We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic week with kids. Beach is only for contemplation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koyao Bay Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic week with kids. Beach is only for contemplation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Just back from a 1 week holiday at Koh Yao Noi Pavillions. We were together with 3 kids my mother and therefore had rented out 2 pavillions.
Positives:
-Fantastic location, scenery is beautyful, everything is so quiet
-Very private, most of the time we had the hotel and beach just for us
-George and Bee, the owners will take care of everything
-Excellent food if you love Thai. Have eaten thai in a lot of places and this has been by far the best and most tasty Thai we have eaten. 1 week eating from the menu and was not bored
-The romms are very beautiful appointed
-The new cocktail lounge (we were the 1st users!!) is fantastic
-The whole place is very child friendly as kids can just roam along the whole place and it is very easygoing.

Things we did not liked that much:
- Massage is on the floor of the sale which is not very private and not clean. Massages are very average and the massesuses do not seem very committed. Only Thai massages.
- The beach is not what you imagine of a clear and great swimming. Water is very murky and when there is low tide you cannot use it. This is a hotel where beach is more for contemplating that really swimming
- Service is very inconsistent, often at breakfast we would need to get our own things, dirty dishes would be left overnight in the sala, no cocktails. No candles and nice table set-up, small details are missing. Light in rooms is a bit dark. No turndown service and change of towels
- The whole resort is very dark at night, the swimming pool has no light at night (very dangerous for kids), also no lights in the garden
- Lack of beachchairs. There are only 6 beach chairs but it seems the gusets from the villas also use the facilities so you can end up "fighting" for beach chairs

Overall we had a great week and the children enjoyed it. We rented out some scooters which enabled us to get to know the island at your own pace, which I would recommend. Only flaw is that for the price they charge we expected a bit more professional service which means more care with small service details

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IstanbulPortuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    35
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
105
182
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
laos
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

My wife and I are living in the region for over ten years. We have been to many great places and are addicted to Thai food. We have been enjoying a week holidays at Koh Yao Bay Pavillon recently. With two young children and grand-parents from France. Our stay was absolutely delightful and we cannot wait to get back there! The site is set in an amazing landscape with a 'private' beach with a view on the spectacular scenery that the pan Nga Bay offers. The restaurant is probably one of the best we have experienced in Thailand with fresh seafood cooked by extraordinary talented and friendly cooks who are always keen in sharing some of their secrets with their guests. The villas are built and decorated with a simple but very delicate taste. Staff is discreet and serviceable and Georges, the owner, is so knowledgeable about Thailand and the region that it is a real pleasure to listen to his stories on sunset while enjoying a drink by the poolside. Thailand as we love it.
Sebastien Duffillot & family

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebdulaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

This resort exceeded our expectations; which were for a beach front, quiet, but rustic retreat on the island of Ko Yao Noi. If you are expecting an air conditioned, upscale resort with luxury amenities then you might be disappointed. However, if you want superb food, relaxing atmosphere, rustic but more than comfortable rooms with daily massage than you will be impressed. The location with views of Phang Nga Bay is superb and the staff and owners are wonderful and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Back again for our third year in a row. Now counting down to our trip next year.
This time we caught the fast ferry to Koy Yao Noi at 9.40am. 200 baht per person for the approx 30 minute trip from Bangrok Pier in Phuket to Manoh Pier on Koy Yao Noi.
Nice quick smooth trip which got us there a whole lot quicker to enjoy everything:)
Picked up by Tuk Tuk and delivered to the resort. It was so lovely to see George, Bee, Azip and little Cecile` again as well as the tireless staff who work hard towards making your stay an enjoyable one.
Had our usual room and sala. Settled into the rythym of doing nothing again very quickly.
As I said in previous reviews, the sunsets are spectacular when the setting sun hits the hongs. I know the sun sets over the west and you cannot see it setting, however the rays of the sun hit the hongs in the east and they all light up like Christmas trees. We always time our beach walk with this (after our wonderful included massages:) so as not to miss out a single second.
Four days of relaxing, swimming, lazing in hammocks and incredible food as usual.
Special treat from George and Bee was a night out at a local restaurant which did an amazing barbeque style dish. Wow! Thanks again so much for introducing us to it, we will certainly try it again next year.
You can't go wrong in choosing this place for a chance to unwind, get rid of all the years stress and chill. You are so well looked after and you can be as energetic or lazy as you want.
Next year, we will try out Krabi and venture to Koyao from that direction. Crossing the days off the calendar.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippeeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

We stayed in the rice field cottage, although called a cottage it was huge!! although built trditional It is 2 storey high, our friend had the top floor which was fantastic and we had the ground floor, this had the aircon but really didn't need it due to all windows being slatted wood. We had our own sarla at the side of the cottage (house!) the seperate kitchen was great cold beers etc. We had breakfast in the club house a few times but bought locally eggs bread fruit etc from the local shops so ate breakfast in the sarla as this is well equiped to, with a lages table and chairs, this was self catering at its very best. Locality we found beach excellent 2m walk, we had pool shared with the other cottage (house again huge)!! but very quiet we actually had pool to our selves most days. Food in club house excellent a little bit more expensive, but worth it. We hired a jeep, so ate locally to, shops/resturants about 5/10mins away, we espicially enjoyed the Je'taime resturante, Joy the cook there brillant, and the owners fantastic hosts. Can't praise the staff enough at the pavillions, very attentive, and knowledgeable. We had a look in the pavillions they are beautiful, fantastic sea views, tide does go in and out, and cant really swim in low tide but pool for pavillions is excellent too. We are hoping to visit again this year fingers crossed!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzySouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

THE place to chill - everything else has already been written. well, just one remark regarding the sunsets - you'll be hardly able to see sunsets from your sala (they are oriented to the east and even if the wine is good - the sun will still set on the opposite side ) however - everything else is just true. go there - but please not when we would like to come back ;-)

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

What can I say? After a whole year of counting the days until we could return, getting off the long tail boat and planting my feet in the sand was like landing in heaven.
Jean was there to meet us, but I could not help racing ahead to our lovely sala - just to touch it and make sure it was all real. Yesssss.
Thus started 5 perfect days of relaxation, pampering, fantastic food and great company.
Met some marvellous ppl from London and Paris. Had a lovely evening together around the poolside bbq with fresh fish, crabs, prawns and yummy salads.
Lovely swims in the oceans and walks along the beach at low tide. The setting sun is spectacular when it hits the hongs in the distance.
The hammocks were just as we left them. The only inducements to getting out were to cool off with a dip, have a soothing massage and to stuff our faces.
Thank you so much to Jean, Georges, Azip, Bee and the lovely support staff for making us feel so welcome, relaxed and so very much at home (i miss my morning hot chocolate).
The count down begins to 2010 when we shall be back in force to rent out the whole resort. We cannot wait to introduce our friends to the heaven that is Koyao Bay Pavillions.

  • Liked — Everything - cannot fault a thing.
  • Disliked — Having to leave - again!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hippee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
4.2 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.2 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
8.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Laguna Villas Yao Noi
Laguna Villas Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Bay Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Bay Pavilions

Property: Koyao Bay Pavilions
Address: 46/7 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Koyao Bay Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the natural shoreline, paddy fields and forested hills, a coconut plantation along an untamed and deserted beach shelters three Pavilions arranged around a central swimming pool. Two-bedrooms pool Cottages & Villas, particularly adapted for families with children, are within small distance from the resort... A haven of peace for nature lovers, in search of uttermost privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Bay Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Bay Pavilions Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing