We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, special family vacation :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koyao Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Koyao Island Resort, our new found paradise!
My family and I had a wonderful stay and look forward to our return.
The snorkelling around Chicken Island with our ever so entertaining guide, Pong, was superb, and the 1260 epic stair climb up to Tiger Temple in Krabi with Donnie stand out as great memorable moments.

The gorgeously decorated rustic beach villa was just perfect for us - villa 15 was in true island style, as if it were taken from a scene out of a tropical paradise island movie, just a few steps taken and we were in the ocean.
Food at the resort, cooked by superchef Joe, and local village restaurants was taste bud tantalising and gave us a real taste of Thai cuisine. We were never disappointed.

The staff were great! Thank you Rook, Ronnie, Pueng, Kai and all the wonderful staff for their friendly, positive and helpful attitudes - You all assisted in making our stay a truly happy one.
Donnie, dit was 'n plesier om jou te ontmoet, ons waardeer al jou advies en vriendelikheid :)

Great resort, beautiful island, great vacation!

Room Tip: Room 15 is perfect! a few steps away from the beach. Very private and quiet. I think we were lucky e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so happy that you had such a memorable stay with us at Koyao Island Resort and enjoyed the unique beach front accommodation that we offer here.

It's great to hear that you took advantage of the amazing excursions we offer here and took the opportunity to explore the beautiful surrounding areas of Koh Yao Noi. We hope you're legs are now fully recovered after all those steps to the Tiger Temple!

We will be sure to let Joe know how amazing you found the food at our resort restaurant and will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff that made your stay here so special.

Dit was n groor plisier om julle te ontmeot en veral om die uitstapie na Krabi met julle te deel.

Ons sien uit daarna om julle terug te verwelkom.

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

As many of you, we booked this hotel after reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor but we were very disappointed.

So many things to say about this resort.
Let's start with the good:
- Breathtaking location. We particularly enjoyed waking up very early to watch the sun rise over the rock formations of Phang Nga Bay.
- The hammock beds all over the garden are a nice touch
- Wonderful tail boat excursion to chicken island. Our guide was very nice and very experienced. He knew exactly when and how to avoid big crowds of tourists.

Now the negatives:
- Considering the expensive rate (+250E/night), we expected a 4 or 5 stars experience which we did not find. Rooms were a 3 stars level at max (poor equipment and cleanliness).
- Our villa was right next to constant loud construction work and no compensation was offered to us (the only option offered by management was a once a week group boat excursion that we could not attend as we had already left)
- Breakfast quality was very poor in terms of choice and quality.
- Last but not least: we got a very weird vibe from management, who was quite aggressive and not open to critics when we tried to bring up our remarks (while local staff was quite nice)

Do yourself a favor and book a room somewhere else on this wonderful island:
- Koyao Bay Pavilions for the same price range (we had dinner there and visited a room which was very nice)
- The Six Senses next door if you're looking for a true 5 stars experience (we stayed there after leaving Koyao Island Resort and it was the best choice we could have made)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miette75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback Miette75.

We absolutely agree that the location of Koyao Island Resort is second to none with the most breathtaking scenery overlooking phang-nga bay.

It is a shame to hear how you were not completely happy with your stay here at the resort almost 5 months ago. We are very proud of the resort and, as you can see from our recent trip advisor reviews our guests have been very happy with the service and standards we offer here.

We are undergoing a small amount of renovations within our villas and around the resort during this quieter period in order to continue to improve and offer the best possible amenities to our guests.

The construction site next door affects only a very small portion of our resort and we are sorry you suffered some disturbance from it, and feel that we did not meet your satisfaction to compensate you for this. The management team at the resort are always on hand to help resolve any problems and ensure that all matters are dealt with in the best way possible.

We hope that you do take the opportunity to visit Koh Yao Noi again in the future and come and see us here at the resort to see the many positive updates we have made since you visited us.

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We were in awe of the stunning location- absolute beachfront with stunning views. It was just perfect for our group of two families. So much space for the children to roam in a safe place with only 21 villas. Being there in low season meant the resort was not full and we often had the pools to ourselves not to mention the special discount which made it great value for money. We stayed in the air conditioned villas which were perfect for us as we liked to retreat from the heat and mosquitoes in the evenings. The service was very personal, friendly and helpful. We loved this place. The only disappointment was that there was too much wind to go on any boat trips around the other islands but there was plenty to do on Ko Yao Noi. We are now at a large impersonal resort at Kao Lak but wish we were back at Ko Yao Island resort. we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

It was so great to have your family here at the resort!

Its wonderful to hear how much your children enjoyed the environment here and how safe you felt to let them explore and collect all their shells on the beach.

We are happy that you enjoyed this peaceful time of year and the great rates we are able to offer during this season. It is a shame that you were unable to partake in the excursions you wanted to because of the wind but its also great that you took the opportunity to enjoy the rest of what the island has to offer.

We will be sure to pass on your kind message about the friendly and personal service you received during your stay, our staff will be over-joyed to hear!

We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon to enjoy this stunning location once again and have the opportunity to go on all those boat trips.

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed with my family here in June in one of the air-conditioned villas a short walk along the beach from the main resort. It was so lovely and private with the most amazing views i have ever seen! All of the staff at the resort were incredibly friendly and the service was fantastic and always with a big smile.
We spent 5 nights also at the Resorts Private Villa Lydia which was literally perfection! I cannot describe how wonderful everything about this villa was... the view, the peace, the luxurious furnishings, the private swimming pool! The staff here are fantastic and cannot do enough for you, they cooked us the best food I have ever eaten!
I will definitely be coming back again and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The Private Residence Villa Lydia is outstanding. Best location for a romantic or private family hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555NikkiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are glad that your stay here was full of smiles!

It is great that you enjoyed all our resort has to offer, including the luxury of our Private residence a few minutes from the resort.

We hope that you will return sometime in the not too distant future when we will be ready and waiting to serve you some more of the delicious local cuisine here at the resort.

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a lovely week at Koya Island Resort. So beautiful views, stylish bungalow and furniture, and the team has been so nice to us!
We ve been travelling extensively all around the world, but I would definitively advise you not to miss Koyao Island Resort! And if you want to have your almost private beach, book the bungalow nb 15! And enjoy...
So close to Phuket and so far from the crowd and noise, you will have the most peaceful vacation, biking through the local villages, meeting their smiling inhabitants, kayaking to the nearby islands or even boating in Phang Nga Bay and watching bird nests hunters and fishermen....
There is not a second that could have been better!

Room Tip: Bungalow 15 has the best view and its almost private beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myriam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

What lovely feedback to hear from you of your stay! We are very happy to hear how you enjoyed the privacy of your Family Beach Villa and the close proximity to the beach.

It is a gem of an island here so easily accessible from Phuket/Krabi yet, as you say, so peaceful and unspoilt!

We are very proud that out of all the places you have visited, Koyao Island Resort comes so highly recommended by your family. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back here again sometime soon!

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the new villas, which are quite a walk down the beach from the center of the resort. The villas have a private pool and cabana overlooking the ocean, great sun loungers and it's just the most beautiful view you could imagine.

The staff were lovely, the manager Donnie was a delight and the service was great.

The restaurant has delicious food and is very reasonably priced, the bar is good as well.

A very quiet and beautiful area, looking out to the Thai islands. There are a lot of bugs and my brothers who stayed in the Thai style rooms had a bat come into their room and poo everywhere.

I would definitely recommend the villas!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your stay here, it is really great to hear.

We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our team of how happy you were with the service too. The view from all of our rooms is stunning we agree, thank you for sharing your gorgeous photo from the Panorama Villa you stayed in!

It is true that there can be a few bugs around at this time of year given the tropical environment but we do take many measures to reduce this occurring within the resort to ensure as comfortable stay as possible for all of our guests.

We hope to see you and your family here once again.

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent time there for our 40th anniversary and could not have chosen a better more beautiful and peaceful resort,in contrast with what you find at many Thailand resorts-there's plenty to do and the hospitality was outstanding!! We love Thailand and have done several trips but have decided Koyao Island resort is where we will spend our future holidaysThank you for a lovely time.
Melany-South Africa

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Beach Villa-it was wonderful not to have an aircon -the fans and mosquito nets work e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and we are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed everything about your stay here! We agree that it is definitely a feeling of paradise here at Koyao!

We very much look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future... perhaps we will also get to celebrate your 41st Anniversary with you.

Your Koyao Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.6 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
6.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
779 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Island Hideout - Koh Yao Noi
0.2 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
1,848 reviews
4.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#5 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Island Resort

Address: 24/2 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range: £160 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koyao Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are built in the original Andaman Sea - gypsy style which is optimal for comfort and for the environment. We have used unique local resources with a traditional background while still maintaining, if not surpassing, all modern standards. The mangrove palm leaf roofs of our villas breathe and do not store heat, and air conditioners are definitely not needed.All villas have an undisturbed, spectacular sea view of the famous Phang Nga Bay and can be opened up to the stars at night - and in the morning the rising sun shines onto the beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Island Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Hotel Koyao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing