We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too good to be true”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“too good to be true”
Reviewed 25 November 2008

THE place to chill - everything else has already been written. well, just one remark regarding the sunsets - you'll be hardly able to see sunsets from your sala (they are oriented to the east and even if the wine is good - the sun will still set on the opposite side ) however - everything else is just true. go there - but please not when we would like to come back ;-)

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    35
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
114
184
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

What can I say? After a whole year of counting the days until we could return, getting off the long tail boat and planting my feet in the sand was like landing in heaven.
Jean was there to meet us, but I could not help racing ahead to our lovely sala - just to touch it and make sure it was all real. Yesssss.
Thus started 5 perfect days of relaxation, pampering, fantastic food and great company.
Met some marvellous ppl from London and Paris. Had a lovely evening together around the poolside bbq with fresh fish, crabs, prawns and yummy salads.
Lovely swims in the oceans and walks along the beach at low tide. The setting sun is spectacular when it hits the hongs in the distance.
The hammocks were just as we left them. The only inducements to getting out were to cool off with a dip, have a soothing massage and to stuff our faces.
Thank you so much to Jean, Georges, Azip, Bee and the lovely support staff for making us feel so welcome, relaxed and so very much at home (i miss my morning hot chocolate).
The count down begins to 2010 when we shall be back in force to rent out the whole resort. We cannot wait to introduce our friends to the heaven that is Koyao Bay Pavillions.

  • Liked — Everything - cannot fault a thing.
  • Disliked — Having to leave - again!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hippee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

I know Koh Yao Noi since 4 years, and I am astonished how fast things are growing here, I hope the rustique manner and the local culture can be preserved. Given the fact that I had an different hotel in mind, I was lucky to book this small but very interesting hotel. We just tried this hotel for one night, and I can highly recommend to book some nights or spent your whole vacation here.
The pavillion which we had was awesome in its architecture and offered pure space. The outside sala was a highlight of its own, having a drink and whatch the sunset its unpayable. The beach and the pool are wonderful, the secluded beach is even on low tide an fantastic spot to take a walk or just enjoy the scenery. The food was very good and as my friend always said, you just dont feel like being in a hotel. After coming from the Oriental in Bangkok, we could not enjoy this house more, it was like coming back to a friends house, and our hosts Jean and George were very friendly. The price is totally fine, and the offered complimentary massage was the best massage ever we had in Thailand, so we ordered the Massage again for the next day.
We will certainly be back.

  • Liked — The outdoor sala
  • Disliked — No AC
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Karimcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our holiday. It was the most luxurious place we stayed and I loved the design of the salas. It's very contemporary and has a 5 star feel to the living accomodation. Jean and George the owners are very laid back and although they are on hand if you need them, they do kind of leave the place to you which felt nice. The beach is gorgeous and the view fantastic. The food was very special -Jean has a history of hotel management and this really shows. We were given choices of fresh fish each day and once we had decided what we prefered, Jean would go back on his bike and collect our dinner then recommend how we have it cooked whilst we sat realxing. It was excellent service. We did think it was expensive though, we went at low season and I cannot imagine being happy paying the high season prices, it doesn't really seem like value for money. Food was more expensive than anywhere else we had stayed, some of the dishes were the best we'd experienced, others were average. Also we were charged 400 baht for using their Kayak which seemed unfair - if a property has a Kayak you'd think they would just let people use it for free. We were happy with our stay - especially the outdoor bathroom - one of the best I have ever seen. My husband was eaten alive by mosquito's and the weather wasn't good so we decided to cut our stay short and visit Bangkok for the last few days which proved to be a great idea. George recommended a hotel and it was a good choice. I would recommend this place if you want to get away from everything and enjoy good food, massages and relaxing.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireMustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Located by the sea far away from the road, this place is really gorgeous. Pavillons built in pure thai style, nicely decorated with all modern equipment (aire conditionning not needed). Service is excellent and the mix French Thai touch for the food is astonishing.
Christophe

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank CacoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

For our first trip to Thailand, my husband, 2YO son and myself had high expectations: a small boutique hotel directly on the beach, in a low-key area that wasn't over-developed and still retained traditional charm, with luxurious accommodations, without paying an arm and a leg. After hours of searching, we couldn't find what we were looking for on Phuket Island, proper.

We chose Koyao Bay Pavilions because it has everything:
1) the killer view of the Phang Nga bay with the gorgeous towering islands made famous in the James Bond movie
2) tucked away on Koh Yao Noi island which is charming and one can see the locals living their lives fishing, farming rice, going to school and market, etc. Of note this is a Muslim island, which for me, added to the charm.
3) Lovely accommodations with two huge private living areas, the sala an open-air living room, and a separated large bedroom with walk-in closet, spacious open-air bathroom. This was perfect for us because at night while our son slept we could have dinner brought to us in our private sala.
4) Intimate setting - only 4 pavilions total.
5) Good food. I wouldn't say it was amazing food, but it was definitely delicious, with nothing to criticize. Of note: buy your wine at the airport, at the duty-free store next to baggage claim. You'll save 50%
6) Activities e.g. touring the island on scooter, hiring a boat to tour the islands in the bay, sea kayaking

The only thing I needed to get used to was the lack of air conditioning, but the fact is, you simply can't have the open-air charm and still have air-con...so I adapatd and with the fans and the ocean breeze didn't miss it.

The trip from Phuket airport was quite easy - the hotel arranged everything. It's about a 20min drive to the pier and then you take a traditional (yet motorized) boat to the island which takes an hour. Then it's about a 15 minute cab ride from the Koh Yao Noi pier to the hotel. I thought the airport transfer was a lovely experience and perfect introduction to island living.

My husband "accidentally" left his favorite hat there...personally I think it's just a ruse so we have to go back. Not that I mind...

  • Liked — The view of/promixity to Phang Nga bay, the intimacy, the luxurious rustic accommodations, the island feeling
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything myself, but if you want snooty 5-star service, this probably isn't the place...it's very low-key
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank steffania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

We came here after a very active two weeks in Thailand and it was perfect. For a start, you don't feel you're in a hotel, more like a privileged guest in a private estate. The pavilions are beautiful, made with dark wood, spacious and elegant. We stayed in the pavilion acomodation where you get a large "chalet" for want of a better word and an independent open air pavilion for reading, relaxing or having your daily massage. The beach is adjacent and empty with lovely views to other islands. You can be served in your pavilion, but we preferred to eat in the dining area where we could pop into the kitchen and see how the girl cooks were getting on.Food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Jean the manager was very helpful in going into the village to get whatever we fancied for dinner, offered excursions (we declined cause we were resting) and never tried to "sell" anything to us, which we appreciated. Georges, the French architect/part owner was fun and at cocktail time we really felt we were among friends. Only negative point, you can only swim from the beach at high tide, but so what, given so many positives!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
1.2 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.2 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
692 reviews
2.1 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
759 reviews
5.9 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
638 reviews
8.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Bay Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Bay Pavilions

Property: Koyao Bay Pavilions
Address: 46/7 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Koyao Bay Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the natural shoreline, paddy fields and forested hills, a coconut plantation along an untamed and deserted beach shelters three Pavilions arranged around a central swimming pool. Two-bedrooms pool Cottages & Villas, particularly adapted for families with children, are within small distance from the resort... A haven of peace for nature lovers, in search of uttermost privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Bay Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Bay Pavilions Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing