We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a bed for the night.....not much more” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vane House

Vane House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vane House
Ranked #5 of 7 Osmotherley B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's a bed for the night.....not much more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Night 9 of our C2C trek, and imagine our delight at finding ourselves in what is a charming, sleepy little english village with a choice of pubs and restaurants.....looked like it was going to be a little slice of heaven, and then......

We checked in at Vane House. Packhorse had told us check-in was strictly not before 4.00 pm so we had lunch, wandered around, and then at 4.00 pm sharp, rang the door and met our host. From the start we drew the conclusion that this is a guy working under pressure - looks like he gives driving lessons as his real job - and that Vane House, or perhaps it's just the guests, are annoying distractions.

It's always tough making these calls because it is impossible to know what is going on in this guy's life. At the end of the day, however, you can only react to what you experienced. He showed us to our rooms, outlined a few of the "do's and don'ts", and was probably more quickly efficient than engaging. He seemed to want to get away. He did, however, win quite a few points recommending The White Lion for dinner. It was one of the best meals we had on the whole C2C, so I do thank him for that.

We didn't have any heat to dry things, and our boots joined those of fellow walkers lined up in the front hall. Breakfast was efficient but ordinary and hurried - again the feeling was that everything was being done around other commitments.

Our room was functional, comfortable, warm and clean but separate sheets on bed could suggest doona/duvet covers are not changed after every guest (gulp). Bathroom was small but functional - good grief, there's that word "functional" again. I guess that is my conclusion - the owner provides a service that is functional rather than an experience and there is nothing to make you want to go back. That was also the feedback from others we met on the track. Probably a 5 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
16
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here on our Coast to Coast walk. The initial welcome was the best of anything. The entrance had all the guests wet boots lined up on the floor and no ability to dry them out and no offer of help from the host. The room had no heat and we put our wet socks on a rack in the kitchen late at night hoping they would dry by morning. The kitchen was the only warm room in the place (and it was generally off limits - had to slip in after the host turned in. The room was comfortable enough, but without heat to dry out the clothes (and no offer from the host to help out) we weren't impressed. We asked to order a lunch the night before to which the host responded 'it's a bit late for that'. Simply not acceptable.We did ask for a simple ham sandwich on brown bread for the morning. After a breakfast delivered by our host who clearly didn't want to be hosting anything, our fully packed lunches were summarily plopped on the floor - we only wanted a sandwich. Our host was curt and objectionable that we didn't want the full lunch and on changing it back to a sandwich each, he accused us of not returning all the remainder and promptly told us the cost for 3 sandwiches and 3 pieces of fruit would be 20 quid. Some frustrating moments followed with us exasperated, settling up at 15 quid (still a ripoff) and wanting to leave as fast a possible - in our damp boots. Oh, and remember the brown bread - well, when we opened it up at midday it turned out to be a pathetically thin slice of ham on white bread. Needless to say, I wouldn't stay here again until there's a new host in place.........

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here on 3rd night of Cleveland walk. Welcome was a little curt and we had to order breakfast before we went to room. Room was lovely - newly refurbed and we had a great night's sleep. Quality of breakfast wasn't great and considering it had been pre-ordered for a specific time it did seem to be overcooked. Nice position in pleasant village.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valstevehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed with a group of friends, and our experiences match those of other negative reviewers. Our room was very cold - I slept in my walking clothes the first night! When we asked for an extra duvet the host said he didn't have any. Some friends had wanted to cancel but were told they couldn't and would have to pay the full amount. The host even offered to take the money from them there and then over the phone. General air of misery over the whole place.

Room Tip: My tip - don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobtherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

I was surprised to see previous reviews as the hosts were very welcoming during the 4 nights we were there and couldn't have done more for me and my family. I have 2 children (boys) aged 7 and 5 and B&Bs don't automatically lend themselves to kids but Alan and his wife (and their small son) chatted to the boys and even let them into their own private living room and chatted to them while I packed the luggage. They even called them over to see a toad in the front area. Kids loved it. Breakfast was high quality, well cooked, and on time. Bedrooms appeared newly decorated and clean. Only comment would be that one bedroom was very warm and one quite chilly - the kids slept far better in the chilly one - but would be worth specifying which your preference is before booking.... we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KES1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

really convientient place to stay for walking with some great pubs a couple of minutes walk away and good food aswell. the B&B was very good, very clean and the service was fine

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnc5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Arrived on a cold wet day, room was clean and looked newly furnished but was freezing. At 5 o’clock I asked the owner when the heating would be on I was told that it comes on at 6, I said that the room was cold and he repeated that the heating came on at six, I said that I was cold so he just said OK but eventually the heating did come on. The following night it did not come on until 6.
Considering how much the room cost we were surprised to find no individual toiletries
The next morning after requesting breakfast at 8.00 and waiting until 8.30 we were served an uncooked egg and overcooked bacon that we had to send back adding another 10min wait to the already 30min late breakfast.

Overall a very disappointing stay due to a very unhelpful and miserable owner (Alan)! Has he ever hard of customer care?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0rkshirewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmotherley
1.5 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vane House

Property: Vane House
Address: 11A North End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Vane House Osmotherley, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing