We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to finish with any kind of stress.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Sports Resort
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After staying in Kenya for about 2 months, moving around through drastically different types of accommodation, our stay in Ocean Sports Resort in watamu was definitely the most rewarding and relaxing experience, and the perfect way to end our trip in Kenya. The food was very good and the staff very sweet, welcoming and attentive. The rooms were perfectly comfortable and the staff took good care to make sure everything was in order.
The resort is quite big, and you can find a little bit of everything- privacy and quiet time by the pool or by the ocean and if you want some fun and are in the mood to socialize you can find that easily by the bar, or take a 3 minute trip in a tuk-tuk to the village.

All in all a beautiful place and a great stay-next time I'm in Watamu I wouldn't think of looking for an alternative, this place had everything I was looking for!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay. We're glad you were able to fully relax here at Ocean Sports after all your traveling. Hopefully see you here again in the future.
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great place to relax and enjoy a beer or coffee. Food is decent - samosas and pizzas are worth checking out. By day be sure to sit on the terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean; in the evening, crowds often gather here to watch football (soccer) and rugby on the big screen. Staff are friendly, though service can be slow during busy times. Definitely a great place to enjoy ocean breezes and enjoy views of the beach!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. All of us here at Ocean Sports are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and meals out on the deck. It is a great place to admire the view of the ocean! Hopefully see you here again in the future.
Thanks again,
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I've been in Watamu for about a month, my best meal was at Ocean Sports Beach Resort. I had their tuna burger, which was one of the specials for the day. The burger was spot on and so were the chips and tartar sauce. The ambience of the restaurant was wonderful, with huge marlin figureheads attached to the walls and a "boat bar", which is a neat trick. The service was terrific and the food was quick to arrive. My perfect evening was topped off with a superbly made Dawa. Great place to eat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tulsi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you so much taking the time to write a review for Ocean Sports. We feel very proud that your best meal in Watamu was had here. Hopefully there will be many more! Thanks again,
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Spent 4 nights at ocean sports in July. Although my initial thought was that it was a bit basic (I had stayed at next door Hemingways previously which is much more expensive), by the end of the stay I was won over by the laid-back atmosphere of the place and much preferred it.

Rooms are basic but really fine. We did half board, and the menu was limited but pretty good (but black forest gateau it was not!). They are happy to serve dinner in the bar which we did while watching the Ashes, which was great for chilling. Sunday curry lunch was excellent. The bar was quite buzzy with locals. Staff were very friendly and helpful - happy to arrange transport into watamu and the manager even lent us his golf clubs so we could play at the local pitch and putt.

Went for a walk down the beach to Hemmingways and it was deserted. Turtle bay hotel was busier but felt quite package holiday, so much preferred ocean sport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, General Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review of Ocean Sports. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found it relaxing and the staff friendly. We hope to see you and your family back here again.
Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We just returned from a great 4 night stay at Ocean Sports. The atmosphere is fun and relaxing with a friendly staff and all the basics covered. Although it's not billed as a luxury hotel, I found the important stuff was all there -- tasty food, warm showers, surprisingly super soft towels, etc.. at about half of the cost of some of the neighboring resorts.

The service was a bit inconsistent...sometimes excellent, sometimes not. A couple of times our food was not what we ordered or just off (e.g warm milk for corn flakes after specifying cold/baridi more than once). The massage prices were good, so I had a massage but was surprised when the masseuse left mid-massage to take a 5 minute phone call. Later she was trying very hard to chew her crunchy snack very quietly as she massaged me, albeit unsuccessfully.

I'm not writing this to complain, since it was more amusing than upsetting, but if you are one to find these things "Unacceptable!" then you might want to look towards the more upscale hotels nearby. If, however, you can say "hey kids, let's try warm milk with corn flakes today!" then you'll be loving life.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSTARKMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and hope to see you here again. Its always good to hear your comments and we will use them to work on making improvements. Otherwise, its lovely to see that you were able to laugh at having warm milk with your cornflakes!
Thanks again for the review,
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just returned from a 4 day stay and I. Have to say the ocean sports was great. In no order, the accommodation was more than suitable and sufficient, we had the. Ocean cottage, which was clean, tidy and spacious. Access. To the great beach was effortless and was sheer bliss. Only spoilt by the beach (bums), sorry boys. Totally unproductive, and as we said, if they had a stall, we would approach and ask questions and likely buy, but hassling when we were playing with young children is as rude as it was frustrating. Hotel food was great, good range, fish especially good. The manager was professional and helpful, as as his female assistant, a tip could be to pay for drinks as you get them as the waiters accounting is hit and miss. Overall we would strongly recommend this hotel. Hope you enjoy as much as we did. Well done, keep doing what your doing..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAFcopvet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thanks so much for the review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Ocean Cottage. The beach boys can be very persistent which doesn't help their cause. The hotel's security guard is aware of the issue and we'll make sure that he helps to ensure the guests can enjoy the beach without being hassled.
Thanks again for the good review and hope to see you down here again.
Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Had another beautiful lunch at Ocean Sports, great food, great staff, great service and amazing views. Something that has to be experienced to understand, sitting on the deck with the sound of the sea, you leave feeling relaxed. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mamagude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your lunch out on the deck, hope there will be many more good experiences!
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
810 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.2 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sports Resort

Address: Mida Creek Road | P.O Box 208, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: £69 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Sports Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The plaque on our famous 1952 bar boat states "Ian Pritchard sailed his boat through the reef and staked his claim right here. Cheers Ian!" And so the legend of Ocean Sports was born.Our ambiance is relaxed, friendly and barefoot chic. Frequented by a loyal following of East African residents and savvy overseas guests, many consider this being their second home.Located 20km south of Malindi Airport, within the protected Watamu Marine Reserve, our 30 rooms, suites and self catered cottage overlook Kenya's favorite, white sand beach.Our outdoor, ocean-side deck dinning venue is simply stunning! Freshly caught, sustainable seafood and local organic produce, inspired our French chef, Florian's new mouth watering menu choices. Delicious stone-oven piazzas and a 'daily specials' board, ensure something for all. Nature will nourish your soul! Our 14 acre plot boasts indigenous African fauna and wildlife that includes monkeys, bird-life and night bush babies. Low-tide reveals rock pool aquariums of sea life, crabs and even King George, our grumpy resident Moray eel! Turtles, dolphins and whales are observed further out to sea.Our name reflects our love of ocean activity and adventure. Deep sea fish with our professional charter boats to experience adrenalin hook ups. Blue water dive over sparkling coral reefs, all organized by our PADI scuba centre. Try kite-surfing, kayaking and boogie boarding - the ocean is your playground! Onshore we offer trail-biking, tennis, squash, hokey, beach volley and touch rugby. On weekends our resident DJ entertains all age groups in total harmony.We are "A small, stylish and sociable beach hotel for free spirits and active families in search of Africa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sports Hotel Watamu
Ocean Sports Watamu
Ocean Sports Resort Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing