We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place - unless you're able to plan your future with 100% certainty!”
Review of Vane House

Vane House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vane House
Ranked #4 of 7 Osmotherley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked this place (In January) for a night's stay as part of a 5-day charity bike ride in August. We booked it based on reviews from this site.
Due to a route change, we had to cancel this stay (and book somewhere in Kildale).
We gave lots of notice (June), so asked for our deposit back, so that they can book someone else, and we can use the money to pay for the remainder of our charity bike ride accommodation.
Vine House refused to return *any* of our deposit, saying "if we returned deposits, what's the point in taking them?". Even when we asked them if they'd consider donating the money to the charity we are biking for, they still refused.
Whilst it might be their right to take non-refundable deposits, they did not tell us the deposit was non-refundable at the time of booking.
We gave them plenty of time to rebook the night, which they probably will, resulting in extra profit for them at other's (in this case, our) expense.

So the best advice is to avoid this place - find somewhere that will consider people before profit, or somewhere that will refund a deposit on the occasions when life's uncertainties mean you have to cancel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

Right in the middle of the little village, very nice and comfortable. The "double" bed is not double by Norwegian standards...:)
If you are walking the Cleveland way it is perfect and has a small village shop next door.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby44Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Great room, friendly welcome, good breakfast. Very clean too. A great place to stay if you are on the Coast to Coast walk as I was or are touring the North York Moors

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquiddlyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Stayed at Vane House this month when doing a speed tour of Yorkshire in preparation for taking a school residential trip there. Beautiful, clean B and B, with not a thing out of place. It is obviously very well cared for and this hits you as you enter through the front door. Rooms were spotless with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was lovely. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. On our first night there, we had a very poor sleep due to an old lady in the room below us who was quite deaf and who had left her television on loudly into the night. When we told Alan, the owner, about this the following morning, he was most concerned and had it sorted out immediately. Our second night was perfect-the village was silent! The village is beautiful with a number of good places to eat and drink. We loved The Golden Lion, where the food was superb. Will definately be returning to Vane House and The Golden Lion!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

After walking the 25+ miles across the Vale of Mowbray, as part of the C2C walk, all I was looking for was dinner, a good shower and a decent bed.

The outside of Vane House tells a tale of the inside. Everything looks perfect on the outside. Neat, tidy and well kept.

When we went inside the house,after a warm greeting at the door, I immediately noticed how well maintained the building is. Every surface was clean, well painted and cared for.

Our room was no less. It was pleasantly decorated and basically perfect. Everything looked fresh and new. The bathroom was compact but spotless and well presented. The bed was very comfortable.

Osmotherley is about a 20 minute diversion from the C2C but well worth it. The village is beautiful! Gorgeous houses and excellent pubs all set in a beautiful valley.

Dinner at the pub (Great Catherine I think it was called) was excellent. Great meals, nice atmosphere (dominos night) and the beers were all good. There was a very popular chippy near by.

In the morning our breakfast was just what we'd asked, well cooked and very tasty. I commented to Alan about the state of their B & B and he mentioned that it was due for a coat of paint and some decorating (not in my opinion but goes to show the care and attention they pay to their business). All this and a new 3 week old baby in the house!

The Vane House was a very pleasant, well cared for, comfortable, friendly and excellent value accommodation. You can not go wrong staying here. I wholeheartedly recommend you do!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vane House

Address: 11A North End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Vane House Osmotherley, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing