We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Sports Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mawe Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Medina Palms(Watamu)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jumbo Watamu(Watamu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
104
74
21
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
74
21
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua venturesfishfrench managerfour bedroomsour room was spaciousevery morningbefore christmashot waterstunning beachbeach housemain barthree nightsfresh fruittunaamazing locationkenyan coastfood was amazing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We spent two fantastic weeks at Ocean Sports with Helen and her wonderful team. The service at the hotel is second to none and the food was of an excellent standard. I think I had fish everyday because it was so fresh!

The location is perfect, you can dine and relax all day watching the tide come in and out of the beautiful bay.

The hotel offers a disco and quiz night and the bar offers lively and quieter nights so enough for everyone.

I would recommend a trip to Malindi, snorkelling over the reefs, the Snake Farm and our favourite day out was on the creek. We took a tour in a canoe up the creek and on the the local island. The boys looked after us really well and were really informative about the wildlife (lots of flamingos) and environment. Also how could I forget the Safari. We headed out to Tsavo East and stayed for one night. We stayed at the beautiful galana river lodge for one night which was enough to get a real feel for safaring.

There is a real friendly intimate feel to Oceansports and there is great mix of people passing through. Go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coedwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Helen, it is always like coming home when we return to Ocean Sports. Your staff are so welcoming and friendly, the Prawns on a skewer and Chips are the best anywhere...I need to go on a diet before Christmas now!!....the mix of locals (who really know how to enjoy themselves) and hotel guests works really well, especially at the Friday night BBQ and disco and the addition of the new wheelchair ramp is great for the buggy when we need to pay a visit to the facilities!!!
Can't wait to get back at Easter....Have a great Christmas....see you soon

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJFWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Another great time at Ocean Sports! Funny happy quiz nights, scrummy Sunday lunches, a GREAT Cheese and Wine evening...HIC! and ALWAYS great company with a view to die for!
ONLY marred by Helen's abscence for a few days whilst she DARED to take a trip home!....great to see you back though Helen!
Oh and a HUGE thanks to Wycliffe....again.... who found my Bum Bag which contained ALL my money, passport and air tickets!!! Thank goodness for honest OS Staff!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlyj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Another great stay with Helen & her lovely smiley staff at Wonderful Ocean Sports, Sunday lunch just gets better & better -- SO DELICIOUS ! Can you beat it?!! sitting outside looking out to the Indian Ocean, warm sunshine, great food, fab Dawas,& a lovely ambience !! We had great fun at the Quiz night, a good mix of locals & guests-- & a very ' boozy ' night at the Wine Tasting , OS is a must for you if you want a chilled -out relaxing holiday with warm friendly people !
Thank you so much Helen for all you did for us especially on our last day!!
We ll be back in Feb 2010 !! BIBIFIMBO

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BibiFimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We were so surprised and delighted by Ocean Sports Resort on our trip to Kenya even though it came highly recommended by a friend. It is beautifully located right on the beach, the fishing was amazing and the diving was some of the best we have seen.

If you're looking for a laid back place to unwind then this is it! If you want a shiny, slick hotel holiday then this is not the place for you. Ocean Sports is completely unpretentious. The rooms are simple but charming, the staff are friendly and attentive and the location is beautiful. This is it's charm and it works.

We wanted a fun, romantic holiday and it was perfect. Breakfast on the deck was such a delight we found ourselves up a the crack of dawn to watch the sunrise over the sea on more than one occasion - a real miracle! The big couches in the bar overlooking the sea became my favourite reading place!

I would watch out it you are going into the town, there are hundreds of local 'guides' who will attach themselves to you and not do without a 'fee' - but we were forewarned by the reception staff.

We had such a lovely time we didn't want to leave but will def be back. and have recommended it to everyone I know!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qbertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews