We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villas, Excellent Service, Good Food, No Crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koyao Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villas, Excellent Service, Good Food, No Crowds”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in a beach villa for a week in February on an anniversary trip. This place was absolutely perfect for us.

Things we were worried about before the trip:
1. the temperature
2. the mosquitos
3. hoping the food was good enough for an entire week.

*We were perfectly comfortable with the sea breeze and the fans. We had no need for A/C.
*It was the dry season. They put your mosquito net down at night and light citronella coils throughout your villa. I don't even think I was bit.
*The food was excellent and the menu for food and drinks was broad enough for 2 weeks. (recommend the Papaya salad)

My wife and I went on an excursion almost every single day and had a great time with our guide on each one. They do a great job of keeping you away from crowds.

The service that we received was perfect. They made you fill very welcome and were extremely accommodating to any requests. But they also weren't in your face. The service happened quietly.

I read some trip advisor complaints before I came and I can assure you that those people are high-maintenance, cry-babies. We don't usually do repeat vacations but we think we'll make an exception in this case. I don't think we could find this combination anywhere else. Perfect amount of service with good food and lots to do.

Room Tip: Get a Beach Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review, we are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your time here at Koyao Island Resort.

It's great that you took advantage of the fantastic excursions we offer at the resort as these are such an amazing opportunity to really take in the stunning surroundings of the area and learn a lot from our knowledgeable guides.

We will pass on your positive opinions to our food & beverage team who work hard to ensure a wide variety of Thai and Western dishes are served for our guests on a daily basis, and, yes, we agree that the papaya salad is really very delicious! We are very proud of our entire team here and it makes us very happy to know that the level of service here really had a great impact on the enjoyment of your stay.

It was a real pleasure to have you here and we sincerely hope to welcome you back again sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    142
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
180
436
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Really nice hotel right on the beach, and a really pretty beach. The hotel grounds are stunning, very pretty. It's kinda isolated from other accommodations on the island.

Staff is super friendly, particularly the thai staff. Breakfast was really good and fresh. The hotel also offers daily activities: while I was there they offered a complimentary 2hr tour of the surrounding islands, amazing.

The restaurant is a bit pricey for Thailand, but I guess it has to match up with the room rates. There's another good place to eat right up the hill outside the resort. Other than that not much around but the island is small and you can take one of their bikes for free and ride nicely around the island.

One annoying letdown: I booked the cheapest room, sea breeze studio and from the website I had the feeling that I was getting my own bungalow. The 3 sea breeze rooms actually sit on top of the reception area. So quite a disappointment. But even if it's right on top of the reception area, it wasn't noisy or annoying. Just less intimate and secluded.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear JB,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Koyao Island Resort and thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the stunning location and setting here, we agree that it really is beautiful!
We are sorry that you think that the food is priced too highly in our restaurant, there are a variety of price options available on the menu depending on your budget. Our kitchen staff here are highly experienced and the food of the highest quality and always local and organic wherever possible which is not always true of all restaurants in Thailand so it is difficult to make a comparison. For the quality of food we offer we believe our prices to be very reasonable. We are however, grateful for your feedback and for the opportunity to respond.

The Island of Koh Yao Noi is quiet and the majority of visitors come here for this reason and to enjoy the opportunity to relax away from the hustle and bustle. Our resort is a great base from which to explore the island whilst also offering the feeling of calm and relaxation. We are so pleased that you made use of our free bicycle hire service to explore the beautiful island and visit the nearby local restaurants and also that you thought our complimentary excursion was amazing, being out in the traditional long tail boat in Phang Nga bay really is the best way to see this stunning location!

Thank you for pointing out that you were unaware of the location of our Sea Breeze Studios within the resort, we will look into our website being updated very soon to ensure that there is no confusion for future guests. As you say, the location of these studios is on the first floor above the spa and bar areas but is also very peaceful and quiet... a great benefit of this is that they can provide some of the best views over the bay!

We hope very much to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,
Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbaek, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is simply paradis on earth!. This fantastic resort is the place to go if you want relax, enjoy good food, wake up to the most amazing view you can imagine - and be served by the most helpful, effective and charming people, and always with a smile.
This resort is located in the most beautiful garden right down to the ocean with a private beach. One week at this resort - and you feel like being away on holiday for a much longer time. Try their private beach dinner on a small island nearby - fantastic experience!!!.
I can only recommend Koya Island Resort. Now I have an idea what paradis must be like!
Vibeke

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibeke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Vibeke,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review. It's so great for us to know that you had such a wonderful time here.
The location of our resort really is stunning and all of our villas have been designed to make the most of the views out to the limestone formation in the Pang Nga bay, we really agree with you that this really is paradise!
We will pass on your positive feedback to our team here about how you enjoyed the warm and friendly hospitality and also to the gardeners who work passionately to maintain the beautiful garden.
It's so great that you enjoyed our private island dinner experience at Koh Nok... it's such a beautiful spot there and what better way to see the sunset than over a freshly cooked seafood BBQ on your very own private island.

It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back at our resort sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The original plan was, to stay at Koyao Island Resort for 3 days and than move on to another island. But…. we stayed another 2 days. Because we enjoyed it that much.

We stayed at the luxury villas near the beach, with our own private swimming pool, beach beds, air-conditioned bedrooms, rain showers and large living rooms with fully equipped kitchens. Although we didn’t use everything (because of the outstanding weather and restaurant) the luxury we felt in the possibility to use this equipment made us really feel like home. Paradise home, I would say.

My girlfriend enjoyed some yoga classes and together enjoyed the food in the restaurant very much. There was a wine cellar with a lot of good choices. During my whole trip through Thailand I never tasted wine that good.

We had the chance to meet Michel (the owner of the resort). He was a very nice and friendly guy. Actually, his whole staff was a bit like him. Their focus is clearly with the guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I consider myself already a regular customer - coming back again and it is still a great place to be. Great open air concept villas with lots of privacy, good and friendly service, food good and tasty (even so I would suggest to prepare a few new dishes - but this is perhaps only being a regular guest). I certainly will come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vie4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear vie4you,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this beautiful review about your stay at Koyao Island Resort.

It was a great pleasure for all us here to welcome you for the second time.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the open air, natural concept of our uniquely designed villas and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the fine food and the friendly service at our restaurant.

We will be sure to pass your very kind comments to our staff.

On behalf of Koyao Island Resort, we are looking forwards to welcoming you here once again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Yours Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I've actually never stayed overnight in the resort but I know it quite well since I often go there as external guest. The receptionists provide a very warm welcome when entering the resorts property, the food and drinks are always yummie and the waiters and waitresses seem to have pleasure doing their job. The garden is in very good shape and the open villas - I was shown around once - are quite spacious and designed in a rustic but also elegante and beautiful style. Being there in the morning time you get to see spectacular sunrises over the unique limestones of Phang Nga Bay - breathtaking! Make sure you get up early enough at least once during your stay to witness this spectacle. Do also not miss the Spa treatments - of course it's a bit more pricy than the massage salons in the streets of Phuket, but it's not only a price difference, it's more a difference of quality and service. Definitely worth it!
Furthermore the management at Koyao Island Resort does a brillant job and is always present and available for the guests. If there is any issue or open question the Guest Relations Manager and/or reception are happy to help and the F&B Manager is always present during meal times to take care that the service in the restaurant and bar runs smoothly - btw, the restaurant at the resort is situated in the garden area but you get a very nice view to the infinity-pool and sea.
So, if you are looking for a getaway from your busy live back home, Koh Yao is the right place to go to. You will find a very relaxed and laid back atmosphere, most adorable locals and Koyao Island Resort is a wonderful place to stay at. The best way to get around is by scooter, which you can rent at several places on the island, or by mountainbike. It's definitely worth to explore!
A very warm thank you to the Koyao Island Team for those many happy memories that we're sharing!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear MEtraveller88,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We are extremely happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit at Koyao Island Resort - It is always a pleasure for all of us here to welcome you.

We cannot agree more that our resort is situated at one of the best locations on the island and that it is a real treat to enjoy such a spectacular view over the Phang Nga Bay while drinking a refreshing cocktail in our garden and leaving everyday life behind you.

On behalf of our resort we would like to thank you again for this lovely feedback and we are looking forwards to seeing you back here once again very soon!

Best regards,
The Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I've just read the previous reviewer's comments and couldn't disagree more!
We also stayed in room 11 and were very impressed, in fact it exceeded my expectations, especially the enormous open air bathroom and wonderful views from the decking area. Bed was beautiful and comfortable and I loved the fact that there were no keys - I've never been anywhere else where this has been the case and it only added to the very special feel of the place.
There is plenty of room around the delightful gardens to lounge around, with sun loungers in abundance. The pool is smallish but fine, with a fantastic view over the bay. Beach was better than I hoped as well. Yes, there is coral etc washed up but it is a beach after all and doesn't impede swimming in the balmy ocean and is long with beautiful golden sand.
Thought the service was very good. Stefanie, who I'd emailed a couple of times ahead of our visit to check our reservation etc, introduced herself when we arrived and knew our names. She greeted us the next morning to check that everything was OK. All the other staff were friendly and they work all day to keep the garden looking lovely.
Breakfast was good, added bonus of an egg station, which I always enjoy! Didn't eat in the restaurant at any other time so can't comment further on this.
Used the kayaks which were fun, and got soaked but this is the nature of the beast!
Really we had such a wonderful time at the hotel that it will leave some special memories. The views to the karst islands are just so stunning I simply stared for hours.
There's a couple of restaurants within walking distance. We had a fun night at La Luna, unexpected Italian pizza and pasta place about ten minutes away on foot. Very busy and we waited a long time for our pizza but a good buzz and worth it.
Anyway, can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Koh Yao Noi is definitely worth a visit as it's so peaceful and unspoilt.
Oh yes, had a couple of massages at the spa. Very relaxing, and even got to see a monitor lizard as I was drinking my tea post massage!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanadustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Xanadustar,

Thank you for your kind words!

We are very happy to hear that your beautiful open air Beach Villa exceeded your expectations and in contrast to our previous guest comments, who were staying in the exactly same room.
As you have already mentioned that the fact of having no keys makes our place even more special and free. It is a very safe and relaxing environment in which you can really appreciate being away from western constraints. We are very happy that you enjoyed and made the most of this freedom.

We are delighted to hear that you made use of our free kayaks to explore the stunning surrounding by sea... although you were soaked after the trip as you said it's all part of the fun!

It is a shame that you didnt have the opportunity to sample the fine cuisine in our restaurant, we are sure that you and your husband would have very much enjoyed our menu & our garden BBQ's which take place two times per week.

We will share your very kind comments with our team and we would like to thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor.

We hope you have many fond memories from your holiday and we hope to welcome you once again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.6 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
6.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,804 reviews
4.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
638 reviews
10.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Island Resort

Property: Koyao Island Resort
Address: 24/2 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koyao Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are built in the original Andaman Sea - gypsy style which is optimal for comfort and for the environment. We have used unique local resources with a traditional background while still maintaining, if not surpassing, all modern standards. The mangrove palm leaf roofs of our villas breathe and do not store heat, and air conditioners are definitely not needed.All villas have an undisturbed, spectacular sea view of the famous Phang Nga Bay and can be opened up to the stars at night - and in the morning the rising sun shines onto the beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koyao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Island Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Hotel Koyao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing