We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th annual stay”
Review of The Three Tuns

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Three Tuns
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmotherley
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“4th annual stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Gorgeous Village,A Quality Pub with top notch accommodation and is one of the best pubs I have stayed in. 4th year we stayed and the welcome and service is as good as always. Cosy Friendly environment great village atmosphere and accommodating of our trip requirements.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_D186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi John,

Your kind words are much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Best wishes
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    31
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
32
53
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Really liked the restaurant interior and decor, seemed like we'd made a good choice of restaurant. However, our waitress seemed to forget about us once she'd served our drinks (which themselves took a long time). After about 20 minutes, I literally had to shout her over to take our order (we were sat at the back of the restaurant and she didn't come near our table before that). It then took 40 minutes before our starters were served (in which time we'd finished our drinks but no one came to see if we wanted any more - again, we had to take the initiative ourselves).

Luckily, our starters were delicious - I had the tiger prawns and they were delectable, and the other three in our party enjoyed their starters also.

When our mains arrived, I was disappointed to see that the duck I'd ordered had no evidence of pink to it, despite the waitress informing me that this dish was indeed served pink. My husband and father-in-law both had lamb which was similarly slightly overcooked. Despite this, I did enjoy the meal, as did everyone else. However, again, the service was pretty poor - we asked for some more drinks, as well as condiments, and had to ask for both twice as they were forgotten.

When we complained at the end of the meal about the service, we were informed that it was because it was 'busy'. It was a Friday night, so yes, it was busy, but by no means packed, and I think it's pretty poor that an establishment like this can't work out its staffing needs for a standard Friday night's custom.

So, I would rate service as one star, and food as four star and would unfortunately neither return to the restaurant nor recommend it simply because poor service for me mars the evening no matter how good the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We spent three nights at the Three Tuns with friends. Everything was excellent. Can't praise it enough. Quaint bedroom with low ceiling overlooking the Market Cross. Only noise during the night were the church chimes. Delicious cooked breakfast - what a treat as we usually make do with toast and marmalade. Delightful garden where we sat in the late afternoons, talking with our friends over a fair number of good quality pints of beer. We were lucky that we had hot, sunny weather, as there is very limited internal communal space to sit. As this is a small pub, it would not be attractive to families with children. The evening dinners were outstanding. The food was of a very high standard and imaginative, for example, squid (soft, not rubbery) with fennel - a delicious combination of taste and texture. Roast lamb cooked to perfection, still slightly pink. Fish dishes were really good too, and attractively presented. Service was particularly friendly and prompt. The Rennie Mackintosh furniture and furnishings definitely added a touch of class and elegance. Joe & Barbara, Washington DC, USA

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed at The Three Tuns for three nights with two mates on a walking trip. Management were great, we were well looked after and really had no great complaints, but-- place needs a little TLC!
Slept in The Three Bears room, quite nice after we asked for the drawers and wardrobe to be emptied (seemed to be a storeroom)--doorknobs fell off wardrobe door, towel rail was hanging off wall--only minor things but a little attention could make all the difference.

Ate in the restaurant one night, food was excellent but service was slow-this place is a victim of its own success
Breakfast was nicely cooked but only option is "English"--a bit boring for three mornings, how about a little more choice--kippers would have been nice, and how come no baked beans in stock?
Another minor niggle--lady who serves brekkie has a view on everything from men to the NHS and insists on sharing her views whilst you eat, amusing to start with, but------.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early expect noise from revellers in bar and outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We went to the three tuns last night for my sons birthday. Loved the decor and ambience, very Art Deco. It was a warm evening and we had drinks in the lovely beer garden. The menu was imaginative and varied, hard to choose what to eat. Waiting staff were helpful and attentive. Starters of spicy prawns with flat breads, smoked salmon and crayfish, and goats cheese bruschetta were all excellent. Mains of steak and proper chips, lamb rump with dauphinoise, chicken with sundried tomato risotto, roasted vegetable and goats cheese risotto, and gourmet burger very good. Only slight reservation was one main risotto was a little oily. Our bill with two rounds of drinks for five was £115 which i feel was more than reasonable. desserts looked gorgeous but we were too full. lunch came highly recommended by regulars at the next table.
It is a hard decision in osmotherley between this and the golden lion. You won't be disappointed by either, but the three tuns has my vote by a short head.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic night here! Great food and drink, and lots of laughs! The people of Osmotherley are very welcoming! Lovely lovely place! We'll b visiting again soon! Thank you!
Emma and Fraser, Leeds

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We found ourselves in Osmotherley on a Friday lunchtime, having concluded the business which brought us up to the North East and on a whim we decided to ask around to see if there was anywhere we could stay for another night before travelling home again. We asked at a big pub but they were full. We knocked on the door of a B&B but got no reply. We nearly didn't ask at The Three Tuns but then we turned back and asked if they had a room available and I'm so glad we did!

Our room was very nice and we booked a table for dinner in the cool Mackintosh-style' restaurant. We actually weren't very hungry when it came to dinner time because we'd been silly enough to eat a huge slab of cake each during the afternoon so we didn't order a 3-course meal, just an aubergine & goats cheese risotto for me and a cod & bouillabaisse sauce risotto for him - and both were absolutely delicious. We had a very nice bottle of wine and, reluctant to conclude our visit to the restaurant, we shared a good cheeseboard. Everything was just right, from our charming, professional and personable young waiter to the food and the ambiance in the restaurant itself.

Following a good night's kip in a very comfortable bed, we had a lovely cooked-to-order breakfast with delicious black pudding and perfect poached eggs and endless toast and coffee - all served with warm hospitality and a friendly smile. What more could you want?

Maybe to stay another night and do it all again?!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoraBeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmotherley
23.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
6.0 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
15.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns

Property: The Three Tuns
Address: South End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
3 Tuns
Three Tuns Hotel Osmotherley
The Three Tuns Osmotherley, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing