We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Review of Mwamba Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mwamba Centre
Ranked #19 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Watamu
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We spent 10 nights at Mwamba Centre which was a real find. Located on the same white sandy beach as the main hotels at a fraction of the cost. The temperatures are ideal and very consistent making the crystal clear sea water warm. This is still unspoilt Africa. We went on safari (organised from the site at the cost of the vehicle hire and the driver), went diving to unspoilt coral reefs - fantastic just like on TV! Also we had a day trip in the Arabuko-Sokoke forest where we saw forest elephants, rare birds and the endangered golden-rumped shrew. The accommodation is clean and comfortable with a welcoming family feel about it. We cant wait to come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCowburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

More a B&B than a hotel, this place is perfect for anyone with an extended stay in Watamu. I've stayed here on two occasions while doing research in the nearby forests and both times I found myself not wanting to leave. As an added bonus, there is close proximity to the beach and enough distance from the town to provide privacy. I will always choose A Rocha when I am staying in costal Kenya

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Mwamba Centre is a beautiful and welcoming place, set right by a clear beach which you'll have pretty much to yourselves! The location is great, 5-10 minutes away from Watamu centre on a bike/car, walkable distance along the beach. As it isn't right in the centre, you can appreciate beautiful vegetation and wildlife (with a nature trail in a small forest right behind the centre!).
The staff and volunteers do their best to make you feel at home, and you'll quickly feel part of the community. It's a perfect -and economic- way to get to know local people, culture and dishes. This simple guesthouse provides a nice space to relax, as well as ideas for local tourism and activities. If you're looking for an uncomplicated, spontaneous and relaxed holiday, Mwamba is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameline_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. We found the accommodation and en-suite to be very clean and comfortable, and all the communal areas were lovely. The beach is vast, beautiful and essentially deserted, and is only 50 metres from the Mwamba Centre. Be prepared however that the food is all quite basic and sometimes runs out (you may not get seconds...) The vibe is relaxed and the management and volunteers there are Christian

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in Mwamba Field Centre for two days. The setting of the rooms is beautiful in a coastal forest vegetation (monkey jumping around in the trees and on the roofs!) and right on the beach. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed talking with people present. It is good to see that so much work is being done to preserve the environment in collaboration with the local communities. Drawback: the food (included in the 3500 KSh pp/pn, cooked by volunteers) is not so great compared to the wonderful spicy Swahili cuisine that prevails on the coast, even in the simplest places. Hiring a good cook would be an enormous improvement of the quality of the guest house, and would make it even more attractive.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have just returned from a seven-night stay here. The cost is now 3,500 kenyan shillings per night, per person. There is only one self-contained cottage but there are other rooms available. They are basic and some have their own bathroom with a dribbly shower. Our room was not cleaned during our stay and neither were the towels or bed linen changed.The windows will not shut properly so if there are noisy people staying your sleep will be disturbed. You can also hear exactly what is happening in the next room.
Food is very basic. Breakfast is self-service. Lunch and dinner usually consist of boiled rice, a tomato-based "stew" and grated cabbage/similar followed by fruit. You eat off your knee and grace is said beforehand. You are expected to help with the washing-up. Our packed lunch for two consisted of 3 cold pancakes and four bananas.
We had a very warm welcome and the atmosphere is very laid back.
It is literally 2 minutes from the beach and I loved lying in bed at night listening to the sound of the sea. I did not enjoy the screaming children!
La Rocha is actually 3 miles outside Watamu. It takes about an hour to walk into the "town" but you would need to get transport if you wanted to go into Malinde which is 12 miles away.
The house used to belong to a rather remarkable lady, Mrs,Simpson, and became a Christian Conservation centre after her death. For more information see http://www.arocha.org/ke-en/work/centre.html
This centre would not suit everyone. If you want luxury or to be waited on, don't go here! We felt it was expensive for what was provided. You can get good deals with better facilities and not as isolated if you shop around. We were on a birding holiday and a luxury hotel would have been wasted on us as we only use it to sleep in! On the other hand.....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seedyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haylyn
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This was an excellent find. Knowing that most hotels close for low season, this place was a steal of a deal. For 3000 Ksh/night included s/c private cottage and breakfast, lunch, dinner. On the beach and very cool vibe. This place is into sustainable resources, recycling, and keeping Kenya green! Mostly volunteers who stay here, it was very fun. Also excellent snorkeling, near Gedi ruins, and Turtle rehab center.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank haylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
16.6 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
915 reviews
16.1 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
273 reviews
16.4 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.0 mi away
Seawhispers Inn
Seawhispers Inn
#10 of 30 in Watamu
4 reviews
15.9 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mwamba Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mwamba Centre

Property: Mwamba Centre
Address: Plot 28 Beach Road | Mwamba, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as being a welcoming guesthouse, Mwamba is a field study centre for the work of A Rocha Kenya, an environmental conservation organisation. Visitors enjoy a privileged location, out of the busy centre of Watamu and only a few metres from a calm beach onto the Indian Ocean. The staff and volunteers are very welcoming and will be be happy to share what they're working on with you, you might even be invited to one of their bird-ringing session and discover beautiful local birds!This alternative to traditional tourist hotels introduces you to local culture, dishes and people, so you can truly experience a sense of Kenya lifestyle! By staying here, you will contribute to financially support our work in the local community. Main guest rooms have 2 or 3 beds, with en suite shower and toilet facilities. Towels and bed linen are provided, and all beds are provided with mosquito nets. Meals are catered for at lunch and dinner, and tea and coffee available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mwamba Centre Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing