We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were so thrilled to discover Koh Yao Noi, and in particular Koyao Bay Pavillions. What a perfect place!

Having been to many other places in Thailand years ago, our family of 2 adults and 2 children were keen to try somewhere different. Wanting to avoid the main tourism centres and enjoy some of the peace and natural beauty of Thailand, we discovered Koh Yao Noi. And how pleased with our choice we were! Koyao Bay Pavillions are just like we remembered Thailand from years ago - and a world away from the large, crowded, noisy tourism driven resorts of Phuket etc. In a very peaceful and natural environment on its own private beach, Koyao Bay Pavillions provided a perfect, restful holiday for our family.

While the villas at the front of the resort on the beach were reserved for couples, our family had a large 2 bedroom villa at the back of the resort, about a 100 metre walk to the beach and restaurant. The villa was very peaceful and and there was plenty of room for the family to lounge around in the open air living spaces. The villa also had a small pool which was shared with one other villa. At most times we could have had the pool to ourselves, however, we found we did not use the pool much as the view from the beach was spectacular and the kids were so happy playing games on the beach. While the beach is rocky at low tide, at all other times it was a pleasant place to swim, relax and gaze out over the beautiful limestone islands of the Phang Nga Bay.

Did I mention the food? It was amazing! It was by far the best we had in all of Thailand - authentic Thai, prepared with fresh ingredients and the utmost care. You must try the banana salad! While we tried a couple of other restaurants, the food was much better at Sala than anywhere else on the island.

However, despite all the other amazing aspects of the environment and our stay what we most enjoyed about Koyao Bay Pavillions were the people. Olivier and his team were relaxed, charming and looked afer everything we needed, taking great care to ensure we had the experience we wanted. And as an added bonus, his two boys entertained our children for the entire holiday! My 10 year old children played like children again - there is no need for organised kids activities or electronic devices when you can ride bikes down dirt tracks, build crab houses, swing on a giant swing and circus rope on the beach and take a canoe on an adventure with four friends on board! They had an absolutely fabulous time, made great friends with the boys and already miss them terribly.

Overall, we would highly recommend Koyao Bay Pavillions to anyone who appreciates the natural beauty of Thailand, enjoys great food and wants to stay somewhere authentic and personal that really allows you to disconnect from the world and totally relax in beautiful, peaceful surrounds. We feel priviledged to have stayed at Koyao Bay will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Such a pleasure to discover this place, for sure it worth it.
Far from Phuket and Krabi tourism business enjoy this place with very nice rooms and sea view.
Olivier and his team will welcome you, just for the best. Enjoy thai recipes with just 4 tables in the dining room. just relax, enjoy swimming pool and massage.A place to discover if you like "insolite" places, very calm during the day at night listen birds, frogs or unknown animals.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfrance m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We very much like the peaceful and relaxed atmosphere of Koh Yao Noi and have previously stayed at and enjoyed the beautiful Koyao Island Resort. We recently decided to return to Koh Yao Noi and before re-booking Koyao Island Resort we were curious to research the similarly priced and well-reviewed Koyao Bay Pavilions.

We corresponded with Olivier from Koyao Bay Pavilions before we made our decision and he wrote a charming and informative response to our queries about Koyao Bay Pavilions. After some deliberation we decided to change our plans and make a booking at Koyao Bay Pavilions instead.

For those of you trying to make a similar decision, I hope this review provides a useful and reasonably even-handed comparison between these two lovely places and helps pick the right one for you! Obviously it is best to read all the most recent reviews yourselves and make up you own mind and in the interest of fairness, it is 3 years since we last visited Koyao Island Resort.My comparison here is based on that visit and may not be completely up to date. Equally, I hope Koyao Bay Pavilions does not object to me using this review to compare them with a competitor. I hope they feel they come out well from it.

Location wise they are both on the more scenic western side of the island with fantastic views out to the limestone karst islands of Phang Nga Bay.

Koyao Bay Pavilions is tucked away down a small bumpy track at the bottom end of the Island with its own semi private stretch of beach and in a very rural, private and natural situation. The beach is rocky at low tide, but fantastic to swim off at most other times of the day and very secluded.

The resort has fewer villas than Koyao Island Resort but the view to the beach and islands from the villas is slightly obscured by the trees and the garden which has deliberately been left in a more natural state. The three garden villas are for couples only and the pool shared between a maximum of two other villas, so we rarely had to share and saw little of the other guest except at the restaurant. The resort doesn’t have a reception area, just a small office for the small management team, where you are most welcome to chat and pass the time of day if you want and the bijoux Sala restaurant next door, which looks out over fish ponds and paddy fields.

Koyao Island Resort is on a busier stretch of road (but busy in KYN is nothing to worry about!), beneath the very exclusive Six Senses and near a couple of other small resorts and restaurants. We found on our last stay, 3 years ago, there was a bit of noise late at night from the bar behind the resort, but as I haven’t stayed recently, I can’t say if this is still a problem. We did note the bar is still in business and that there is more building work going on directly next to the resort. There are more villas at Koyao Island Resort (but they are still reasonably private) and the garden is pretty but more manicured. Many of the villas have a more unobstructed view out to the islands and the view from the infinity pool is absolutely fantastic. It is our most abiding memory from our previous stay. The beach is pretty but not very big.


We found Koyao Island Resort attracted a lot of young families, and had plenty of organised activities.If you are looking for a more romantic escape then I think Koyao Pavilions might suit better - for a sociable couple or a family looking for a slightly more lively experience and more company, Koyao Island Resort may be more suitable.

The beachfront villas at Koyao Pavilions are for couples only and the pool shared by a maximum of two other couples. We rarely had to share the pool and saw little of the other guests except at the restaurant. The other family villas that the resort manages are not within view and have their own private pools so it is all very peaceful and quiet. Thai massages were available to book at Koyao Pavilions and took place in your private sala. From memory, they were much cheaper than those offered at the spa at Koyao Island Resort but without the same range of treatments or separate spa area.

In terms of size and quality, the villas at both resorts are quite similar in style and were designed by the same architect. However, the villas at Koyao Pavilions are fewer and larger and also have their own separate open air sala for lounging during the day and night, which was a real bonus. Beds were very comfortable and open air shower areas very similar in both places. Insects and creepy crawlies are a fact of life in this part of the world wherever you stay. If you don’t like them, a hermetically sealed air-conditioned bedroom in a 500 room resort in Phuket might suit you better.

The staff at Koyao Pavilions have a policy of leaving you alone to enjoy the solitude, but will quickly sort out any issue or problem as soon as you bring it to their attention. Both Bea/e?, Olivier and the owner, Georges were very friendly and informative and have a very relaxed and informal management style, making you feel welcome and part of the family (but were not unprofessional in any way either)! Management at Koyao Island was a bit slicker and more polished but also very friendly.

In our mind, the most convincing factor for staying at Koyao Bay Pavilions however is the quality of the food. The variety and originality of every meal was hands down the best we had on the entire trip, let alone the island and a real highlight (ask for the banana flower salad!)

My biggest disappointment about staying at Koyao Island Resort on our previous visit was the inconsistency and relative expense of the food at the restaurant. We weren’t inclined to go back and see if it had improved, but you only have to read the other reviews of the restaurant at Koyao Bay Pavilions to see we are not alone in our praise. The staff were very flexible and about adapting the already extensive menu to personal taste and ingredients fresh and interesting.

In short, if spectacular views, more organised activity, a slightly smarter aesthetic and slicker management team are your thing, you may well prefer Koyao Island Resort, but for relaxation, natural beauty, privacy and great food and company, go to Koyao Bay Pavilions. We will be returning to the latter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I wanted a quiet relaxing experience in Thailand where we could also get a taste of the culture and natural beauty of Thailand. We researched the options extensively and chose Koyao Bay Pavilions and we loved it. Olivier, the manager, went out of his way to help make our holiday a great experience. The location is superb; the end of a peninsula which is away from noisy traffic and surrounded by farmland and bush on three sides and water on the view over the Simlan Islands on the other.

The accommodation is luxurious and yet authentic Thai. The pavilions have heaps of room and almost feel over the top for just one couple (but we lapped it up). The bedroom pavilion is like a small house and the open air lounge pavilion is simple luxury for soaking up the warm climate while reading a book or eating tropical fruit and chatting to your partner. We just loved that feeling of being pampered, but in an authentic and peaceful Thai bush setting.

The food was amazing! It is a tribute to the owners and Olivier and his wife to have melded the French obsession for quality with the tastes of the Thai cuisine. We ate nowhere else but the resort's restaurant for the 7 days we were there, and I would do the same next time because Thai food does not come any better.

The resort surrounds are beautiful and the wildlife (birds particularly) interesting although not as prolific as I would have thought for such a tropical climate.

There is plenty to do on the island and getting around by scooter is a hoot. (Try getting caught in a tropical downpour, but had fun doing what the locals do - put on a poncho and keep going.)

We would recommend 7 nights there if you can afford the time because you get into a great rythm and we loved getting to know the other visitors (mainly French). We loved the social side of getting to know Olivier and George, the owner, the other guests and the great restaurant staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights here. We originally booked for 4 but extended by 1 night, in hindsight wish we had stayed longer. From our initial contact with the Manager, Olivier, until the day we left everything was fabulous. I sent so many emails asking questions before we arrived that were always answered promptly and nothing was too much trouble. We booked directly with the resort and organised a private transfer in by longboat which was such a wonderful way to begin our stay.
We stayed in Rice Field Cottage which was simply beautiful. So much room and so much attention to detail, all the bits and pieces and furniture have obviously been chosen very carefully and it gives you a tiny taste of almost living there rather than just visiting. The Cottage is a 5 minute walk down a dirt road to the resort restaurant and beach area but I loved this walk. The road takes you past a field with a couple of buffalo, locals driving by on their way to and from work, a creek which often has a monitor lizard or two hanging about, and at night there are fire flies twinkling all around. We found this walk added to the whole experience and made us feel a bit more immersed in the whole Thailand experience.
The beach is tidal with stunning views. Wonderful for swimming when the tide is high, although the water is not crystal clear but warm and very inviting. We did a couple of boat trips out to Hong Island and had a picnic lunch and snorkelled in several different spots. The trips were organised through the resort, and the boat captain went out of his way to take us to spots where there were no crowds and if we pulled up somewhere and it was a bit rough just turned the boat around and kept going until he found somewhere calmer.
Olivier and his staff genuinely care about their guests and do everything they can to ensure you are enjoying your stay. I have racked my brain and can't think of a single thing to fault.
We have two young girls (aged 11 and 9) and we all loved it. Our girls spent hours on the beach collecting hermit crabs and playing on the swing. They became good friends with Olivier's two boys. I don't remember ever feeling so sad to be leaving anywhere.
My husband and I have travelled extensively through the Pacific, this was our third trip to Thailand and we have stayed in several Small Luxury Resorts of the World, around Africa and the Maldives and Koyao Bay Pavillions is right up there with the best in our opinion. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles and luxury of a 6 star resort but for us it ticked all the boxes and Olivier and his staff should be congratulated for creating such a wonderful place.
I cannot recommend this resort highly enough.

Room Tip: Rice Field Cottage was wonderful, however it had 2 bedrooms in 2 separate wings which when we booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katelucy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We wanted somewhere special to visit for our special weekend and this was exactly what we wanted!

Our taxi driver wasted no time in telling us that we had chosen a peaceful get away! In fact we thought that he had taken a wrong turn! We were welcomed with pure peace – the most activity we saw was the Hermit Crabs on the adjacent beach – a place to escape to be together.
The Taara villa that we stayed in was just what we wanted – an escape for us as a family.

We were so comfortable and Olivier was going to rent us motorbikes but we chose not to because everything that we wanted we found there. There was authentic Thai food at the La Sala which was wonderful (but if you wanted some French fries they could get them for you).
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

We will hopefully visit them again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our stay at Koyao Bay Pavilions was amazing, we staying in one of the three beach suites, and what a wonderful experience. The suites are beautiful, have everything you need, we loved the open air pavilion, each suite has it's own private pavilion looking out onto the ocean, and next to a shared pool with the other two suites. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, but also let us enjoy our own private time. I have to say the food is the most amazing food we have ever had in Thailand, it is freshly cooked in a beautiful kitchen, the restaurant is so quaint and we just loved it all.

If you are looking for a piece of paradise which is undeveloped and not overrun by tourism, with high quality accommodation, fabulous food, excellent and friendly service, then you have found it at Koyao Bay Pavilions. Thank you for a wonderful stay, and thank you Olivier for everything you did to make our stay extra special.

Room Tip: For couples a beach suite is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttsoupelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
1.2 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel
Cape Kudu Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
219 reviews
4.2 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
871 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Island Hideout - Koh Yao Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
802 reviews
5.9 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#5 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
729 reviews
2.1 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#2 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Bay Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Bay Pavilions

Address: 46/7 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range: £65 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koyao Bay Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the natural shoreline, paddy fields and forested hills, a coconut plantation along an untamed and deserted beach shelters three Pavilions arranged around a central swimming pool. Two-bedrooms pool Cottages & Villas, particularly adapted for families with children, are within small distance from the resort... A haven of peace for nature lovers, in search of uttermost privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Bay Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Bay Pavilions Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing