We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koyao Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Paradise KohYao(Ko Yao Noi)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Kudu Hotel(Ko Yao Noi)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Six Senses Yao Noi(Ko Yao Noi)
US$698
US$672
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Koyao Bay Pavilions(Ko Yao Noi)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
US$354
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mookdamun(Ko Yao Noi)
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
606
153
34
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
606
153
34
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen airfamily beachcomplimentary boat trippum puifree bikessea breezefree yoga classesother guestsmountain bikesmosquito netlong tail boatoutdoor showerthatched roofprivate beachlaid backtuk tukstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked this hotel based on the website and reviews here - however it is the first hotel we have ever had to leave after one night. It truly is awful!!! If you are looking for a 2 star place then its fine but if you are expecting 4 stars or any decent sort of level of accommodation please book elsewhere!

We arrived and had to walk past a large building site to get to our villa - the people live on this site and there is noise / people there looking out though all the holes in the walls day and night - our children did not feel comfortable walking past this alone. There is another building site at the other side of the villas so you are penned in on either side by high green plastic walls.

The villa was the next "joy" It had damp patches on every ceiling, broken windows, broken furniture, the sofa looked like it was from a skip - it was worn, faded and covered in stains, the mosquito nets had holes in etc etc. What we thought was the main door was to a cupboard which housed a mattress with huge holes and the stuffing falling out - probably the same ones as are on the beds?! Who knows!? I am the first to admit we are fussy about things like this - that is why we booked a "4 star" hotel as this is not what we expect from "4 stars" The view from our bed was to another building site - one that had a fire going with smoke billowing into our room the next morning....

The service in the bar that evening was dreadful - the barman eventually came to take our order and then didn't return....

We went for dinner - couldn't see a thing as it was pitch black - there were undercooked chips, overcooked rice etc and a seafood BBQ which gave me food poisoning - I complained and was told it was nothing to do with them.....

The swimming pool was dirty and my daughter wouldn't go in it. The spa was awful - I booked to see if it would make the place any better if we had a nice treatment - not to be... I had a gel pedicure and asked when I booked if they could take this off - they said they could. They then ruined the pedicure trying to take one nail off - their nail varnish wouldn't work. The manicure was truly awful and I had to redo it later that day - there nail varnish on the skin all around the nails.

The hotel gave us a "free dinner & massage" to try to compensate for the lack of everything else but we didn't use these given the problems we'd already had....

The best thing about this resort was seeing it disappear into the background as the boat took us to our next hotel - Santhiya on Koh Yao Yai - highly recommend that hotel if you want a good Thai holiday

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cslgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

It is sad to hear that you did not see the true beauty of this stunning location as many of our previous guests have confirmed in their reviews.

We are very proud to have just received another certificate of excellence in recognition of our consistently good reviews from our guests on Trip Advisor. It is a shame that you are in the minority with your view of our resort, nevertheless, we thank you for taking the time to share your opinions and we have noted your detailed feedback.

Kind regards,
Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We just finished 5 nights at the Koyao Island Resort. It was not nearly enough! Our 3 kids and 2 adults stayed in unit 15, the one with the best location in my opinion (it's the one in the first picture on the resort). The waves literally were lapping about 8 feet from our unit. The kids could play on the beach in front of the unit under the shade of trees for almost the entire day. A perfect set up!
The resort itself is spacious and doesn't feel crowded. Centrally located is the the bar, restaurant, main pool and check in area. Spread either side of this are the beach side villas. At the far end is the second pool and the larger villas. There is plenty of space and even though most units were occupied during our stay, things never felt busy.
The resort manages to combine a rustic setting and design with luxury. For example, our unit was essentially outside, with a roof to keep the rain off. Yet the beds and bedding felt luxurious and the lack of AC was no problem as fans were provided for use as needed. The resort has tons of character missing from large resorts, yet enough luxury to feel pampered during your stay.
The staff and very friendly and helpful. Our requests were quickly met and things such as transportation and tours were reliably organized. There are any number of nice touches while staying here : two free massages were included for us, breakfast is included in the rate as was unlimited free bottled water. Additionally, the usually run one or two free activities, like Yoga or a boat trip each day.
We took two boat trips directly from the island. As the sun was strong and we have three pale kids, we stuck to the half day trips but they were well worth doing. Ask for Yone as your guide on the boat trips. He was friendly, knowledgeable and never rushed us - he made sure we knew that we could move on only when we wanted to.

Here comes one or two negatives : the pools are not suitable for children who cannot swim. The restaurant has no kids menu. The beach is not of the calibre to be found in Phuket and the water was quite murky during our stay.

This is however going to be our go-to place for vacations in SE Asia, until at least we find somewhere even more amazing.

Room Tip: Room 15 is the best. It's closest to the water and has a little privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seatrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

What a lovely review to receive, it makes us so happy to know what a wonderful experience you had here during your stay with us!

We are glad that you share our love for the design of our open plan/open air Beach Villas which we agree provide the perfect balance of luxury and a natural feel to really make the most of the stunning scenery and environment we have here at the resort.

The layout of the resort has been carefully considered to provide maximum privacy and peacefulness which is great that this was the feeling you had, even though we were very busy here during your stay.

It warms our hearts to know how welcoming and service minded you found our staff. We really are very proud of our island team here who always prioritize our guests happiness.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed our free activities we offer at the resort and took the opportunity to head out on some excursions to see the real beauty of our location here in Phang Nga Bay. Our guides are so knowledgeable and really make the experience special. We will be sure to pass on the message to Yone that you enjoyed his excursion very much!

We really appreciate your feedback with regards to the swimming pool and will consider this greatly for the future. We are pleased to inform you that our food & beverage team are currently putting together a children's menu for the restaurant. We hope you will enjoy this when you come and visit us again :-)

We understand your comments about the beaches, although they are beautiful and the scenery is second to none here, they are not of the caliber of that you may find in Phuket/Phi Phi. However, we find that this only adds to the charm of the island and will enable the island to keep its integrity and not become a magnet for such mass tourism experienced in places such as those mentioned.

We are so happy to have received all of your feedback and sincerely hope to welcome you and your family back here sometime soon!

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had an excellent stay at Koyao Island Resort for the last four nights of a trip starting at Koh Lipe, Koh Hai, Koh Lanta. The resort is everything that the pics shows. Clean, open, massive rooms and lovely breakfast, restaurant food. We could not believe that even the bar in the open rooms are unlock and nothing goes missing. We had never experience such a sense of freedom and honesty. We are already booking for October. The little town is also cute. Free snorkelling trip, kayaks and bicycles. Motor bikes and bikes with side-car can be rented at hotel. We loved every minute at this excellent hotel. Stunning views.

Room Tip: Stay in the fan villas near the hotel entrance, they are very special. Numbers 1-15
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GNROBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear GNROBB

We are extremely happy that you chose Koyao Island Resort for the last part of your Thailand holiday and its great to hear that it more than met your expectations!

We are very proud of the safe and open environment we are able to offer here meaning that you can really make the most of the stunning scenery our rooms are specially designed to encompass.

Its great that you took the time to explore this special island and make use of the free kayaks and bicycles we offer here at the resort.

We are very excited that you will be returning again in October! We are looking forwards to seeing you already.

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent five nights at this wonderful resort, all the staff were extremely lovely especially the Manager Donny and the lovely Nikki, we really cannot wait to go back, the views are just spectacular and well worth waking up at 5.30am to watch the sunrise, the villas are just beautiful with everything catered for, the swimming pool was lovely and relaxing and well shaded, the food was absolutely glorious with a wide range to choose from. I had a spa treatment while I was there and would highly recommend you go. One of the highlights was a wonderful English singer called Ry who sang and played acoustic guitar on the Friday night he was truly amazing, the bar staff were so lovely and friendly, we also took the free boat trip out on the Saturday with a lovely thai man called Pong, he was extremely informative and showed us such a lovely time, snorkelling in the coves was a wonderful experience, I cannot recommend this resort enough, I have already started saving so I can go back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you Cheryle for your review, what a pleasure it was to have you here!

We are very proud of the stunning scenery and feel that this alone is worth visiting for. Our stunning, luxurious beach front villas complement this environment perfectly. Its so great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful sun rise, we agree that it really is a magical experience and so worth setting your alarm early for!

We are very happy that you enjoyed our delicious cuisine in the restaurant as well as our evening entertainment from the very talented western musician Ry Robson.

We will pass on your kind comments to our staff, especially to Pong and our lovely Spa team who we agree are excellent!

We truly hope that you will be visiting us again next year.

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently spent 5 nights in late march at Koyao and loved it. The rooms are beautiful, traditional thai wooden buildings with fans & mosquito nets and generous terraces and very romantic as you fall asleep to the sound of the sea and the breeze. there are also a couple of modern air conditioned villas and we stayed a couple of nights in one of them and they're fantastic too, very spacious and comfortable set away from the main area of the resort with a pool, shaded pool house with big sofas and loungers and hammocks by the sea. The restaurant food is excellent, the spa treatments are wonderful and good value and the management and staff are truly exceptional. They made us feel so welcome, looked after us exquisitely and were very caring. Cannot recommend them highly enough

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

What a lovely review of our beautiful resort, thank you very much Susan.

We pride our staff on their caring and service minded nature and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the care that everyone took over yourselves and all of our other guests. We really strive to provide a peaceful and welcoming environment and are overjoyed to hear that you had nothing but a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.

We truly hope for the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back here sometime in the near future!

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews