We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lom Lae Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Ko Yao Noi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Plus:
- Nice breakfast with excellent bread
- The food was good, but not excellent. I am, however, hard to please as I live in Thailand and know what good Thai food is supposed to taste like.
- Lovely natural beach

Minus:
- The building style of the Bungalows could be improved by sealing off the walls of the rooms. Many more construction details could be improved. I have stayed in much better beach bungalows.
- The cleaning of the rooms could be better. They should swipe them with water every day as a lot of dirt falls down from all kind of insects.
- I left a towel on the floor for exchange. They hung it over a chair to be dried. Absolute no go for me! After a complaint they exchanged it.

Since other resorts are even more expensive Lom Lae is still a good option on Ko Yao Noi. But trust me, if it wasn't at the beach, noone would stay there in my opinion.

Room Tip: Don't take the bungalow in the back.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWJT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Lom Lae Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

My wife, 8 years old son, 5 years old daughter and I spend 5 days at Lom Lae. We really liked the atmosphere, the food and the service. And the beach and soroundigs also had high class. The bungalow was a bit dark.

It's great to find such a place 45 min from Phuket!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is a great place to stay to get away from the Phuket crowds. Koh Yao Noi is a lovely island, and not over-run with tourists. The hotel provides very good service. There was a problem with our reservation, arranged by a tour company, so the hotel gave us a great rate on a larger unit than the one we thought we had reserved. We were right on the beachfront, so the sounds of the sea were super. The grounds are beautiful, but I do not know how the sleeping would be away from the cooling sea breezes. We also enjoyed the food a lot, especially the french toast for breakfast (homemade bread). The staff was very helpful, and the birdwatching was good. I was traveling with my sister, and since we are campers, we thought the resort was quite comfortable, even luxurious (in a beachy way!) If you love big chain hotels, it might seem rustic to you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birderPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

After 10 nights tripping around north Thailand and a couple of nights on Krabi we headed to Lom Lae Resort for 3 nights of relaxing. The bungalows were fantastic and definitely large enough for our family of 4. The kids did their own thing exploring on the beach and watching the wildlife whilst my husband and i just lazed around in our hammock on our deck or on the hammock scattered in from on the resort. On low tide we could walk down to the left of the beach for a few little eateries or simply order at Lom Lae. Simple breaky but very filling!
Great food, Great place, Great staff!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renae j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

January 2013.

We specifically looked for at place in Thailand where we could combine relaxation, beach and local life - Koh Yao Noi has all this and it is very well complimented with a stay at Lom Lae Beach Resort.

Upon arrival we were welcomed in a very personal manner by our host Dagmar who took plenty of time explaining how everything worked and what options we had for enjoying our stay. Some reviewers felt like being explained the "rules" but we think it's nice to know things work and what to expect!

Fortunately most reviews here on TripAdvisor speaks the truth about Lom Lae, but some reviewers must have expected something completely different. Here is our experience:

The Bungalows are all in very good shape. Build from sturdy wood they blend in nicely with the beautiful scenery surrounding Lom Lae which is kept perfect. We booked a beach front bungalow and the view from our balcony was awesome. All nights we could sit out and enjoy the ocean view, which is only broken down by the trees on the beach. The bungalow was very clean, yes some pillows on the terrace was used, but not a bother at all. Rooms where cleaned every day and the complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water refilled. The bathroom is attached to the bungalow and like many other places in Thailand somewhat open towards the rest of the bungalow, just something you need to get used to. The bathroom had water heater for the shower, not that you really needed a hot shower in the heat, but the option was there.

The beach at Lom Lae is one of the best we saw on our trip, of course many things (leafs, branches and some plastics) get washed up on the beach, but the staff is quick to clean any debris. Along the beach hammocks hang for your pleasure. The tides in Phang Nga Bay are big and the water on the beach changes dramatically during the day. It's recommended to ask the staff for a view of the tides tables to plan your stay, the tides vary a lot during the week.

Although Lom Lae is secluded there is still a lot to do. We shared a long tail boat 4 persons for one day and went snorkeling in the surrounding islands - great value. The boats can take 6-8 people and if you share it can get very cheap. Another day we took out a kayak and went exploring on our own, hard work but a nice trip. Also we would very much like to recommend Mina's cooking class in her own house in a nearby town. Mina is a great teacher and it is great to take home the knowledge to make your own Thai food the real way!

If you are a diver Lom Lae also has an on location dive center. We did 2 dives and the staff is very friendly. The prices are more expensive than in the major turist areas. Also it is important to check with the lunar (tide) table for when the waters in the bay has the best visibility.

All in all our stay at Lom Lae was unforgettable and we give it our very best recommendations.

And again I stress what other reviewers say:
This is not a 7-star luxury spa with european style buffet and waiters in ironed suits! It's much better! It is a secluded tropical paradise where the pool is the sea and emphasis is on relaxation, swimming, real thai food and more relaxation.

Thank you Dagmar and the entire staff at Lom Lae Beach Resort for making our vacation special!

Morten and Sandra, Denmark

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My wife, 2 year old son, 4 year old daughter and I have just returned after a two week stay at Lom'Lae and could not have asked for anything more. From their website and other reviews on this website Lom'Lae looked and sounded like the perfect holiday destination for our family.

Lom'Lae exceeded all expectations for all of us from the location to the amazing service every member of the staff gave us. The setting for this resort is a beautiful blend of beach front, well cared for gardens and a touch of jungle. The beach and the view are just breath taking, postcard perfect.

The bungalows were nice and big with plenty of space between so we didn't feel the kids were disturbing the other guests. They were very clean and well maintained, coming back from breakfast everyday to a clean and tidied bungalow was a real treat for us. The mini fridge was a big plus so we could keep some treats and drinks for the kids cold and available. The free bottles of water restocked in the fridge everyday was greatly appreciated and unexpected. Everything from fresh towels, shampoo, soap, umbrella, extension cable, plug converter and torch were all supplied with the bungalow. A big difference from when I was backpacking around Thailand twelve years ago!

The nature and wildlife within the resort was another huge plus for us, having the children experience and see new animals and creatures was very important for us. The kids loved the huge monitor lizards roaming around (perfectly safe and harmless), the huge butterflies, the frogs, even the very large and harmless spiders, the praying mantis, the geckos, the resident cats, the wide variety of birds and of course the coconut collecting monkeys that came on our last day.

We did a nice blend of relaxing with lots of swimming and then taking day trips or doing activities with the kids. The visit to the fish farm is a must for any families staying at Lom'Lae, feeding and handling an array of different fish and marine life. The kids got to handle box fish, starfish, lobsters, horseshoe crabs, pufferfish and even got to stroke a pair of leopard sharks! They got to feed an assortment of fish from angel fish to huge grouper fish, moray eels and of course the leopard sharks. There are plenty of boat trips and things to do on the island that can be easily organised by the staff.

We can't praise the staff at Lom'Lae enough, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with friendliness, attentiveness and professionalism. My wife is in the hotel industry and we have travelled extensively around the world and stayed in everything from hostels to five star hotels and resorts so service is an important part of any trip. They handled anything and everything we needed with great efficiency, from food requests to organising a motorbike with a sidecar to general information about the island. Everything was handled with a smile and such warm friendliness that you felt nothing was too much to ask for or too much trouble for them to organise. They really make this such a special place that we can't wait for a return visit in the future.

The Island itself had everything we needed to keep us going and entertained. They have three ATM's so no need for money runs to the mainland, a 7eleven for supplies for the kids, plenty of shops and lots of good restaurants.

Lom'Lae is the perfect resort if you want to have a nice calm relaxed holiday in a picturesque serene environment with a team of staff dedicated to provide excellent service and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We spent 2 weeks at Lom Lae for our honeymoon and could not have asked for a better experience. Lom Lae is ideally situated right on a beautiful beach framed by trees and looking out to the unique limestone islands. There are hammocks placed right over the water where we spent many happy hours relaxing. The bungalows are private and well maintained. We did have a resident gecko and frog however we became quite fond of them by the end of our stay!

The staff were all friendly and helpful - nothing was ever a problem for them be it organising bicycles, special requests with the food or arranging transfers to and from the island. I would highly recommend chartering a boat (the boat man from the resort was just fantastic) and taking the time to go caving and snorkelling - these trips were a true highlight and allowed us to see some beautiful untouched regions of Thailand. We found the food at the resort absolutely delicious - we ate several other places on the island but found Lom Lae's food to be the best by far - fresh, simple and tasty Thai cuisine!

If you are looking for an island resort featuring a pool with a swim up bar, 24 hour cable tv, air conditioned suites and a happening night life then this is not the place for you. However, if you are after a place to unwind, relax and take a real break with family and friends in a peaceful and picturesque setting then I could not recommend Lom Lae more highly! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rez16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.1 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
359 reviews
4.2 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
763 reviews
6.0 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
648 reviews
2.1 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lom Lae Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lom Lae Beach Resort

Address: P.O. Box 9, Ko Yao Noi, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range: £66 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lom Lae Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lom Lae Beach Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing