We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Sports Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sun Palm Beach Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mawe Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Medina Palms(Watamu)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$190
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumbo Watamu(Watamu)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
104
75
21
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
75
21
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua venturesfishfrench managerfour bedroomsour room was spaciousevery morningbefore christmashot waterstunning beachbeach housemain barthree nightsfresh fruittunaamazing locationkenyan coastfood was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This was my first time staying at Ocean Sports, though I had been here several times to eat or hang out. The service here is excellent - so friendly and helpful, and all facilities are kept very clean. The view from the deck over the ocean is amazing, especially in the mornings at low tide. Sunday lunch buffet was another perk, with quite a variety of delicious foods. Overall, this is a great place to bring your family or come for a relaxing time away from the hustle of Watamu. It's conveniently located just out of town, an easy trip in a tuk-tuk, or a walk along the shore into downtown Watamu for tourist shopping and eateries.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAdhiambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We are thrilled that you enjoy coming to Ocean Sports, the deck is a great place to relax and admire the view. I hope that you continue to enjoy our service and of course the Sunday curry lunch!
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We were not staying at Ocean Sports, but had wandered down the beach from Turtle Bay Beach Resort because we wanted to enjoy seafood options and these are rarely included on the all in food options of Turtle Bay. The sea front terrace of Ocean Sports is a fantastic spot and as the sun set, and we enjoyed the cooling sea-breeze, we could have not have wished for a better location to enjoy our seafood treat. There were plenty of seafood options on the menu and after I made my choice of prawns for starters, prawns for main and .... no not prawns for desert.... I think we actually skipped dessert, we were in no rush for the food to arrive because the sound of the Indian Ocean breaking ashore beneath us was just wonderful. However, the starters, and then the main course, did not not take long to arrive and the taste did not disappoint. What did disappoint a little was the size of the portions and the bill at the end of the evening. The meal for 4 people, plus some drinks was pretty expensive - a bit more than we had expected and we had to have a search of our pockets to find the required funds. Perhaps we had been spoiled by the all-in food at Turtle Bay, but I guess this is why they do not have much seafood in the all-in options. The outing to Ocean Sports was a treat and in this regard we were not disappointed - location fantastic, food taste great, service fine and company wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your seafood lunch on the deck. Unfortunately shellfish is expensive but we do try and keep our menu prices as fair as possible. I hope you'll visit us again and enjoy another lunch, next time with dessert as well!
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I think the title says everything... we ate at their restaurant many times during our 10 day stay in Watamu, because we really enjoyed the place and the quality of the food... they have such a varied choice that one can easily find something new and delicious every time! We especially enjoyed the sunday lunch curry buffet for just 1000 KES pp and the “plates of the day” written on the black board at the entrance! Being right on the beach, the view from the restaurant is just lovely! Another plus is the free wifi access available!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank charthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you so much for finding the time to write a review for us. I'm glad you enjoyed visiting Ocean Sports and liked the food! I hope you will be visiting again in the future.

Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed over for a week of diving with Steve Curtis from Aqua Venture and the place very impressive. Located right in the beach with views to die for.
The rooms are basic but you don't spend your holiday in your room. A nice touch by the hotel do, is provide tea and coffee outside your rooms in the morning, just watch out the cats like to knock over the milk.
The food was very nice, when you moved off the Buffett menu. They have fish on the menu most days, if you aren't a fish lover, try it and I was surprised. The steaks they do where very nice, good price and good sizes. The rolls they do for your starters need to be left in your soup to soften but the soups were very nice. My only complaint about the food, was there timing. We had to be at the diving centre at 8, we got told breakfast was it 7, more like half 7, then about another 15 minutes to get it on my plate...this happened most morning, it seems like they don't communicate to each other...
Beer is cheap at 200 KSH by a Tuskers, they do a happy 2 hours on a Tuesday and a Sunday.
Location wise, perfect, 30 minute walk into Watamu, over to the right over another beach where there are bars, pizza places, which are all run by Italians.
In summary, great location, cheap booze and good food. Just sort your timings out and I would be back, especially for the diving.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It's always good to hear where our strengths and weaknesses are. I'm sorry the service for breakfast was slow, we are doing our best to improve this. We're glad you enjoyed happy hour and felt our prices were good value. I hope you will visit us again one day.
Once more, thanks for the feedback!
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We loved staying at this resort:

It is an old resort, so the garden is very beautiful indeed
Everyone here was friendly always
Food was very good
Service was very good
Pool area was peaceful and well maintained
The Beach terrace is the most beautiful in Kenya
The guests are NOT all-inclusive football fans and the like, but rather independent travellers, expats and Kenians. So the athmosphere is very easy and authentic.
The new management are making a great difference. The rooms for example are being renovated and equipped with solar water heating.
Just get that darn WiFi working properly ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishnagg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We very much enjoyed having you both to stay and hope we will see you again on your next adventure to Kenya.
You will be happy to know we have finally improved the wireless!
Happy travels and thanks again from all of us here at O.S
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews