weekends our resident DJ entertains all age groups in total harmony.We are "A small, stylish and sociable beach hotel for free spirits and active families in search of Africa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sports Hotel Watamu
Ocean Sports Watamu
Ocean Sports Resort Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing