We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice campsite”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stopped at Cote Ghyll campsite for two nights in our tourer caravan, the site is in a lovely location with all the amenities you'd require, inc a bath. The campsite has an automatic barrier for entry and exit which we like as it improves security when not around. The campsite is within 10 minutes walking distance of the village of Osmotherley, the village offers some fantastic pubs and little shops.

There's some fantastic walking to be done around the campsite and there's a lovely reservoir at the top of the hill which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Relates to Cote Ghyll Caravan and camping Park
Visitors to Cote Ghyll benefit enormously from the nearby village of Osmotherley. The excellent pubs and restaurants in Osmotherley are popular with locals and visitors alike.

The fabulous countryside that envelops Osmotherley and Cote Ghyll means that even on the shortest walk you get to see some of the best countryside in the UK.

I'm glad that you were able to discover Osmotherley and our surroundings for yourself.
Jonathan Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    36
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
71
36
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here during my walking trip along the Cleveland Way. It is a bit of a walk out of Osmotherley and I had walked from Sutton Bank so didn't feel up to going back into town. It has a beautiful peaceful setting at the end of a private road near a water course. There are very comfortable lounge areas with nice couches. Meals are available and food is cooked to order. I enjoyed a baked potato which came with salad and I chose a tuna topping. I was offered desert so chose the chocolate pudding with custard. There are a range of bottled beers and my meal came with a jug of water with lemon, very civilised. The wifi works well in the lounge area. I was luckily again to have a dormitory to myself and was in room 11 which is convenient for the showers. The staff were excellent and I couldn't fault the place. Large self catering kitchen was well equipped.

Room Tip: Room 11 had 6 beds, 2 sets of bunks and 2 single beds with nice views out and close to showers. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Relates to Cote Ghyll Mill
It is our pleasure to help you relax and recover after a hard day of walking. A place to relax, a hot shower and a hearty meal is just what you need to prepare you for the next day's adventure!

Jonathan Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is truly a great site. We booked in with two weeks notice before the half term break, the person who took our booking over the phone was most helpful shuffling things around to enable us to stay for the whole week. Upon arrival the staff were very helpful and explained everything they thought we needed to know even though they were extremely busy.The site itself is the simply one of the best we have stayed at and the facilities are excellent boot drying room,family shower room, laundry room everything you may possibly need. The showers are always hot and there are plenty of them and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The site was patrolled by staff and wardens on a regular basis and after 10pm the place was quiet even though it was full. A great family run site that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Relates to Cote Ghyll Caravan and Camping Park.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The boot and coat drying cabinet is a surprisingly popular feature with many of our guests!
Jonathan Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton, north east
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

For our first caravan trip of the year we chose this site which is only 12 miles from home but it was another world! We did have the weather in our favour which enhanced our stay. The site is immaculate and well run and maintained. We were met by a very friendly staff member on reception who made us feel very welcome. It seemed to be no problem for my granddaughter to spend the next day with us then my other daughter wanted to call in for the morning with my grandson - the staff were very accommodating about this. The children had a wonderful time at the 2 play areas ( again well equipped and maintained) - searching for the rabbits I had told them about and counting the different butterflies. They went hope very happy. We had a lovely pitch in the quieter area of the site as we are 2 adults without children staying. There is an increase of noise on a weekend but as the last reviewer points out it is only the children playing and enjoying themselves - how could that be offensive to anyone? All was extremely quiet when we returned from the village on both Friday and Saturday night before 10:00pm. The wardens were prominently placed and visible around the site carrying out their various duties. The amenities blocks were always clean and well looked after with plenty of hot water and underfloor heating - lovely! They were cheerful and had a word for everyone. I was assisted with a small matter of procurement by the lovely staff member in reception when I had inadvertently run out of a particular supply on Saturday late afternoon - 1 phone call and the problem was solved - a BIG thank you...! We would definitely stay again with no hesitation. I would recommend this site to couples and families as there is so much to do in the immediate local area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potnglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
relates to: Cote Ghyll Caravan and Camping Park.
Thanks for your great review. We're so glad that you and your family were able to enjoy the abundant wildlife and ambience around the caravan park.
Jonathan Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay camping over the bank holiday weekend and before I post my review I have to say I am so surprised by the previous review I am wondering if we were on the same site .The only noise we heard were the children enjoying the park and some enjoyable not overloud music from our neighbours we didn't feel overcrowded and witnessed no drunken behaviour,we also spent some time chatting with the wardens.So on with my review ,the first camping of 2014 and it didn't disappoint,the site is extremely clean and tidy the showers were always spotless, warm, and the water hot.The pitches are in tiers and vary between grass and hard standing we wanted a sunny pitch and chose F1 & F2 after doing a little visit a few weeks earlier and the pitches were just right.
we paid for the wiifii and my husbands I pad worked really well.The site shop sells the basics milk bread eggs etc and various tinned foods etc and the village store probably doesn't sell a great deal more but there are supermarkets in Thirsk and Northallerton .
there is food at the youth hostel at the weekend eat in or take out but we didn't try it .
The pubs in the village serve food but they aren't cheap we visited the three tuns and the lion both very nice .
Cote Ghyll is well placed for some lovely walks and plenty of places to go in the area but if you just want to chill and enjoy the outdoors the site fits the bill
I am sure we will return and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the site to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkandfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Relates to: Cote Ghyll Caravan and Camping Park

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the Bank Holiday weekend as much as we did!

Thanks for your review and for recommending Cote Ghyll to your friends.

Jonathan Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice campsite, fantastic little village with 3 great pubs but noisy all day long with loud music , drunken partying and too many caravans crammed into a fairly small site. Worst of all no wardens to sort things out !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank keithdenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Relates to: Cote Ghyll Caravan and Camping Park

Dear Mr Denby,
It was good that I was able to discuss your review with you personally before you checked out today. After a fabulous and sunny but quiet bank holiday weekend your comments were surprising.

You explained that the guests on your neighbouring pitch did not respect your privacy and space which spoiled your stay at Cote Ghyll. Your negative comments referred to those individuals and not to the caravan park in general.

Our wardens are available 24 / 7 but you preferred not to ask us to intervene as this would have made an ‘uncomfortable’ atmosphere between you and your neighbours for the rest of your stay. This was unfortunate because we are experienced in handling this type of situation without identifying the complainant.

You said that you would visit again and we look forward to your next visit.

We would always urge guests to come to a member of staff with any problem during their stay as it is impossible to rectify the problem after you have departed.

Jonathan Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Astonishingly bad. Blocked drains, flies and bedbugs. Absolutely awful. The beds in the room were held together by electric tape, the sound of dripping, leaking pipes was constant and the bedbug bites were truly horrendous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duncanpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Relates to: Cote Ghyll Mill
We’ve had a busy day today investigating the criticisms you have made. With the help of a pest control contractor we have found absolutely no evidence of the insects you have mentioned.

We do take cleanliness very seriously and it is reassuring to have been given the ‘thumbs up’ by the experts.

We have also been unable to find any blocked drains or dripping pipes which may have caused the noises you have described. We have 57 guests in the hostel tonight, we’ll be sure to ask them in the morning if they heard any strange noises in the night!

Jonathan Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmotherley
1.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.9 mi away
Swan House
Swan House
#7 of 23 in Northallerton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Cote Ghyll, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3AH, England (Formerly Osmotherly Hostel YHA)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Osmotherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park has a range of accommodation to suit all types. First class touring & camping facilities are available in the Holiday Park along with luxury holiday caravans & holiday cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park Osmotherley, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing