We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Family Restaurant”
Review of Chan Restaurant

Chan Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$116
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chan restaurant is located between Six Senses Yao Noi Hotel and Koh Yao Island Resort Hotel. Chan is the owner of Thailand. With over 30 years experience in cooking, and in Germany for 15 years, can speak English, German and Thai. We are serving Thai food, seafood, vegetarian and international. Open daily 12.00 pm. - 11.00 pm. Four days off a month early.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Family Restaurant”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I eat here on several occasions during our stay in Ko Yao and would highly recommend that you take the time to visit.
Located in between Ko Yao Island Resort and Six Senses. It offers customers a peaceful location.
The food was excellent and the staff were extremely polite and friendly.
We walked the 400 metres from our Villa at Ko Yao Island Resort, where the food did not compare to the delicious fare offered by Chan Restaurant.
We tried chicken dishes, prawn, squid and various noodles and salads. All delicious and reasonably priced.
The restaurant even supplied a 'Take Away' service, so that we could have a mid afternoon meal back at the hotel.
As we left, the restaurant was just having some water tanks fitted for keeping the sea food alive and fresh. We hope this work goes well and the food will taste even fresher and better.
Good Luck for the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naded, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Chan Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for you lovely feedback.We welcome and glad you like our food and place. When you come back to Koh Yao Noi. We welcome to serve you seafood again. Thank you very much. Hope to see you next time.
Best Regards
Weera Khammongkol
diamondtong@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Prawns ever”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A real basic place but had some of the best authentic Thai food I have ever tasted. I asked the lady what she recommended, Tamarind Prawns - they were so delicious, my husband had a beef salad, we had extra noodles and drinks all for THB600.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bevmiller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naded, Owner at Chan Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We welcome and glad you like our food. When you plan to come back again. We are happy and willing to serve shrimp with tamarind sauce and beef salad that you like again

Best regards,

Weera Khammongkol
Diamondtong@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smashing Authentic Thai food!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This place is fantastic! It may not be the most luxurious of restaurants but the food is simply second to none. It is all cooked fresh to order and is so scrumptious it is unbelievable. We ate like kings for less than £10 each including drinks and sampled the freshest seafood and most flavoursome curries you can imagine!

Yes the presentation may not be the fanciest, but frankly who cares when it tastes this good!! In fairness, the presentation was good, I don't get the comments on other reviews, everything came with salad and garnish, but if you don't like the fact that the crockery doesn't match, well...this isn't the place for you and you probably need to return to the comfort of your resort.

The staff are all Thai, and by that I mean native, non-hotel Thai, with limited English but you can be easily understood and they are all friendly and eager to please.

If you want authentic Thai food then you cannot get better than this on Koh Yao Noi. It was head and shoulders above the food in our 5* resort (Six Senses) and was within walking distance of it. Don't bother going any where else as the food will only disappoint if you like real Thai food. Je T'aime was perfectly pleasant but the food was sadly lacking in comparison to Chan. All the staff at the hotel eat there which in my mind must mean it is proper Thai food and it is soooo delicious!

I particularly recommend the Thai Yellow curry, the chicken in pepper and garlic (or prawns if you prefer) and the tempura prawns. All mouthwateringly delicious! Empty plates every time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naded, Owner at Chan Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment. We welcome and glad Tom and Sophie enjoyed our food. We hope when Tom and Sophie come back to Koh Yao Noi again. We will have served chicken and shrimp garlic pepper. Prawns tempura and Thai yellow curry like you again.

Best regards

weera khammongkol
diamondtong@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Since this was the closest restaurant to our hotel we decided to walk there on our first evening on the island. We specifically asked for no fish since my partner is allergic to shellfish and unfortunately the dishes arrived with shrimp in, which was not noticed at first. My partner was then unfortunately sick as a result. The food was not good, very greasy and felt like it had been cooked hours ago and then warmed up.

It was not easy to get the attention of the staff either.

With restaurants such as Je Taime, Rice Paddy and Villaguna on the Island you have better places to eat than Chan.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 389KellyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naded, Owner at Chan Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Apologize for the mistake. Next time we will be more careful and we will training our staff to be more careful. We will bring improvement. And improved.

Best regards

weera khammongkol
diamondtong@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too far till the restaurant”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

So fare it’s not a restaurant, but just looks like a kitchen with back door tables.
Service is absolutely poor. Food is poorly supplied. It does not look nice.
White wine was warm and the price did not match the levels of this pantries.
But we found place where we like. That place is 7 km from our "Six Senses" where we stayed. There was everything just perfect. I recommend everyone “Je T'aime” restaurant in the central village. You will spend 400 Bath for taxi, but It worth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kongas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naded, Owner at Chan Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will bring improvement. And improved.

Best regards,

weera khammongkol
Diamondtong@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chan Restaurant also viewed

Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Chan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing