We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It does what it says on the tin”
Review of Vane House

Vane House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vane House
Ranked #5 of 7 Osmotherley B&B and Inns
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Vane House is a B & B which is a cut above most others - clean rooms with appropriate beds and furniture. The rooms are a little cramped, and parking is on-street and limited. The owner is friendly and helpful, advising on where to eat, and making the booking for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
16
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here while hiking the C2C. We were welcomed by the owner and shown around. The room was nicely appointed and comfortable. It's also a convenient location for dining in town or having a drink nearby. The room was quiet and the breakfast was plentiful. Recommended for those in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parris5732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Vane House was a charming break from our Coast to Coast walk in August. Arrived tired, in need of a hot shower, pint and good dinner. Allen is a gracious host, our en suite room was bright and cheery, with plenty of head room for my 6'4" husband. There had been many head crashings in previous B&B stays on this journey...a room with a morning sun, wifi and plenty of electrical outlets also made this a very comfortable stay. A good pub and dinner opportunities were just around the corner. Some villages just spoke to us on this trip and Osmotherly was one-wish we'd had more time to linger.
Breakfast was the traditional options of full English, or any combination there of. Again, in a bright, airy environment. Excellent accommodations.

Room Tip: Unlike some accommodations on the C2C, this B&B was easy to find at the end of a long day on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyred52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is our second stay here, and we would definately stay a third! Alan is very welcoming and made our stay enjoyable. Yes, he does ask everyone what they would like for breakfast as soon as you walk through the door, but to me, that is very much forward planning for the next day and part of running a small establishment and having a young family too.
The rooms are lovely and clean, plenty of towels, tea and coffee facilities, tv and hairdryer so are well equipped. We stayed at the rear of the hotel and heard absolutely nothing in the morning.
Would definately recommend to others!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our 4th B&B on a Coast to Coast cycle ride and sadly, the least impressive of all the ones we stayed in. Be prepared to select your breakfast almost as soon as you arrive - we were asked before been given the room keys, still a bit hot and bothered not long after cycling up the steep climb to the centre of Osmotherley.
The room was large enough, light, very clean and well furnished if a little sterile. The bathroom was very compact, but clean and good enough. Only hand soap is provided. Other facilities include a hair dryer and wifi but no guest lounge. We had the room at the front of the building and were woken by the early morning deliveries to the shop next door - try and get a room at the back.
Breakfast was adequate with a small selection of cereals and fruit. The English breakfast consisted of bacon, fried egg, sausage, saute potatoes and grilled tomatoes.
All in all a comfortable stay, the host Allan was very welcoming, ok for one night but would consider a different establishment for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife & I were on a group Coast to Coast walk and stayed at Vane House for just the one night. Our double room on the ground floor was clean & comfortable and the breakfast was good. Our host did appear a little regimented in wanting us to order breakfast the moment we arrived and in the seating at the breakfast table, but with a clean comfortable room & a good night's sleep we were very satisfied. The pretty village of Osmotherly was a pleasant surprise as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OB-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vossevangen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A very nice room, good bathroom and breakfast, but the hosts seemed rather indifferent to their guests. I got a room next to the village store, and delivery of supplies started a little before 5.30 in the morning. I would like drying facilities on a long distance walk like the coast to coast walk. I was provided newspaper for my boots, but they weren't dry the next morning,

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the village store. Noisy in the early morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmotherley
1.5 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vane House

Property: Vane House
Address: 11A North End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Vane House Osmotherley, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing