We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Dirt Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The island
We read some reviews of koa yao and thought it sounded worthy of a visit. If you don't like beaches then this is the place for you. A very chilled out island with not a lot to do but relax. If you type in "kao yao" beach into google you see beaches which you won't be able to access. These are on the north of the island and on a private resort. The beach outside the hotel is dirty, muddy and the sea is very uninviting and murky. There is also a lot of litter floating in the water as well as leaves. The best thing to do is go exploring on a moped. There is an amazing road which follows the west coast up to the north which offers some amazing views of the bay and a peaceful shoreline at the end of the road.

The hotel
Our first impressions for a hotel we paid £45 a night for were not good. Being valentines day I decided to treat my girlfriend and I to a deluxe room instead of a standard. If this was the deluxe I dread to think what the standard was like. The thing that annoyed me most was the quality of room for the price. This was the same price we paid for an amazing 4 star hotel along phuket's mai khoa beach, and the differences were very clear.

Everything in the room seemed to be roughly moulded from chunks of concrete which made the room look very odd. The television didn't work and the minibar was just a battered old fridge. The broshure also stated there was a room safe which was not to be found in a broken wardrobe. The bathroom was situated at the back of the room with no window or ventilation so the whole place smelt, with the bad lighting illuminating a very unwelcoming shower.

Because the beach was covered in litter we thought the pool may be our saving grace but it was tiny. Considering the hotel has well over 30 rooms a pool the size of one you'd expect in someone's garden was unacceptable.

Other reviews have mentioned how friendly the staff were and this was very true. The man at reception was more than happy to help and tell us about the island, but this happy outlook on life is probably due to him laughing all the way to the bank after we pay our room bill.

Overall the room was totally unacceptable for the price we paid, we even had to check we hadn't made a mistake by asking another couple how much they paid. We definately wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Not much mid line accommodation here in Koh Tao Noi., so this place fits a niche. Room was clean, Thai style bath. Separate bungalow with porch is nice. The electricity was variable so the lights flickered a bit and the a/c strained during the day.
Good food and tours available nearby.
Recommend if within your budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The location on Pasai Beach is probably the best on Koh Yao Noi, with easy access to an OK beach, several beach-front places to eat, and access to a whole island of other great stuff. Plan on renting a motor scooter (B300/day, rides 2 people) to explore the island and have more eating options.

The staff at the front desk are great.

However, the cement bungalows are a bit utilitarian -- I suppose they're more resistant to bugs and rot, but there's no charm. We got a 'deluxe' which has the advantage of a bit of privacy (and is worth it if the price isn't off-putting). The beach is pretty good for sitting, not great for swimming (but you can usually walk up the road 20-30 m for more sand); there should be more beach chairs on the beach (3 wasn't really enough), and the pool is useful only for getting wet -- after that, there's no shade (and the sun is hot).

The breakfast (included in the room rate) is just bad (eggs, a couple pieces of fruit, air-toast, a hot dog and a slice of is-it-ham) -- at least there should be an option for rice (it's Thailand) instead of air-toast, and some way to not have the saccharine-hotdog and slice-of-spam show up on the plate. For the size of the restaurant, no one eats dinner there -- probably for good reason.

Chukit needs new ideas for the restaurant/breakfast; otherwise it would be OK except for the value -- it's just not nice enough to be a luxury place, and the price is much higher than more simple bungalows on the island. Come with tempered expectations, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ob3ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Koi Yao Noi is the most incredible place, so much slower in pace to neighbouring phuket; 4 days there felt like a month - in a good way!

We loved the resort, immaculately clean with manicured gardens. We had a superior garden bungalow near the back, so we were not overlooked.

The beach is across the road. It is not perfect white sand, but the views across the anadaman coastline make it a fantastic place to enjoy eating your breakfast or lunch. (We had breakfast - included - in the hotel and lunch across the road) Dinner was just down the street in Paradise cottages.

Initially you can feel a bit bored when you arrive as the pace of life is so slow. It is worh hiring a scooter, just to explore, but soon, you get into "Island Time".

Also did a boat trip to visit 3 of the neighbouring islands. I would recommend some kind of diving bootee / shoe as it is very rocky, but you can stand knee deep in water and feed the fish!

We travelled with our 2 year-old son and he had a brilliant time

Room Tip: Superior Bungalow with garden view, is not overlooked
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romilly70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed in one of the huts towards the back of the resort. Very clean and comfortable. The location isn't bad as the island is small enough and hiring a scooter is an enjoyable way to get around. Very peaceful and relaxing beach opposite the front. Pool was clean. Internet at reception. Didn't eat at the resort but there are some great local spots along the beach and around the way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hectorial85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed on Koh Yao Noi after two days in Bangkok, an overnight train to Surat Thani, a 6.5 hour nightmare-ish bus ride to Phuket, and three days on Phuket. It was EXACTLY what we needed!

First a few words about the island. If you're looking for perfect white sand beaches and crystal clear water...this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for a peaceful place with scenic beaches and turquoise water where you can experience the culture of the people relatively untainted by tourism...then you need to come to this island. Peaceful is the key word. If you need to escape the chaos of Bangkok, Phuket, and/or Phi Phi this is the perfect place. You can rent a scooter for 200-300 baht per day and tour the entire island with 200 baht worth of gas over a few days. If you stay on the island for more than three days, you'll begin to get greeted like an old friend when you return to restaurants for dinner/lunch/etc.

Now, on to the hotel. This was the nicest place we stayed during our three weeks in Thailand. We liked it so much that after our first stay, we returned for three nights to wrap up our trip after visiting Phi Phi and Railey. If you're comfortable with not making reservations, you're about 95% likely to be able to get a room as a walk in...and you'll save money. During high season, we paid 1,200 baht per night (we opted out of breakfast included).

Service was wonderful. My wife had a head cold and the cleaning ladies saw the garbage bag full of tissues next to the bed, so they cleaned that up and left a new pack of tissues for her. This was very appreciated as her nose was becoming very raw from using toilet paper instead of proper tissues. If we ever ran out of anything, all we needed to do was ask, and they would deliver. They provided a free shuttle to the Pier both times that we stayed.

The food at the restaurant was typical...nothing special, nothing bad. We only did breakfast, and then ate lunch and dinner elsewhere on the island. The hotel did open a new restaurant directly on the beach the day that we checked out so we didn't have a chance to try it.

Rooms were awesome. Simple, as is everything in this price range, but it was exceptionally clean (by Thailand standards), and was hands down the most comfortable bed we slept on over the 21 days we were in Thailand. They provided all the standard hotel things...soap, shampoo, conditioner. Maybe I'm much more low class than womblewa, but I've never stayed in a hotel that provides toothpaste and toothbrush as a standard item. Maybe he meant those items being offered at the desk if they are requested...but I can't imagine any place in Thailand (in this price range) that'd offer that kind of stuff at the front desk. Showers were standard.

Last thing to mention....the pool was immaculate during our stay. Maybe womblewa's dirty pool experience was due to the time of year. I think October is still the low season (not sure), and maybe they don't clean as much. It was always clean and spotless when we were there. The cool water felt GREAT on our sunburnt feet which we forgot to put sunscreen on!

Room Tip: All the rooms are private bungalow style with a private patio with chairs. VERY quiet and private.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe and Mariya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here two nights as part of the Amazing Bike Tours accommodation for their Koh Yao Expedition. Set opposite beach, lovely, well tended gardens. Units themselves fairly basic, but very clean. The pool was dirty and poorly maintained - we wondered if that is more that the people dont know HOW to perform maintenance on it, rather than deliberately ignoring it. Second day we noticed that the leaves etc had been cleaned from it, but the filter was not on, and seemed to be turned on sporadically. Nice restaurant as part of the hotel - not fancy but great food and very clean. No toothbrush or toothpaste provided and not enough toilet paper - one roll for two people a day - but I think its more that as Muslims who dont use it - its more that they find it hard to judge how much to leave, rather than being miserable. No tea or coffee making facilities, but shower nice and hot, bed comfortable. Would we stay again if it wasnt part of the bike package? Possibly, but there isnt much to see at the place itself and if you are used to Australian beaches, then the beach, while it looks pretty, has, like a lot of Thailand, a mudflat bottom, pretty mediocre. 5km bike to market and tuk tuks not abundant - 200 baht to local (very small and pricey) market. Nice, apparently locally run, clean, basic hotel.

Room Tip: They are all on the flat and all look the same - basic, but nice and clean. No tea or coffee making...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.0 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
0.0 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Yao Seaview Bungalow
Koh Yao Seaview Bungalow
#2 of 18 in Ko Yao Noi
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort

Address: 52/3 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range: £33 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute boat ride from Hong Island, home to a beautiful sandy beach, Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort features private and comfortable bungalows with balconies. It boasts an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Lading Island is within a 10-minute boat ride from Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort. James Bond Island and Phuket Town can be reached in a 1-hour boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing